TCC Tip: Car Gadgets You Don’t Need

cyclonite

You’d be better off staying alert and in tune.
by Eric Peters

(2006-01-02)

From "Motor Honey" to the 100-mpg carburetor, we've all heard about - and sometimes, paid good money for - automotive gadgets that don't work as advertised. Or don't work at all. Before you spend your hard-earned money on any of them, know that you'll probably do more for your driving experience by keeping your car's tires properly inflated and your eyes wide open.

Here are some top contenders for car gadgets you're better off without:

Deer whistles: Glue or screw one to your car's fender and an ultrasonic signal only deer can hear is supposed to be created by the flow of air over the device as you drive, alerting deer to your oncoming presence and hopefully, keeping them from jumping through your windshield. Problem is, there's no evidence deer whistles actually work - and plenty that they don't. Maybe tacking one the fender of your Aztek will improve its good looks but it's doubtful it'll repel Bambi.

Fuel system "energizer:" Or "vitalizer" or some such high-tech-sounding name. Usually nothing more than a hollow tube that's supposed to improve fuel economy by "energizing" or "vitalizing" the fuel "molecules" so that they burn more efficiently. Some use magnets, some don't. None have ever been shown to improve fuel economy. Buy one if you think it'd make a neat amulet or necklace.

Engine (or transmission) "rebuild" in a can: Who needs a mechanic when you can just "pour in" the fix? Right? Wrong. That goop you pour into the engine may cut down on the clouds of blue smoke pouring out of the tailpipe or quiet the death rattle of worn-out bearings for just long enough to unload the car on some poor sucker. The "fix" is more like a cover-up, and the heavy glop can actually accelerate the Final End by increasing friction within the engine.

Air intake "vortex" or "tornado:" It looks like a gerbil wheel and supposedly increases airflow (and thus engine power) by creating "vortexes" in the air intake system. But all this product really does is create a vortex that sucks money out of your wallet and routes it directly to the company that sold you this rip-off. In fact, independent testing of these devices has found they actually lower horsepower (and hurt fuel economy) by creating excess turbulence or impeding airflow into the engine.

"Cathodic" rust prevention: This one's really sly, because the process does work in certain industrial applications. Basically, a flow of charged electrons is used to prevent oxidation (rust) from eating away at things like buried pipelines and sea-going ships. But for the CP process to work, there must be a complete circuit. In the case of a ship, this is provided by contact with seawater; in the case of pipelines (and even buried reinforced concrete) by contact with the soil. But your car is insulated from "ground" by its tires, and the only way for the process to work would be to drive it into the ocean or bury it in the ground. There have been lawsuits and court orders in both theU.S. and Canada to keep these products from being marketed and sold for use in automotive applications because they work about as well as a pet rock.

There are many others, and all have one thing in common: they don't work. Beware of any product that makes claims for itself that sound too good to be true. In virtually every case, they are - and you end up wasting your money on a useless piece of junk that does nothing to make your car more efficient, more powerful, or longer-lasting.

i thought surbo works....bah...~! silly me....since you mentioned the improper turbulance thing bla bla.... well, makes one heck alot of sense to me now, uneven surface of the air-intake would just kill the effect of the surbo...hmm...darn, i feel damn silly wei......ahahha, anywayz, good post :) since they got deer whistle, wonder they got cow whistle anot? or do they call it cow horn or something? heard of it somewhere before, anyone else heard of it?

Nothing beats the classical way of improving engine's performance such as turbo charger, supercharger, cams and stuff. Once i see in a magazine saying tongkat ali for your car, WTF now only i know my car got lan jiao. Throw away turbo and VTEC liao.:confused_smile:

gavan said:
i thought surbo works....bah...~! silly me....since you mentioned the improper turbulance thing bla bla.... well, makes one heck alot of sense to me now, uneven surface of the air-intake would just kill the effect of the surbo...hmm...darn, i feel damn silly wei......ahahha, anywayz, good post :) since they got deer whistle, wonder they got cow whistle anot? or do they call it cow horn or something? heard of it somewhere before, anyone else heard of it?

I still see surbocharged.net or something sticking on some cars here, and they think they should be proud of... hehehehe :regular_smile:

gavan said:

Police whistle would be a great product.

Since no one can say much about the last item, which is anti rust devices. Just click on this site,

http://www.ruststoponline.com/rustproofing-limitations.html#cathodic-protection

In some way it works and not. About the issue of grounding, i bet that Ralliart grounding strip (RM300!!) would work well. Yes that little ribbon like thing that u see installed at the back on the car bumpers that touches the road.:_:

cyclonite said:
Air intake "vortex" or "tornado:" It looks like a gerbil wheel and supposedly increases airflow (and thus engine power) by creating "vortexes" in the air intake system. But all this product really does is create a vortex that sucks money out of your wallet and routes it directly to the company that sold you this rip-off. In fact, independent testing of these devices has found they actually lower horsepower (and hurt fuel economy) by creating excess turbulence or impeding airflow into the engine.

haha my fren has that stupid vortex thingy...
laughed at him till i dropped on the floor..

netmatrix said:
Since no one can say much about the last item, which is anti rust devices. Just click on this site,

In some way it works and not. About the issue of grounding, i bet that Ralliart grounding strip (RM300!!) would work well. Yes that little ribbon like thing that u see installed at the back on the car bumpers that touches the road.:_:
hmmm, RM 300 just for the sake of grounding is just not worthit IMHO, its more like a fesyen thingy, i really doubt it as all the current in ur car is grounded to batt.. unless if struck by lightning, than i dont think its any good.. just my 20cent

tajulsans: You obviously don't understand the principals of electron flow. Yes your car circuit is grounded to your battery but that is still 'within' the circuit of your car. The purpose of a grounding strip is to remove the charges from your car into the ground 'different circuit'.

W/o the grounding strip your car cannot be struck by lightning because it does not help make contact between the charges in the air and the ground (because your tyres are insulated)
If you install a grounding strip then you will greatly increase the chances of being hit by lightning :)

cyclonite said:
tajulsans: You obviously don't understand the principals of electron flow. Yes your car circuit is grounded to your battery but that is still 'within' the circuit of your car. The purpose of a grounding strip is to remove the charges from your car into the ground 'different circuit'.

W/o the grounding strip your car cannot be struck by lightning because it does not help make contact between the charges in the air and the ground (because your tyres are insulated)
If you install a grounding strip then you will greatly increase the chances of being hit by lightning :)

is this so?? meaning more negative points?

cyclonite said:

actually can, lightning will strike anything that attracts electron and at the highest point, a car that is full of metal for sure will attract lightning too.. even though tyres are isolating it, lightning that strike ur car will be grounded by lightning charges jumping to the ground below your car.. i saw this in discovery channel and dont tell me those scientist tipu orang qua.. hehehe.. the grounding strip will make it flow easier oni..

Well stick to the point here. hehehe. What i meant was the grounding strip be used in CONJUNCTION with a rust prevention device. I don' really care if god send a super lighting bolt to fry me. My point is the rust prevention device! hahaha. How many cases of carsbeing struck by lighting u see everyday? I'm more worried being banged by a lorry than anything else.

So can we give any comments if the rust prevention device works? The site i given earlier staes everything quite clearly. The pros and cons are there. But in my oppinion, it works to a certain extent.:cyclops:

netmatrix said:

Well ok agree with you la that the RM300 strip will ground the car well, I have seen like 20 cars with this equipment so far in total with the tail dragging on the road, I know its grounding for the car but none of the around 20 cars I noticed was touching the ground, it was not on the road surface at all.

Another thing is can u use a 1 AWG wire to ground a TNB substation ? Common sense is that the car size is like 1000x larger and not possible to be grounded using that thin piece of grounding. Even if it does with the so called manufactured high tech stuff and implementation, who says a moving substance gives a good gronding further more on a surface that is built on small pebbles with major susbstance of tar ?

Its all common sense but sometimes not to blame individuals, the scam and claiming of certain parties sounds to be very true and interesting.

* No one was injured when this artical was typed out.

Cheers.

how about Micro compressor? really work or not? :)

i don think by putting this grounding stripe will increase the change of being fry by the lightning...hehehe