Superstrut vs upgrade Abs/spring

normality78

Guy's,

Opinion needed. feel free to comment.

Im looking to upgrade my current stock AE111 suspension system as the rear absorber has gone off and the front is going to. Actual planning was to upgrade my absorber thn follow by spring. as it can be easily total sum up to Rm1k plus, my mech has suggested me the other way. upgrade to superstrut system.

so what u guys think? should i go ahead with superstrut? i do know it provide very good handling but if i upgrade my abs and spring to better one, would it able to match superstrut performance? looking for abs for superstrut is quite diff to compare finding replacement for stock abs.

my mech quoted me rm900 for 2 pot brake system front, antiroll bar for fonrt and rear (bigger size thn stock he siad), superstrut system plus labour.

JUZ SUGGEST

why not you take your money to upgrade your absr?
this will be save your cost to do other thing(+ 4 point lower arm bar or s way bar)..

Your rm900 will be better spent by upgrading your shocks and springs. Converting to superstrut is not worth it IMHO, considering the shitty conditions of our roads here....:cry_smile:

Unless you spent 99% of your time on highways, or you dont mind your lower arms creaking and groaning all the time.....

U better upgrade your absorber..... dont upgrade to super strut....... cos have many problem and also hard to find super strut ansorber here.........

hm... it seems like having a supersturt is not really a wise option here. Its ok, im fine and welcome to all kind of feedback beit neg or posv.

c160,
the lower 4 point lower arm bar is the one custom made? s way bar = antiroll bar?

superstrut has it advantages and disadvantages .. same with everything .. actually there are a few SS users here in the forum .. hehehehehe
the malaysian roads does not favour SS setups .. the SS will start to goan and creak after hours of abuse by our roads ... but the rewards speaks for itself in driving ... if u have not drive a car with SS setup b4 then i suggest u try one rather than just listen to ppl say this no good and that no good laaa .. hehehhehee
aftermarket suspensions are harder to find ... maybe even cost abit more than the usual McP setups ...
u mentioned ARB .. of all the bars in the car .. this one MUST GET laaaa .. hahhaahaha ... aftermarket ARB laaa .. TRD ones cost around rm1700-1800 brand new .. u can confirm the price with TOMS in here ...

QIW bro,

i did ride on 2 cars with SS setup. to me, at least its not bumpy or jumpy. its comfort enaugh for street use but i do know the issue of the SS will start to goan and creak not long later. i think the driveshaft also an issue here

driveshaft no relation with SS or McP setup laaa ...
errr .. u mentioned u RIDE in the SS setup aahh ??? not drive kaaa ??? then u wont know the difference lorrr .. coz only the driver can feel the difference one laaa .. hahahaahahaha ..... drive it and compare ... that is if owner let laa .. huahahahahaahahahaa ...

actually its not driveshaft but something got to do with the C bracket there. i dunno what its called. i saw a levin change twice in 1 years time. its always the same thing giving problem, i mean kncking sound

yeah, i will give it a try. anymore feedback or opinion?

eh... would like changing spring, abs, rollbar will come close to what SS able to provide?

SS will not give you any noise or problem if you assemble it properly.
And all the lower arms should last you more than 100kkm.
Most of the time, its the mech screw up the SS but not our road condition.
You need a special tools to seperate the joins when dis-assemble the SS.
If you mech is using a "hammer way", then the joins will not last long.

hehehehe ... good point sifoo WONG ... but but but ... which mechanic got these RARE TOOLS laaa ??? if got i oso wanna go there assemble my stuff .. hehehehe
but sifoo WONG .. u did not mention anything about the diiference between handling of McP and SS oso ??? i know your LEVIN using SS one .. all ori ori ... so can comment abit laa .. :p

yeah, my mech did have a special tool which i assume coz he did mentioned to me and show it to me once but heck, i dun even know what is that thing. whahahaha. he only told me this is needed whn assembly or dismount the SS.

i think the "hammer way" was very common. hehehehe. i also got seen him hammer those car before. whahahaha

eehhh ... he got that special tool kaa ?? sure or not ???? nanti see all the tool there but still use hammer one why laa ???
my mech oso uses hammer ... only to dismantle laa .. to assemble no need hammer one maa ... just pasang everything and screw it on really tight ... then go a few rounds .. if dont feel right then jack up car and re-tighten again laaaa ...

normality78 said:
hm... it seems like having a supersturt is not really a wise option here. Its ok, im fine and welcome to all kind of feedback beit neg or posv.

c160,
the lower 4 point lower arm bar is the one custom made? s way bar = antiroll bar?

s way bar also call antiroll bar.
4 point lower arm bar made by cusco.

QiW said:
eehhh ... he got that special tool kaa ?? sure or not ???? nanti see all the tool there but still use hammer one why laa ???
my mech oso uses hammer ... only to dismantle laa .. to assemble no need hammer one maa ... just pasang everything and screw it on really tight ... then go a few rounds .. if dont feel right then jack up car and re-tighten again laaaa ...

all the while only dismantling only need to hammer mar. rite?

oh yeah, 1 more thing. If lets say i already convert into SS, in the future i wanna convert back to ori, can be done right?

yes .. can be done ... that one no probs laaaaaa
but nothing from your SS setup can be used back lorrrr .. other than maybe pillowmounts if u use them laaa .. hahaahahahahaaa .. oso can slavage the twinpot and mod the rotors abit to use back in McP setup laaa ... thats about it ..

alrite. Coz i check no KYB Excel G in spore, they was selling sgd350 for all 4. hm... so i may go ahead with SS i think. If lets say turns out really "unreliable", thn i shall revert back to ori

Gezz... a total change of whole thing? ya sure r normality. ^_^

actually i am not too sure bout super strut.. but i guess it that fork shaped thingy which comes with ur set of absorber.. err... somehow this is what i learned from my absorber session la... superstrut have level also ma..? but worst part is.. if it got spoil'd... i dun think superstrut can be serviced right? coz Tein i know a fella can service it.. while cusco he say have to drag all the way back to some factory... then GAB r.. err... *forgotten la..did he mention about japs gab?*...

i never sit on a superstrut before.. but they all say superstrut is even more "keng" compare to my new suspension.. err.. but if jalan balik rumah ones.. err... the suspension might be suffering high casualties..haha!! too many bumps.. uneven roads..

^_^

just my opinion r.. dunno supastrut is that thing i see before or not.. ^_^

Write your reply...