Remove throttle body coolent.

boyzone

Guys, what is the pro and con to remove throttle body coolent??
Can reduce throttle body temperature?
Pls advise... Thanks :biggrin:

done it with my b18c.
not much differ.but still,d coolent is frikkin hot.
just try it.

owh,just buy a new hose and bypass the one that run through the throttle body.
thats it.easy.
make sure ur car is at park for more than 4 hours.

"Not much different" is mean the throttle body working temperature better than previous?? or nothing change??
Pls advise.. Thanks.

if u want to try it for fun oklah,make sure to buy a bottle of coolant after that,cuz it will drip out of the hose when ur engine is not fully cooled down.

power difference.not much i think,cuz i cant feel any.
yaloh,imagine how many milliseconds it will take for the air to run through the throttle body,since the air outside is much much cooler.
the heat transfer is quite small consider to the mass flow rate of air enters ur engine.
hehehe,thats wut ive learned in thermo 2.jes need to wait for my result.jes finished my exam.keke.

its btr to CAI ur intake as air from the outside is cooler rather than ur inside engine bay.
+ i think i would not make any different because ur intake manifold is also hot because the heat transfer from the engine to ur intake manifold,and the intake manifold is much much longer than ur throttle body.

another tips is try to mix alcohol wit water and spray it into ur intake.this will gain power.
like instant NOS.

Actually, purpose for me to remove throttle body coolent is feel my throttle body is very hot,
and reduce my step motor life spand.

wohohoho,so m givin ur wrong advice lah
errr....motor step?
ur engine drive by wire?
need to asl sum1 else

my engine is 4G92, air con step up is control by stepper motor.
observed inconsistency when engine is hot ( coolant is hot ).:mad:

hi boyzone,

u thin that ur TB is being warmed up by the coolant.

now let us think another side.

ur coolant is running at ~100deg C.
it means, ur TB is 100deg C at Max coz it will COOL down by coolant when it is too hot.

if u remove it, your TB temperature may become too hot after hours of driving. i think this is possible even there is a gasket between TB and intake manifold.

so, if i were u, i will not remove it.

As far as i know, the function of the coolant to throttle body is to trigger cold start function on the throttle body, to make ur car idle at higher RPM when engine/coolant is cold.. At least thats what my mechanic told me lah..

yes. that's true.
it use to fast idle ur engine (warm up) quickly.
it also prevent engine from stalling coz the engine still cold.

after the coolant reach operating temp, the mechanism in the TB will close fast idle auxiliary air intake in the tb.
usually in the tb got hole at the bottom (my engine's tb have it). need to close the hole if want to bypass the coolant line, else ur engine will fast idle all the time.

advantage, cooler TB (well maybe..)
disadvantage, cold idle will be very low..

depends on what car. Mine is drive by wire. The coolant passage is basically a plain passage to transfer the coolant heat just in case the air moisture frozen up and become ice and effect the air flow (designed for some countries). The reason why some cars in Malaysia have because of the mass production of world wide compatible throttle body or maybe the car is a recond unit from Jap or some country that have winter period. No harm to let it stays there or remove it. Mine already removed for the convenience of taking the TB out for DIY cleaning.

My engine is Mitsubishi 4G92.
Btw, function for throttle body is to intake air. Therefore, it should be self cooling by intake air flow... right?

Just leave it there la. After warm up, the coolant will stop flowing there.

For 4G series, it after thermostat. Therefore, it flow thru all the time.:hmmmm: