tires and suspensions blamed for accidentS?

Satria racer

Causes of road accidents

THE GARAGE
By DADDY FIXIT

THE tail end of 2005 will play host to the major festivities of Deepavali, Hari Raya Puasa, and Christmas, followed closely by the Chinese New Year celebrations early in 2006. While most Malaysians will be enjoying the festivities, a minority will miss the celebrations. They will either be suffering from injuries or mourning the loss of loved ones as a result of a road accident.

While many factors are usually involved in causing road accidents, some can be avoided. Research has shown that the smallest of details can help prevent the nastiest of accidents.

Unauthorised modifications

Unauthorised or unprofessional modifications carried out on the motor vehicle are likely causes of accidents.

One such unauthorised modification is changing standard wheels to sports tyres and rims that may be aesthetically pleasing but that are not recommended by the vehicle manufacturer. Fitting such equipment changes the vehicle’s road-handling capabilities, possibly resulting in unpredictable and poor road-handling characteristics in emergency or bad road conditions.

Usually, fitting wider wheels goes hand in hand with changing suspension height – often, shorter coil springs are fitted to lower the suspension or the number of spring coils is reduced. The vehicle becomes unbalanced because weight distribution and aerodynamics are drastically altered.

Another popular yet extremely dangerous modification is fitting a high performance engine to an otherwise standard vehicle chassis. The engines that are used are often turbocharged, although sometimes, engines of larger displacements are illegally used to extract additional acceleration performance from what is otherwise a standard vehicle.

This is dangerous not only because an enhanced vehicle encourages speeding, but also because the upgraded performance is likely to so overwhelm other components, such as the braking and suspension systems, that they are unable to cope.

This, as before, is likely to cause road-handling performance to suffer or become unpredictable.

Unauthorised modifications are not only dangerous but are also illegal as these changes are not covered by normal insurance, nor are they approved by the Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan for use on public roads.

Speeding

Research has shown that speed is a major killer on our roads. A safe travelling speed depends on numerous factors such as the weather, the number of cars on the road, and the general condition of the road surface. However, one should never exceed the speed for which the road was designed.

Speed related accidents are usually extremely serious and, in most cases, result in death, or, at best, horrific bodily injuries.

Intoxication

Intoxication, or being under the influence of alcohol or drugs, accounts for a fairly high percentage of serious road incidents. Drugs and alcohol impair both our mental and driving skills.

In Malaysia, if one is caught driving while over the legal limit of 80mg of alcohol in 100ml of blood, the maximum penalty is a RM2,000 fine or a maximum of six months jail sentence, or both, for the first offence along with the loss of licence.

Mechanical failures

Mechanical failures account for a small number of road accidents, some of which are serious. The most common failure is a tyre blowout when travelling at high speeds. The most common causes of tyre blowout are either a simple mechanical failure of the tyre, or using a tyre that has a speed and load rating below that specified by the vehicle manufacturer (false economy!). Other less common mechanical failures include brake and steering failure.

Although mechanical failures are unpredictable, they are preventable to some extent by regular inspection of the vehicle’s critical components for early signs of failure.

Road accidents cannot be completely eliminated, but with a little care and due consideration, we can all work toward making road travel safer for the entire community.

· Daddy Fixit is a mechanical engineer with a PhD in automotive engineering. He worked at a multi-national car and truck engine designer firm where his area of specialty was software design for engine control and has co-written a book on diesel engines. You can write to him at [email protected].

The information contained in this column is for general educational purposes only. Neither The Star nor the author gives any warranty on accuracy, completeness, functionality, usefulness or other assurances as to such information. The Star and the author disclaim all responsibility for any losses, damage to property or personal injury suffered directly or indirectly from reliance on such information.

Hey guys... any opinions bout those car with sports springs??

im planning to put GABS hilo(with auto valve adjuster) or GABS sports absorbers(shortstroke) and sports(lowered) springs.

well, my tires are 175/40/13 normal rubbers.

Daihatsu G202 Charade Espri 1.0.

can they fit??

any hazards? will tires touch fenders when cornering??

thx

don't worry about daddy fixit, he's quite out of touch and is severely biased.

there are modders who mod just for the look and don't care about how'd it perform, yes that can be dangerous but he makes no effort at all at acknowledging that there are people who are knowledgeable enough to make mods that actually make a difference.

If you read his columns regularly, he tends to skirt the questions posed to him and go in circles and never really answer the core questions being asked. What a waste of The Star's money.

There are some truth to Daddy Fixit's reply in The Star.

In my 2 previous accidents, both tires and suspension are to be partially blamed.

Accident 1 (1999): Rear Michelin tire blew after hitting a cement lump on the road. As a result, the vehicle spun 360 degrees 3 times before landing in the monsoon drain. It was raining then and I was travelling around 60-70kph. Damage? RM 22k.

Accident 2 (2004): Tuned suspension to maximum hardness (went against the advice of the suspension tuner) and car flew to the opposite road when taking a corner. The car understeered at the corner and due to incorrect suspension, it somehow 'bounces' and lift off, hit a tree stump and landed on 4 tires - rims cracked, driveshafts gone, gearbox cracked and crossmember broked. Lesson learned? Hard suspension is for track use only NOT our local roads which are uneven and full of potholes! Expension lesson indeed, cost me RM 7k to fix up the car.

In both incidents, I walked out alive and without injuries - not even a scratch. It was later confirmed that the contruction of both cars had protected me. Since then, I will never drive any other car except this one even if it is outdated and old.

his stuff are right .
most modder out they don't use the good product , instead of good eibach or kimex spring , they go for brothers or even cut spring ... and use ciplak suspension .
worst , buy 2nd tyre . use cheap tyre after they foound out no money to buy 17inch tyre which is costly .

Ya...My fren got a set of suspension tuned to very hard also. I sat in tat car n felt like ball bouncing on the bumpy kesas highway...

He told me tat setting somehow understeered his cornering when speed is low...

so.... any advice on which suspensions to get for my 1.0??
i hit corners at 100km/h n the car leans badly due to da shocks kong already..

or should i just change back to original suspensions??

all my questions are above... in the post. hope u all read back,, n try answer.
thx

daddy fixit is regular of brother and propably sit and seen too much ah beng car

who on earth will not upgrade their brake suspension as according to new more powerfull engine ?

what daddy say is correct. listen to the old man. respect his effort. he teaching us. listen no listen we sendili follow. daddy is abit old so he grumble alot at times. after few years daddy will be away for long time, :tongue: :tongue:
:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

I think Daddy fixit doesn't trust HKS, Apex'i, TIEN and even our local Titan to do the job. Heck, be prolly never sit in a GSR before, so all standard is the best way to go.... :P

I'm not sure if he doesn't trust hks n stuff.. but what I feel is that he is stating it in a more general case... Most of us here know the importance of upgrading the braking system and suspension if we do mods to the car... but we members of zth are just a few number of people as compare to the general drivers populations.. as we say some ah beng drivers can completely for go safety for abit of power... Cutting springs is one example.. to save some money.. they cut the springs... just my point of view...

heh, pole's at the center... there are yes, and there are nono's.
well, he's got a phD, but maybe he doesnt know bout these new technology...
and how were they tested by engineers before they were sold in market.
well, if we follow the instrucion manual, eg., not to set the spring super hard,
accidents (acbc... kesianz) might not happen... or at least, less risk ler :p.

well, whats the best for my daihatsu espri 1.0?

he don't belive in TIEN , KIMEX , or HKS , mostly becasue he is refering to our normal street use . thos ebig exhaust system ususally is made for high CC car ...

acbc, just because you had 2 accidents doesnt mean tyre upgrades and suspensions are to be blamed. Tyres blow, period. Be it a simex, michelin or even a F1 race tyre.

I dare to say my suspension and tyres saved me lots of times on the road, which I would easily die if I was running stock configuration. Previous car has 225/45/17 with a Full koni kit, eibach ARB front+rear, with PU busings. It took me crap loads of visits to the workshop to find a setting which I'm confortable with.

Balance is everything.

And Daddy Fixit obviously thinks everybody reading the newspapers are dumb.
" The vehicle becomes unbalanced because weight distribution and aerodynamics are drastically altered. "

vehicle height does not effect "weight distribution". on a general road car, the most benefit would be gained from lesser roll and a slightly lower COG. These effect the loads on different wheels during movement. Then we have a LITTLE bit of aerodynamics comming into play. Honestly, on a road car that seldom sees even 150kmh, what type of aerodynamics are we talking about?

What I dislike most about his article is that he is so biased against modified cars, that he mentions only the negative part of the story.

Even a very expensive tyres and suspension kits we fitted and the matter "overspeeding" under certain circumstances does crash occurs, example, we fit very expensive tyres and trustable suspensions, but the driver "ichi" foot go and speeding until the car slipped off from his lane at a corner and crashed badly.

Finally, he blamed tat the suspension and tyres are not good. Trust me, even ferrari and lamborghini's can crash .. everything in this world has its limit...

Cheers!

in my opinion ,
if u got money , then change the suspension with reasonable setting .don't waste ur money modify halfway .
it must be a balanced modification . those aftermarket tuning suspension firm is there for a reason , to tune out the best balance suspension set-up .