Bigger throttle body

kunjinato

Hie,want to ask,what kind of aftermarket/halfcut throttle body fit with 1nz fe engine?
Does it improve on intake with/without open pod?

better u fit in open pod or a K/N hi flow filter. Of course a change of TB will increase your top end power but u won't feel pleasant when driving in city .... power kinda stubborn.

power kinda stubborn?..what u mean bro?..u mean less responsive ka?..that bad..

Hie,want to ask,what kind of aftermarket/halfcut throttle body fit with 1nz fe engine?
Does it improve on intake with/without open pod?

boss,

we dun change throttle body for fun. :biggrin:

has your engine's breathing capability exceed your TB's capability?

did you change yur cams or so?

err bro...i don quite understand this part...

cause...if you use a larger TB...you need to use less of the gas pedal,to move your car,due to the bigger size,it takes less throttle opening compared to the old TB to send air into the intake...therefore your car should FEEL as if the car had better response...?

the thing is with bigger TB...the performance gains is mostly at full throttle and high end power...

using a bigger TB is to improve breathing for your engine...air intake...

boss,

we dun change throttle body for fun. :biggrin:

has your engine's breathing capability exceed your TB's capability?

did you change yur cams or so?

Like bro HKS mentioned....you don upgrade better TB for fun...

Breathing starts with your Air filter -> TB ->Intake->Head->Cams.

changing your TB will only benefit you if :

1.Your intake has been port matched to fit your TB or changed to a better flowing intake.Better intake have same/larger openings and better flowing plenums...if your intake opening is smaller than your TB,the air that hits the intake during the breathing process which will cause turbulence which leads to loss of power..

2.If your head is port & polished.

3.Cams.Even if you dont change your cams,it doesnt mean improving your breathing to your engine wont benefit you at all.....its just that with longer duration cams,the increased of air volume from your TB and intake upgrade will be put to good use and this gives you great performance.

Your current TB opening is usually sufficient,to provide sufficient air volume to your head...if your TB is too big,that is not good also ....there must be a balance....if the air volume is TOO much,this affects air VELOCITY...which could lead to a drop in performance...imagine a straw..if you drink using a small straw,you can easily sip your drink...but if you use a SUPER large straw...how much energy do you have to use just to get the drink up?Bigger doesn't always mean better :biggrin:

a slightly bigger TB can benefit you... most likely at the expense of losing low end power...

i hope this helps.

Bro AD-EG , logically yes, theoretically nope ...... I try to make a brief explanation. As in lower RPM, air velocity isn't as quick. So to improve this some air intake ramp are create in such size to improve air velocity, so air can travel quicker into the combustion chamber. As for high RPM yes, bigger TB = more HP. This is due small TB = restricted air mass / volume travel to the combustion chamber / second. So this easily explain why big CC engine or VTECs need big TB to compromise the high revving engines. It isn't as simple as normal car owners think of change this n that = what u want to achieve. With respect , there's is still plenty of things to be consider to make a change or modification. If not, AH BENG workshop would have join F1 ...... LoL !!!!

errr bro...no offense,but i dont think you read my post properly...i understand how a bigger TB helps...with a compromise of low end power...i highlighted that in my post....

you said the car will be less responsive and stubborn,,dats what i was asking about...

anyways thanks for the input bro...

Coz AD-EG is selling aftermarket TB mah.....

HAH HAH !

do you see me promoting my own TB's here?

what does me selling some parts have anything to do with what i post?

ok, mayb i'm not clear enough ...... sorry bout that. Cuz i use to determine a is happily response or less response through Dyno chart so if practically an owner can't feel anything, i've no idea .....