Super-Charge

Hi Gerald,

I called Turbo Sang today to enquire the sc on my Kembara. Not sure whether he knows that mine is the DVVT version. Would wish to know whether the sc would be able to bolt on to it.

During our friendly conversation, he mentioned that he could do it and it'll take a week for installation. This include the OBIT piggyback ECU as well as he said the ori ECU will fry my engine.

I'm more into offroad (I do take my Kembara to the real jungle) and torque is very important especially if it comes at a low rpm. With an increase in torque (he mentioned 100% increase?) will the ori clutch be able to take it and what about brakes? He quoted me a price (a BIG price to me) and would really like to know the reliability of the sc as well as to my engine.

Your answers are greatly appreciated.

gti-wly said:
i'm really interested in your SC, but my gti is using siemens ecu. when can the sc for that ecu comming out? how many % still doing on it?

fyi, gerard is still in the process of developing the siemens type. hope to see it soon. :biggrin: can't wait to see the outcome. :rolleyes: cheers.

Hey Gerard,
You changed your phone number is it? What's your latest phone number man? How's the Siemens SC coming along?

Cheers...

Bro,

Great suggestion and will do just what you said and arrange some sort of meet-up, test drive and chatting too but to get the date, venue, and ppl is rather hard but will keep this option open, at a later date which will be announce...cheers to thia suggestion bro and many thanks..

gerard

risyia said:
Hi Gerard,

Can I suggest this when you launched Stage 2??

Have a discusion/get together session at your workshop in Sg Buloh with your Stage 2 GTI as a discussion piece and for test drive around in Bukit Rahman Putra.

At the same time can have some simple drinks & makan. Some cold canned drinks and sandwiches will do.

The best day would be on a Saturday around lunch time.

I am sure most of the forummers will agree to this suggestion.

Bro,
It was done once before but was some time ago and I can really tell you exact details on power and price but the owner didnt complaint and the power was good...We wont mind doing one with proper figures and as a bolt on concept but it will be at a later date...Hope you understand bro...

gerard

niceputera said:
Hi Gerard,

I heard you had done sc/tc on BMW. Is it true? If yes what model was it? I got 318 4 port and 325 6 port in hand. Would love to go force induction if the cost justifies the power gain. PM me will you. Thanks.

Cheers.

dareMAX said:
Where is Gerard??????? waiting for your info....

Sorry bro,
Do I own you any outstanding details?....Sorry if I did and would help is you could inform me what have I missed out..Been away for some time lately and busy with some personal family matters....Sorry again if I did kept you waiting....Keep in touch bro and take care..

If you are referring to details on stage 2 GTI supercharger bolt on kit review...Then I would suggest you get hold of a copy of Hypertune this coming December issue...I hope it will be feature there and you could get more details and view the pix taken by the professional Hypertune photographer...I wouldnt want to spoilt the suspense by writing, posting and uploading the pix now...cheers again

gerard

HKS-GT2835R said:
how about a bet instead?
say..210bhp?:tongue:
we wanna hear updates man..!

Bro,
Thanks for the support all this while...The results and write up will be featured in Hypertune december issue and its not fair for me to say anything untill the mag is out...I dont want to kill the suspense for them ya, as the December issue is a bumber issue thus lets all just wait a tit longer and see what is it all about....Beleive me when I say Im as eager as you guys are out there to what they write and what pix they will print...

PS. my new contact no would be 017- 6186948.. The 012 is not in use...contact me for anything ya, especially for tt sessions..hahaha..

gerard

reedoor said:
Wow... Gerard, pls keep me in ur update list when u lauch ur stage02. :)
thx & cheers....

Bro,
Many thanks for the support and in following the development of our sc kit and its stages...There should be a small write up with some pix of the car in Hypertune December issue, so just hang in there a little longer and wait whats in this bumber issue k...Im as eager as you guys are on the issue but minus the suspense of the hp and torque figures as I know that long time ago...hahaha...cant spoil the fun now for Hypertune....

gerard
017-6186948

Yong_5290 said:
hi bro gerard....can i know how much is it to super charge a 4g91...
and how much will it be?
how many horse power would i get?
now i probably got 115hp on wheel...
can the internal and block of 4g91 take much pressure...lets say 0.5bar...
thx a lot...

actually i was opting for turbo charge...so i would like to compare n then c which is better...

Bro,
Sorry for the late rep;y, was bz away...Power figures for the 1.5 and 1.6 are healthy with great torque and midrange plus the character of being able to launch instantly with no lag...I shall only be able to release power figues, price when development work is completed...You may want to hang on a little while and that way you will need to keep your options open....Thanks for following this thread and supporting us all this while..

gerard

gti-wly said:
i'm really interested in your SC, but my gti is using siemens ecu. when can the sc for that ecu comming out? how many % still doing on it?

Bro,
Just like what dirtyape said on behalf of me...Sorry for the late replies, was bz away thus all the delay...

The GTI siemens is being tested as we speak, I would say development work in relation with the SC kit, ecu piggyback and of course the star of the show...SIEMENS ECU....and we are about 40% away from completion and will inform you guys on the status...of this project..

If you happen to be in the area of Kelana jaya, do buzz me and we can get together and have teh tarik and perhaps a short test drive of the sc kit in a 1.8 twin cam...no obligations...

Ps..many thanks dirtyape for the help...cheers to you. and see you soon..

gerard
017-6186948

MadCow76 said:
Hey Gerard,
You changed your phone number is it? What's your latest phone number man? How's the Siemens SC coming along?

Cheers...

Bro,
Yup, the 012 hp no is no longer in use...My new hp number would be 017-6186948, which siemens are you refering to???The GTI or the Gen2?.....The GTI is being tested for many months now and is still 40% away form completion, this is equipt with piggyback, sc kit from us and with siemens ecu....Will keep you all updated when the projects completes...Meanwhile if you are keen to see what the potential in the 1.8 with sc, buzz me and we can arrange for TT and a short test drive...Im located in Kelana Jaya, PJ....else buzz me when you are around the area...This meet - up is obligations free ya...so no worries....

gerard
017-6186948

wing said:
Hi Gerald,

I called Turbo Sang today to enquire the sc on my Kembara. Not sure whether he knows that mine is the DVVT version. Would wish to know whether the sc would be able to bolt on to it.

During our friendly conversation, he mentioned that he could do it and it'll take a week for installation. This include the OBIT piggyback ECU as well as he said the ori ECU will fry my engine.

I'm more into offroad (I do take my Kembara to the real jungle) and torque is very important especially if it comes at a low rpm. With an increase in torque (he mentioned 100% increase?) will the ori clutch be able to take it and what about brakes? He quoted me a price (a BIG price to me) and would really like to know the reliability of the sc as well as to my engine.

Your answers are greatly appreciated.

Bro,
Sorry for the late reply, was away...Could you give me more description on what the mods done, or going to do and price.....

gerard

gerard said:
Bro,
Yup, the 012 hp no is no longer in use...My new hp number would be 017-6186948, which siemens are you refering to???The GTI or the Gen2?.....The GTI is being tested for many months now and is still 40% away form completion, this is equipt with piggyback, sc kit from us and with siemens ecu....Will keep you all updated when the projects completes...Meanwhile if you are keen to see what the potential in the 1.8 with sc, buzz me and we can arrange for TT and a short test drive...Im located in Kelana Jaya, PJ....else buzz me when you are around the area...This meet - up is obligations free ya...so no worries....

gerard
017-6186948

Hey bro, thanks for your reply man. I meant the Siemens on the Wira 4g93p, same as the gti i guess. Can't wait for you to complete it man...I'm getting ever more anxious. I'm so unhappy with the limitations of the ECU. I can't do any mods at all. It resets everything, even after changing to a MIVEC extractor the power was there in the beginning but after a while it adjusts itself. It's a real pain man if you know what I mean.
I'm even thinking of changing to the MMC ecu for convenience sake.
Well...do let us know when you're done with the Siemens SC. I'm sure other Siemens users are keen to hear about it.
Will call you one day when I'm around your area.

Cheers man...

mr.gerard ,
i have one question for u to answer. very sorry to interupt yr thread here. i was reading other threads in car modification & i came across a thread where most forummers said its possible for a vtec to beat a turbo car in about a 400m run . i was quite surprised as i have driven a turbo as well as a vtec before but i dont seriously think a turbo can be beaten by a vtec which uses N/A engine. but since i lack technical knowledge , i may be wrong but i just need to find out from you whether the vtecs are so powerful as to beat a turbo.

many thanks

MadCow76 said:
Hey bro, thanks for your reply man. I meant the Siemens on the Wira 4g93p, same as the gti i guess. Can't wait for you to complete it man...I'm getting ever more anxious. I'm so unhappy with the limitations of the ECU. I can't do any mods at all. It resets everything, even after changing to a MIVEC extractor the power was there in the beginning but after a while it adjusts itself. It's a real pain man if you know what I mean.
I'm even thinking of changing to the MMC ecu for convenience sake.
Well...do let us know when you're done with the Siemens SC. I'm sure other Siemens users are keen to hear about it.
Will call you one day when I'm around your area.

Cheers man...

Bro,
Thanks for the support and let's all just hope it will be a stable & successful hybrid of these mods, especially with Siemens...Will in form you and many others out there on the status and outcome in due time. Hang in there on the MMc wiring issue.if all else fails then last resort would be wiring transplant but meanwhile sit back a little and see what the story..ok..

Do buzz me when you are in the area and we can meet up (obligations free) teh tarik.

gerard

simon said:
mr.gerard ,
i have one question for u to answer. very sorry to interupt yr thread here. i was reading other threads in car modification & i came across a thread where most forummers said its possible for a vtec to beat a turbo car in about a 400m run . i was quite surprised as i have driven a turbo as well as a vtec before but i dont seriously think a turbo can be beaten by a vtec which uses N/A engine. but since i lack technical knowledge , i may be wrong but i just need to find out from you whether the vtecs are so powerful as to beat a turbo.

many thanks

Bro,
In the modding world of cars and engines, everything is possible..The main question here is, are your pockets deep enough and how long can you sustain?..Many other crucial/important factors comes into play, weight of car, condition of engine, components/parts used, cars ride set-up, engine tuning set-up, gearbox ratios, tyres and driver..Possible or not, depands on how serious one goes about with the abovementioned factors...Like I've said, everything and anything is possible...

NOTE : The topic above which I replied just a one off Q & A in this thread and I hope other viewers who wishes to share their experience and views could do so via PM's or e-mails to Simon directly...or...Simon could discuss this issue further with me via Pm's too...No offence here, my friend..

gerard

Thanks for the PM.

Ah...so you're the guy I've been looking for. The kembara with the 4AGZE engine, with lift, skid plate, bull bar and a pair of lights to go. Is it still 4WD and offroad capable or only meant for onroad. I have the article of the Dragger Racing Development.

Anyway, the cost of transplanting an engine, the K3VET is only about RM6000 ±RM500. But the engine is very rare and difficult to locate especially a 4WD option. It's engine is well suited for me especially for offroading with 170Nm/2800rpm compared to my current 120Nm/3200rpm. With the sc, I'm hoping it'll boost the torque at a lower rpm range for the crawling push on steep gradient.

Now, I'm kinda worry that the engine may not last with such boost. I hope you'll understand that forking out $$$ and not lasting is a bad investment that I can't afford.

And one last query from me. WOuld you by any chance be able to loan me your Kembara for the installation duration as I will need a transport car.

wing said:
Thanks for the PM.

Ah...so you're the guy I've been looking for. The kembara with the 4AGZE engine, with lift, skid plate, bull bar and a pair of lights to go. Is it still 4WD and offroad capable or only meant for onroad. I have the article of the Dragger Racing Development.

Anyway, the cost of transplanting an engine, the K3VET is only about RM6000 ±RM500. But the engine is very rare and difficult to locate especially a 4WD option. It's engine is well suited for me especially for offroading with 170Nm/2800rpm compared to my current 120Nm/3200rpm. With the sc, I'm hoping it'll boost the torque at a lower rpm range for the crawling push on steep gradient.

Now, I'm kinda worry that the engine may not last with such boost. I hope you'll understand that forking out $$$ and not lasting is a bad investment that I can't afford.

And one last query from me. WOuld you by any chance be able to loan me your Kembara for the installation duration as I will need a transport car.

Bro,
Yup, I was the owner of that Kembara Hybrid and that project was a one off from Turbo Sang who was then running the show for Dragger Racing. We both have since teamed up and form a development company named Voltz Hybrid Development.

The K3VET is indeed a very rare engine and one which is hard to come by and with a heavy price tag but if you look hard enought Im sure you will bum into one....Low boost is fine but you have got to maintain it well. The kembara was with rear wheeled drive converted as the gearbox couldnt take it as I was running 1 bar of boost and was driving it very hard, from standstill to high speeds and I dont do off roading with this Kembara so I have no probs in converting the gearbox to rear wheel drive system...

On the loan of the Kembara, sorry bro this Kembara is in the workshop for further modding works which you will be in for a bigger suprise in due time..

gerard