Toyota Formula Atlantic

LevIn92_gze

I've got to admit, there ARE other great Toyota engines that make much more power like the 3S-GTE, 7M-GTE, 4A-GZE or 2JZ-GTE (1991-present Supra Turbo). But, I'm very fond of the 4A-GE because of its light weight and the hidden potential power. Who knows, maybe I'll gather up more info and specs on other Toyota engines and dedicate some pages to them! Until then...

If you think that getting 165 hp out of a 1.6L motor isn't enough, check this out... There's a highly-tuned, normally-aspirated 4A-GE variant used in the Toyota Formula Atlantic Series. The displacement is still at 1.6L, but they fitted it with a fuel-injection/ignition system by TRD. In full-race trim, you can expect to get 240 beat-you-till-you're-senseless horsepower! At home in a 1,260 lb. race car, 0-60 passes by in 2.8 seconds! Quick calculations show that this monster of a motor develops 150 hp per liter. To put it into perspective, if the 5.7L Corvette engine was tuned to the same level of the 4A-GE race motor, it would make around 855 hp! And the F/A motor doesn't even have steel cylinder inserts! Umm, Hondacura motors don't seem to be as robust as Toyota's now, do they?!

The Cosworth BDE engine in full race trim has around 280hp from it's 1.6 lump.

I got money, my engine is formula universe 4age 1.6 tht produce 300hp! hahahahhaha!

280HP BDE I believe is EFI. Carbie version if I remember correctly goes to over 320HP. Have to find the article again.

sry i dun really know wat is BDE stands for...can tell me pls....sry for the noobie hehe :)

Lolz....... so lcly..
haiyo.. dun have this kind of budget to drive it men..

lolz

Mazeki said:
Lolz....... so lcly..
haiyo.. dun have this kind of budget to drive it men..
aiks bro i dun mean to lcly.....just try to share it with those toyota enthusiast......:_: chill guys !!!

Cossie engine always had BDA/ BDE /BD codes. I always thought BD meant Bloody Damn.. hahaha. Brits called the Evo FQ as Flippin Quick

The Atlantic engines are really old news. They've been around quite some time aredi.

here's a better pic
Atlantic_Engine.jpg

Pricing? Try this link. Save money now.

http://www.toysport.com/New%20Products/Atlantic.htm

sry i dun really know wat is BDE stands for

belt driven engine (if i'm not mistaken)

4age is built based on cosworth's BDE anyway... go see billsherwood's site.

btw, those atlantic 4ag don't make much usable power below 6k rpm anyway, so it sux if you wan drive with it around town :D

yeah the Japs (4AGE) took the English( cossie) and improved on it.

Imitation is the best form of flattery