Super-Charge

mkjb said:
yo Gerard dude,

It's been a long time didn't yam cha wif you....how ya doin' wif the supercharge thingy?
I believe everything still run accordingly....

There's a question I wanna consult to you, the PUTRA and the SATRIA GTI share the same engine rite? 4G93... but how about the handling system...Proton claim the SATRIA GTI handling is tuned by LOTUS...but how about the PUTRA model?
Do they share the same handling and suspension system....what I notice is that the design looks the same...I wonder if there is any extra thingy in the SATRIA GTI that makes it stable as what PROTON had claimed....

Now I am driving a PROTON SAGA and considering to change to PUTRA so that I can supercharge it wif your KIT...coz the last time I test drive your car and it was superb..the torque is has has twisted my mind and adrenalin keeps pumping...I like that feeling of low end torque......
I prefer the PUTRA than the SATRIA GTI coz the extra BOOT at the back is has..and more space for loads too...

As a conclusion, I was a fantastic ride I shud say.....

Keep up the good work dude....
Hope to catch you again somewhere in JULY...

Bro MKJB,
Nice to hear from you after such a long while and I'm glad that you have taken interest in the 4G93 engine and with the sc kit in mind....Glad you enjoyed the short test drive and hope to hear good news from you with the choice of car....

The difference between the Putra and GTI (as far as I know off) is the anti-roll bar for Putra (front) is linked to the lower arm unlike the gti which is linked to the absorber thus giving it a more responsive feel..Spring rate, piston diameter and tuning ( in stock form) could be far off each other thus the GTI may feel slightly better as compared to the Putra in stock form..Correct me if Im wrong bro...

..In terms of mounting of absorber and spring both share the same design and points...In stock form the GTI suspension set-up is much firmer and feel it could take more corner stress (less body roll) as compared to the Putra, wheelbase is also shorter too......Once you changed to aftermarket suspension set-up, I believe both cars will have similar effects to cornering, the difference would be narrowed down to weight and wheelbase of the car....

Drop me a call when you are around the area bro and we can have teh tarik again and this time you would be able to test 4g93 sc with stage 2 set-up....You will be in for a big suprise....

gerard

Gerard brother,

thanks for your information...
so which means that if the PUTRA suspension set up is changed to HWL, which you are currently using in your GTI, will have the same firmer conering feel..?
so i believe that would improve the conering rather than getting a GTI for my self....
to no offece, i just like the PUTRA with the rear boot....can put more luggage in it....
anyway, thanks a lot for the reply.....keep on touching babe...

regards
mkjb

hooOii gerard~! dont forget to call me when u guys go testing the stage 2!!!

mkjb said:
Gerard brother,

thanks for your information...
so which means that if the PUTRA suspension set up is changed to HWL, which you are currently using in your GTI, will have the same firmer conering feel..?
so i believe that would improve the conering rather than getting a GTI for my self....
to no offece, i just like the PUTRA with the rear boot....can put more luggage in it....
anyway, thanks a lot for the reply.....keep on touching babe...

regards
mkjb

mkjb,
Bro, I wouldnt say the HWL will solve or improve the suspension set-up and cornering feel of the car but any aftermarket suspension set-up be it local or imported ones will do the same if not better....I do agree to some extend that the putra have the extra boot space as compared to GTI..Happy searcing and keep in touch bro....

gerard

tks said:
hooOii gerard~! dont forget to call me when u guys go testing the stage 2!!!

Bro,
hey, didnt hear from for such a long time and glad that you are still following this thread...No worries bro, once ready, we will catch up and do some tt and test drives...Thanks for the support

gerard

aarion said:
wah piang, got stage 2 already. Power output?

Bro,
Stage 2 targeted output is at 200hp at the wheel still using superchargers and loads of other weird goodies... Details I will inform or release more when testing and development work is completed..and ..Im pleased with the outcome...Hang in there and keep in touch bro....Thanks for the support...

gerard

gerard said:
Bro,
Stage 2 targeted output is at 200hp at the wheel still using superchargers and loads of other weird goodies... Details I will inform or release more when testing and development work is completed..and ..Im pleased with the outcome...Hang in there and keep in touch bro....Thanks for the support...

gerard
Wah gerard...200hp? OMG!!! Pls start a new project on Kancil la...my SLK (super little kancil) now turbo-charged adi...wanna add in supercharger so that can improve my low-end torque...so can almost become invisible liao during heavy traffic...ganas!!! Pls la start a project on Kancil soon la...PLEASE!!! My saliva dripping liao...

intercooler

Hi Gerard,

I smsed u the other day regarding turbocharging my 4G13 apm/mitsu ecu satria, but u were still in ipoh i think testing or something. Btw just to refresh ur memory i got myself a small MHI turbo and thought of bolting it on for low boost.

I was thinking about intercooling with regards to turbocharging my car.

My intended setup for stage 1(and it actually ends there untill enjin semput and i change to 4G15)

1>use stock CAI, stock filter or maybe K&N drop in or something

2>no intercooler

3>bypass/recirculating valve

4>low boost(5psi?)

5>stock ecu, injectors, MAF

6>2" free flow mid muff and 2.5" cat back s- flow exhaust piping(which i oledi have)

Do you think really need i/cooler for low boost?

TIA,

140dB

MystaJ said:
Wah gerard...200hp? OMG!!! Pls start a new project on Kancil la...my SLK (super little kancil) now turbo-charged adi...wanna add in supercharger so that can improve my low-end torque...so can almost become invisible liao during heavy traffic...ganas!!! Pls la start a project on Kancil soon la...PLEASE!!! My saliva dripping liao...
Wow can supercharge + turbocharge an engine at the same time? I thought can only choose one.......

Toyota Landcruiser Diesel

gerard...

nice work you hav done... keep it up...

here is two questions...

1) I am driving a Toyota Landcruiser(1991) with a 3A engine, EFI, NA... can i install one of your bolt-ons??? coz the car is quite lame in picking up... it a diesel car...

2) How much is the coz for evrything... and can you list out what parts your bolt-on include and what do i need???

cheers...

dotn3t said:
Wow can supercharge + turbocharge an engine at the same time? I thought can only choose one.......

Bro,
Sorry for the late reply, been very busy lately...By right, we can only choose either one, supercharger or turbo charger but us being us, very greedy and we hope to try out both and see how it will funtion and what challenges it will pose...This is gonna be interesting when it's ready...

gerard

craziechild said:
gerard...

nice work you hav done... keep it up...

here is two questions...

1) I am driving a Toyota Landcruiser(1991) with a 3A engine, EFI, NA... can i install one of your bolt-ons??? coz the car is quite lame in picking up... it a diesel car...

2) How much is the coz for evrything... and can you list out what parts your bolt-on include and what do i need???

cheers...

Bro,
Sorry and sad to say our sc kit is not compatible with your car and engine, perhaps turbocharging....

gerard

MystaJ said:

Bro,
oops...Trying to put both these cousins in arms are very difficult indeed as the kancil/kelisa seriously lacks engine bay space...Sorry dude....Im sure there are other mods available in the market for your ride for power / performance upgrade...

gerard

140dB said:
Hi Gerard,

I smsed u the other day regarding turbocharging my 4G13 apm/mitsu ecu satria, but u were still in ipoh i think testing or something. Btw just to refresh ur memory i got myself a small MHI turbo and thought of bolting it on for low boost.

I was thinking about intercooling with regards to turbocharging my car.

My intended setup for stage 1(and it actually ends there untill enjin semput and i change to 4G15)

1>use stock CAI, stock filter or maybe K&N drop in or something

2>no intercooler

3>bypass/recirculating valve

4>low boost(5psi?)

5>stock ecu, injectors, MAF

6>2" free flow mid muff and 2.5" cat back s- flow exhaust piping(which i oledi have)

Do you think really need i/cooler for low boost?

TIA,

140dB

Bro, perhaps you could drop me a call again or pm me your hp no.....Then we will communicate again...

gerard

gerard,

i drive an altezza( beams dual vvti).... am happy with the performance and stability but somehow i feel that i need more power more torque. I used to drive sr20det, but now with family and all i switched to altezza.

many ppl advised me to convert engine to 2J, but i hate the hassle and headaches of turbo charged conversions. I think supercharge is the way to go for me.

what do u think?....
do u think u have the kit for altezza?...and how much?
where is turbo sang's place?
what r the parts that u have to change frm the stock engine?

goosfrabar said:
gerard,

i drive an altezza( beams dual vvti).... am happy with the performance and stability but somehow i feel that i need more power more torque. I used to drive sr20det, but now with family and all i switched to altezza.

many ppl advised me to convert engine to 2J, but i hate the hassle and headaches of turbo charged conversions. I think supercharge is the way to go for me.

what do u think?....
do u think u have the kit for altezza?...and how much?
where is turbo sang's place?
what r the parts that u have to change frm the stock engine?

Bro,
We did try turbocharging an altezza some time back but supercharging nope, not yet....Right now, we are currently busy with proton models and sad to say, customization works for other models will have to wait it out a little longer...Do keep in touch...bro...

gerard

gerard said:
Bro,
We did try turbocharging an altezza some time back but supercharging nope, not yet....Right now, we are currently busy with proton models and sad to say, customization works for other models will have to wait it out a little longer...Do keep in touch...bro...

gerard

thanx gerard for your reply, yes even in japan there are alreadya lot of turbocharged altezza esp the wan frm HKS. but i think supercharge would be better power and more economical for altezza coz it is a very sensitive engine.

once you've tried supercharging an altezza, can u plz let me know of the out come.

*thanx in advance.

goosfrabar said:
thanx gerard for your reply, yes even in japan there are alreadya lot of turbocharged altezza esp the wan frm HKS. but i think supercharge would be better power and more economical for altezza coz it is a very sensitive engine.

once you've tried supercharging an altezza, can u plz let me know of the out come.

*thanx in advance.

Bro,
Perhaps we can meet up and discuss further on the issue at hand with supercharging your altezza....Let start to plan and hopefully will see something custom made specially for altezza in due time...Keep in touch then....My contact is at 012-3073928....BTW, where are you located?...Im from PJ area...

Sensitive engine as in the VVT-I...yup I agree...the last time we meddle with TC altezza, the ecu gave us loads of challenges...Welcome to the new era of factory sensitive self learning ecu...hahaha...did overcome the challenges though...eventually..

gerard

gerard said:
Bro,
Perhaps we can meet up and discuss further on the issue at hand with supercharging your altezza....Let start to plan and hopefully will see something custom made specially for altezza in due time...Keep in touch then....My contact is at 012-3073928....BTW, where are you located?...Im from PJ area...

Sensitive engine as in the VVT-I...yup I agree...the last time we meddle with TC altezza, the ecu gave us loads of challenges...Welcome to the new era of factory sensitive self learning ecu...hahaha...did overcome the challenges though...eventually..

gerard

cool. i'm frm pj too, Seksyen 5 near La Salle PJ.
Yup the VVT-i, btu not just bout the VVT-i it's also a self learning car. The ECU doesn't make discisions on its own. If the sensors dun agree the ECU won't overide....that's the problem.

will call u tomrow.