tsunami video

and one more important thing is go DONATE for those victim of tsunami...
stop writing behind computer...

agreed with skybourne....
don't know y ppl seem 2 blame US for everything going wrong...

natural disasters are unavoidable...
n US n Japan could not detect the earthquake.. till it happened...

they dun have the tech to pre-detect under water earthquake....
low frequency waves r out of the ques tats for sure....

we shudnt accuse US... in fact.. we should b grateful that they r contributing to the victims as well as our country n other countries in rebuilding what has been lost....

Main thing is 'Be Grateful' n not accuse....

i think its not who to blame about this incident. to give or not to give its up to the one who have it to give away in the first place. you don't ask rich ppl to pay for your living just because your poor right ?

so how many of u actually did donate money to the fund ar?
;)

I try to look to my previous post incase I said US should be blame by this disaster. I cant found any, so its not me the one who said that lah. ':D'

"they dun have the tech to pre-detect under water earthquake....
low frequency waves r out of the ques tats for sure...."

Above statement I'm not very sure cause someone did detect the Earthquake & already been warn about worst "Tsunami" might happend. After the tragedy someone did come out with this statement "WE DONT KNOW WHO TO CONTACT..!!".

BTW, the earthquake might occur of "Underwater Nuclear Testing".

Donate? eem... I just donate RM200 & 5 boxes of Mineral Water for Tsunami fund. Only that afford atm. Thank god I did, not only writing behind the computer.

ok la... sorry la if accuse u... but actually i meant other ppl who did :P

but then the earthquake was not detected le... see all the news see newspaper... they got explain why it was unavoidable.... earthquake can be detected when only it occurs... (underwater i mean)
but the time the tsunami forms n reach shores... oni less den 30 mins to reach the shoreline liao.... apart from that... most of the kampungs n island ppl who dont have radio etc kena... so i dun think comminucation was possible to save their lives......

Nuclear test.... no gua.... so much conspiracy mer???? until can make earthquake??? i also must think bout tat 1st... :mellow:

There are alot of tsunami centers in various countries facing the pacific ocean and hawaii is the tsunami headquaters yet various countries facing indian ocean have none at all and i heard it costly to maintain a tsunami center how to those poverty countries. :( so sad.

Originally posted by jemi5467@Jan 4 2005, 10:54
Above statement I'm not very sure cause someone did detect the Earthquake & already been warn about worst "Tsunami" might happend. After the tragedy someone did come out with this statement "WE DONT KNOW WHO TO CONTACT..!!".

BTW, the earthquake might occur of "Underwater Nuclear Testing".
Dude... No offense okay...

Can you tell us the source of this "We Don't Know Who To Contact" information? Where did you get it from?

Also, I really hope you are not saying that the US caused the earthquake, and the tsunami. Otherwise, why mention underwater nuclear test?

even if they know who to contact, i dont think they'd enough time to evacuate those victims specially those in Acheh.. but they might reduce no of casualties lah... shit happen.. no point to point finger la..

on the nuke test issue, i thought they done it in pacific... if it's in indian ocean, India Gov should be the one responsible... or paki gov...

hmmm.....very interesting topic. It is really an unexpect natural disaster. Even if the ppl are warn, they don't have much time to run also. all happened in few minutes.

As for the countries over the other side of the indian ocean even worst. They won't be expecting anything. Coz they will be like thinking, earthquake is like 4000km away, where can reach us?

No body to blame lah. Everything happen for a reason. As for the war, it's all on decisions MEN made. some ppl make good decisions, some don't. So all is up to oneself.

Originally posted by anttyk@Jan 5 2005, 09:34
Can you tell us the source of this "We Don't Know Who To Contact" information? Where did you get it from?

Also, I really hope you are not saying that the US caused the earthquake, and the tsunami. Otherwise, why mention underwater nuclear test?
Let's me clear this out.

"I dont even say America cause the Earthquake"

I repeat

"I dont even say America cause the Earthquake"

Its information that I get from the news. The same thing the statement i made said that someone(This one I not sure which country had recieve the warn & from where) did detect the earthquake & warn it, they even show the warn letter/ fax/ print, but its look like its been print out. Oh... forgot to mention here, its on TV news & Nuke test on local news paper.

About the Nuke test, If read again my post I said "Its might....."

hahaha stupid stuff come out in local papers.....

anyway.... sure can't be saved.... india ppl live in poverty... i'd doubt they even have a fax machine..... n most people who died are from villages.... u shud c indonesia le.... got 1 remote island... heliopter go drop supply... te native come out and shoot arrow at them..... :blink:

Aceh, Thailand, Malaysia can't be helped...india sri lanka those also can't cos don't have suffiecient communication techs around... sigh.....
:(

Good thing this thread didn't turn out to be it's own Tsunami against each forum member. Look here, man,.... and woman. Whatever happened has happened. There is nothing much that can be done even if the world CONFIRMED whose fault it was. The bottom line here is that more than 100,000 lives has been taken. Even if a country surrendered the entire country to the country that was affected, it still will not bring back those who are lost in the Tsunami. No doubt facts, information, figures, etc. are good knowledge for us to share and perhaps learn from this very dreadful disaster, but whoever has the right to correct another person's posting and etc? Just share and all will be snowing (cool). We may have reactions to another posts, but that doesn't mean we have to correct one another as if we are better than the other person. As unexpected as this Tsunami came and took lives, who knows, the person you try to correct may be the person who'll be saving your life next time. Thus, I'm always hoping that people around the world would just remain cool and friendly and laugh and giggle together even though something is not right. Just points to ponder about, that's all.

Hi.. :P

Actully i heard the news "WE DONT KNOW WHO TO CONTACT..!!" from CNN Live at astro around 3/5am the night after the tsunami happend.. thats of the first dicussion occur by CNN and wakil USA goverment regarding the tsunami. Then I saw the same thing at BBC around that time too... thats y i feel bad about it.. they keep saying it a few times before advert and it came out at TV3 8 oclock news the next day.

The proof they contact Hong Kong a few minutes/ 1 hr was been shows at CNN and BBC (which i saw) around the same time the next day. they show the email send by the Department of Weather USA send regarding -" The POSSIBILITY of the Tsunami happend because of the massive earthquake in Indian ocean"

the discussion on CNN Live and BBC occur after that is why dont they send to the Malaysian and all other country which have possibility of the effect.
They dont even talk about evacuation till now but talking about - it can REDUCE the number of DEATH. Anybody knows evacuation is imposibble but how about REDUCE. Aceh surely cannot survive but how about Sri Langka? Malaysia? Phuket? Somalia? still can reduce.

p/s : anyway Forum is for Discussion not fight.. We Discuss matters to show our concern.

i think u better refer the previous posts....

reduce i dont think can reduce much also....

if the people were warned about the Tsunami there would probably had been more death.....bcos then everybody will gather at the beach to go and see what the hell is a Tsunami...from the newspaper as told by a socalled tsunami expert. :(

Originally posted by anttyk@Jan 5 2005, 09:34
[
Dude... No offense okay...

did u read the paper the day after the incident?
if u did'nt then too bad

here u go

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/archive.asp?y=2004&dt=1228&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Luar_Negara&pg=lu_02.htm

``Kami tidak ada nama di dalam buku alamat kami untuk orang yang boleh dihubungi di dunia sebelah sana.''

sorry in malay

The statement did not appear in the English dailies. The Utusan Malaysia article did not state that they did not know who to contact. They said that they did not have the names in their address books. Why? Because all the affected countries did not have any Tsunami Warning Posts/Centers. Remember, the guys working at the US Geological Survey Department are humans. They are just a small department (relatively speaking). Put yourself in their shoes. Do you think reaching a foreign government is as simple as picking up a phone and dialling the number? Do you even know what numbers to dial?

Let's take this simple test. Suppose you found out that a tsunami is going to hit Port Dickson. Who do you contact? Badawi? The police? Army? F**k man, even as a Malaysian, I don't know who to contact, what more the Americans. If Malaysia had a Tunami Warning Center, the lines of communication will be very clear.

Get it in you head. The tsunami warning not reaching us (the affected countries) is not the fault of the US. It is we who are not vigilant. That is why our government is now scrambling to set up the center right now.

jemi5467,

You insinuated that the US caused the earthquake. You did not need to state it. Why say it might? What do you gain or what are you trying to say/prove?

Did you know that in 1963, all nations signed the Limited Test Ban Treaty (including the US) banning all nuclear tests in the air, underwater and outer space? Did you know that the US stopped testing in 1992? Did you know that the last four countries to test nuclear weapons are China, Pakistan, India and North Korea? Yes... It's us, the Asians who are still testing. Why not blame Pakistan or North Korea?

Get you facts right before you make insinuations. Your statements are of no help to the victims who suffered the tsunami's devastating effects. And YOU are even worse. You are trying to use a natural disaster to sow animosity and distrust and to further your own agenda (whatever it is). It's disgusting.

fable,

Thanks for the link.

Originally posted by anttyk@Jan 6 2005, 08:54
jemi5467,

You insinuated that the US caused the earthquake. You did not need to state it. Why say it might? What do you gain or what are you trying to say/prove?

Did you know that in 1963, all nations signed the Limited Test Ban Treaty (including the US) banning all nuclear tests in the air, underwater and outer space? Did you know that the US stopped testing in 1992? Did you know that the last four countries to test nuclear weapons are China, Pakistan, India and North Korea? Yes... It's us, the Asians who are still testing. Why not blame Pakistan or North Korea?

Get you facts right before you make insinuations. Your statements are of no help to the victims who suffered the tsunami's devastating effects. And YOU are even worse. You are trying to use a natural disaster to sow animosity and distrust and to further your own agenda (whatever it is). It's disgusting.

fable,

Thanks for the link.
Please enlighten me or better prove with my statement, that I said

1) US cause the earthquake
2) US done the Nuke test

I dont even know that i made that statement.

I wait for your reply in here.