Throttle Body Question

budin99

Hi all sifu,

What oversize throttle body suite for light mod B16A ?
Light Mod such as 2.3" piping, extracto, open pod air filter and Fuel regulator?
standard ECU.

Thanks in advance,

too big ka??? how about 64mm?

actually depends on your flow requirements, if you can rev high enough that the throttle body is the bottleneck, then maybe 64.5 not too tig.

but personally B16A, I think 62mm, but if later you want to upgrade displacement, might as well go for the bigger size.

bigger TB or intake manifold give better "feel"? eg. use skunk2 pro series manifold but 60mm/62mm TB or 64.5mm TB on normal manifold?

i know both together the best, but which one give better bang for $?

Intake manifold affects plenum volume. I believe this is related to how well the part throttle torque will be like.

TB size affects max flow possible at WOT, for NA engines, this is how much air your engine can suck at max, while for Turbo's, since air is pushed in, naturally the TB sizes are always a lot bigger.

bigger TB's give better response, but it's more like due to their 10% opening is bigger than a smaller TB with 10% opening..

So for drag, I don't think small plenums matter much, as you will be running 100% throttle all the way, so the plenum volume doesn't matter much as it will be for a track car.

One of the main reason is, if you have studied map sensor graphs, you are more or less at 100KPa = a.k.a 1bar at full throttle (absolute pressure, not gauge pressure) which means there is no vaccuum in the plenum, so there's not really a volume problem, but rather making it bigger so there's less restriction to flow.

i would concentrate on the cool air intake system path and patitioning since the heat underneath the engine bay plus the malaysian weather is not making any power with so much hot air into the intake.

light mod :)

Hi all sifu,

What oversize throttle body suite for light mod B16A ?
Light Mod such as 2.3" piping, extracto, open pod air filter and Fuel regulator?
standard ECU.

Thanks in advance,

bRo J101,

I had try put the heat sheild (all around like CAI system). Found that when it in Hi rev feel like the engine not havieng enought breath.

Someone told me that the size of 64.5 is suitable on B20 setup. Any idea? BTW, by using AFR, could it be match with the 64.5 TB? thanx

try to have CAI from the front bumper into the heat shield. it will make a difference, i just did mine sometimes ago.

patitioning is one thing. the other thing u need to make sure u have a tube hole that flows air through your bumper. u may see a hole at the corner of engine bay but you need to direct the air to your clean air filter.

by changing to a slightly bigger TB, it creates better response since you have that additional air flowing in that leans a bit with the stock factory rich ecu.

the CTR 60mm should be a good bolt-on without too much calibration, my opinion.

thanks for the advice all sifus. seem like 64.5 not suit my setup yet :P.

owhhh BTW, I already had the tube duct from the bumper. Now the setup is tube duct direct infrong of the air filter. no partioning..

anyone did DIY heatshield for their EK?....i've been trying to search for the cut-out drawing in the net but kenot find ler....

You can refer to HKS's method of CAI, since they did make one for the EK. Study their design and 'pirate' sket sket.

As for CAI's usefulness, yeah, I think they're useful, but I do wonder if anyone of you tested how cool is the intake from a CAI vs. a normal open pod without CAI.

So far, I'm getting about 42+ (cold weather) 47-50deg (at noons) celcius at the IAT sensor with openpod, but nor running CAI. As speeds build up, even a non CAI cooling seems to get cool air from the outside. I do realize my setup can be considered pretty hot, but that's because my headers are exposed, and not wrapped or coated.

Since it's a daily driver, and I don't really like cleaning the engine bay, I'm not a fan of CAI unless they're ducted and baffled to prevent insects, water, leaves, sand, etc. going into the engine bay.

but if the performance gains are worth it, I might go CAI as well.

anyone did DIY heatshield for their EK?....i've been trying to search for the cut-out drawing in the net but kenot find ler....

Inchey udeng..what kind of open pod u used? if used with normal aluminium ram pipe, it would be easy. If used like simota twister (like slut body) it would more difficult. Mine's used simota twister, take me 2 X to make it good fit (not perfect).

Just buy the aluminium plat(foil?) from hardware shop (about RM per 2 feet X 1 feet).

Used kotak first to get the measurement.

ya cik budin...mine the simota type racecraft thingy...tot about using kadboard for measurement long time ago but till now not yet start measuring....lazy bum...:biggrin: ....mayb can tiru this design kot...

ekbluehead.jpg

abang2..
OK or not if upgrade 1.6 to 1.8 engine, but still using other b16a stuffs
i.e : TB and IM b16a used on 1.8 engine...