Streamyx - Its All About Broadband

sakuraguy

Streamyx - Its All About Broadband

Just started this thread on information sharing of our current premier broadband service "Streamyx" .. It doesnt matter we love it or hate it .. this technology makes us the only path for us to be online.

Hope everyone can share more on this ..

Streamyx Application forms & Additional forms:
- http://www.4shared.com/file/4910176/62283a89/streamyx_application_forms.html
- http://www.4shared.com/file/4910175/fb216b33/lampiran-a.html
- http://www.4shared.com/file/4910174/8c265ba5/lampiran-b.html

Factory Standard ADSL Installation:
- http://www.4shared.com/file/4910177/152f0a1f/aztech_206u_installation_guide.html
- http://www.4shared.com/file/4910178/8590178e/aztech_305ew_installation_guide.html
- http://www.4shared.com/file/4910179/f2972718/aztech_600e_installation_guide.html
- http://www.4shared.com/file/4910180/cd38373/d-link_500g_installation_guide.html

http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/1194/bncn5.jpg​

SakuraGuy
Zerotohundred.Com

TMNet Streamyx Packages

tmnet streamyx offers better value than ever with our exciting new packages! tmnet streamyx brings the web's rich multimedia content to life, at up to 100 times the speed of an ordinary Internet connection. There's simply no better time to give your home or office the broadband advantage with tmnet streamyx.

tmnet streamyx packages (Effective 1 September 2005)

http://img352.imageshack.us/img352/3230/packageco8.gif

Notes :

- Speed of service is on 'best effort' basis.
- Service is subject to availability and technical testing.
- The 1st bill received will include an installation fee of RM88 , a one time service activation fee of RM75, a one-month subscription fee (from date of service activation) and an advance charge of the 2nd month subscription fee.
- Minimum subscription period is 12 months. If a customer terminates service before the end of the subscription period, then they are required to settle the subscription fees for the remaining months and return the modem.
- Termination of service due to relocation of premise will be considered as pre-mature termination and will be charge as per item iv.
- Customer must pay the tmnet streamyx bill before the due date to avoid the suspension of service. During this period, TM Net will continue to charge the customer for the monthly subscription fee (for more info, please click here).
tmnet streamyx basic package is applicable to personal applicant only.
- 7 days auto account activation is applicable to tmnet streamyx without modem & tmnet streamyx in-A-box package.
- All tmnet streamyx customers will enjoy TM Net's broadband entertainment channel accessible via BlueHyppo.com.
- For customers who subscribe to tmnet streamyx Basic without modem package, the modem can be purchased at TMpoint (formerly known as Kedai Telekom) or contacting our service contractor.
- Modems will be provided for tmnet streamyx Enterprise and Corporate package.

A list of service contracters can be found here : http://www.tm.net.my/html/htm/where_to_apply/service_contractors.htm

Streamyx Technology

The technology which supports tmnet streamyx service is DSL. It stands for Digital Subscriber Line. DSL is the next generation of Internet access technology. A house or business with DSL has a data socket that looks like a phone socket. DSL is a direct connection to the Internet that is always on. Technology has basically enhanced the copper pair to enable data communication at rates of up to 2Mb/s.

The types of DSL technology chosen to support tmnet streamyx are ADSL, SDSL and Glite DSL. ADSL stands for Asymmetrical Digital Subscriber Line. It allows you to simultaneously access the net and use the phone or fax (at the same time). GLite DSL is similar to ADSL but has lesser speed capability than full rate ADSL.

SDSL stands for Symmetrical Digital Subscriber Line. The different between ADSL and SDSL is SDSL offers the customer symmetrical bandwidth upstream and downstream to a customer (e.g. 1.5Mb/s SDSL Streamyx package offers the customer 1.5Mb/s downstream speed as well as 1.5Mb/s upstream speed). Technologically, SDSL does not allow voice/fax (PSTN) over the same copper.

http://img455.imageshack.us/img455/9924/technology1oi3.gif

An ADSL system basically consists of two parts ie. the Central Office (CO) which is located at the exchange building and the other, Remote Termination Unit(RTU) at subscriber's premise. The Central Office (CO) and Remote Terminal Unit(RTU) are connected via an existing pair of copper telephone lines. Diagrams belows shows the tmnet direct(ADSL) set up.

The Central Office (CO) for ADSL consists of two types of chassis. The first chassis is the ADSL unit for modem cards and control card while the second chassis is for the POTS (Plain Old Telephone Service) splitter. The Remote Terminal Unit (RTU) for ADSL also consists of POTS splitter and ADSL modem.

A significant advantage of ADSL is its ability to seperate data traffic from voice communications via one pair of existing copper wire. The voice communication is split off from the data traffic by POTS splitter hence allowing uninterrupted telephony services even if the ADSL fails. The diagram above shows the ADSL whereby the voice communication is split and sent to the PSTN (Public Switched Telephone Network) while the data traffic is sent to the broadband network.

While in the SDSL network set-up (where it only supports data), there will be no network element of voice network (PSTN). The customer is connected directly into the broadband network.

Streamyx Requirement

Below are the basic requirements to subscribe for the tmnet streamyx service :-

The customer must be within 5km of the supporting tmnet streamyx TM exchange.
The customer must have a direct copper connection through a Telekom Malaysia fixed line. This must link the premise to the TM exchange where the DSL is available.
TM Home prepaid, Ezeephone, ISDN, hunting lines and the CDMA service do not support tmnet streamyx.
Telephone lines served with fiber connections are supported at limited areas only.
Upon any application of the tmnet streamyx service, TM Net will check that all requirements are fulfilled before the service can be provided to the customer. The applicant of the tmnet streamyx must own a telephone line. If you do not have a copper telephone line, you need to apply for one first to enjoy the service. Below are the basic arrangements at a customer's premise :-

TMNet Streamyx ADSL

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/2721/requirement01cu8.gif

Connection at customer's premise is as below :-
Telephone Socket to POTS Splitter - RJ11
POTS Splitter to Telephone set - RJ11
POTS Splitter to RTU - RJ11
RTU to Hub/Customer PC - RJ45

TMNet Streamyx SDSL

http://img352.imageshack.us/img352/1813/requirement02kj2.gif

Telephone Socket direct to RTU - RJ11
RTU to Hub/Customer PC RJ45
The arrangement is as follows since SDSL does not support voice.

TMNet Streamyx Wireless (available at selected area only)

http://img352.imageshack.us/img352/8075/requirement03dl5.gif

Radio unit (CPE) to Hub/Customer PC RJ45

F.A.Q

What is tmnet streamyx?
Tmnet streamyx is a high-speed broadband Internet access service which provides 'always on' connection to the internet with speed/bandwidth from 512k up to 2mbps. With the high-speed connectivity/bandwidth, the service is ideal to support most broadband application such as, Web Hosting, video streaming, e-commerce, distance learning and others.

What are the technologies used?
The technology used for tmnet streamyx is xDSL. The xDSL types chosen to support tmnet streamyx network are ADSL and SDSL technologies.

How fast is tmnet streamyx?
The packages range from 512k up to 2Mbps Internet access speed and it is on best effort basis.

How to subscribe to tmnet streamyx?
You can come personally to Clickers, selected TMpoint (formerly known as Kedai Telekom) & selected Primatel or contact our Authorized Resellers or Customer Interaction Center 24 hours a day at 1-300-88-9515.

I am a business applicant. Can I apply to tmnet streamyx basic package?
No. tmnet streamyx basic package can be subscribed by personal applicant only. Business applicant can apply to tmnet streamyx enterprise and corporate package.

Can I subscribe to tmnet streamyx online?
Yes. TM Net had just introduced the Online Registration for tmnet streamyx. You can now check for service availability and register online. In addition, you can also check for your application status even if you register through the normal procedure.

Is there any requirement that I have to fulfill before I register online?
Yes. To apply for tmnet streamyx via online: - The applicant must be the owner of the telephone line and; - Not being black listed by TM Net * Customer is requested to visit Clickers or the nearest TMpoint (formerly known as Kedai Telekom) if they do not comply with the above pre-requisite requirements.

Where do I pay my tmnet streamyx bill?
You can pay your bill at Clickers, the nearest TMpoint (formerly known as Kedai Telekom) or any TM Net payment outlet. You can also pay online through https://tmbill.tm.net.my

What happens if I receive a call while accessing the Internet?
You can answer the call as a normal telephone call. The Internet access service will not be interrupted as your telephone set is connected to a microfilter, which separates voice and data signal. The above condition applicable for ADSL subscriber only. SDSL does not support telephony.

What is the tmnet streamyx minimum subscription period?
You have to subscribe tmnet streamyx service at a minimum period of 1 (ONE) year. If you terminate your account within the Minimum Subscription Period, you shall be responsible for fees chargeable for the service on the remainder of the Minimum Subscription Period.

Can I have more than one tmnet streamyx connection to my premise?
Yes, as long as you have extra telephone line because each tmnet streamyx connection requires one direct/dedicated telephone line.

What are the differences between ADSL and SDSL?
ADSL stands for Asymmetrical Digital Subscriber Line. It allows you to simultaneously access the net and use the phone or fax (at the same time). SDSL stands for Symmetrical Digital Subscriber Line. The difference between ADSL and SDSL is; ADSL has a different upstream and downstream data transfer rate (upstream higher than the downstream) whereas SDSL offers the customer a symmetric upstream and downstream bandwidth to the customer (eg. 1.5Mbps SDSL package offers the customer 1.5Mbps downstream speed as well as 1.5Mbps upstream speed). Technically, SDSL also does not allow voice/fax (PSTN) over the same copper.

What are the differences between xDSL connection and Dial-up connection?
xDSL does not dial to public switch telephone exchange, it connects the customer direct to the Internet. It is fixed to the telephone number which you provided when you apply for the service. In contrast, dial-up modem can be used at any premises to log to tmnet.

What are the differences between xDSL technology and ISDN?
ISDN allows you to have many different digital features, such as PABX and digital fax. ISDN requires you to have a special telephone line (i.e. you have to do a new wiring) while xDSL does not (it uses the existing copper line at your premise). ISDN is a dial-up service while xDSL is a always-on connection. Also there are wide ranges of bandwidth available for xDSL (ranging from 384kbps to 2Mbps) compared to ISDN which only have limited range of bandwidth.

What are the differences between xDSL and Leased Line?
Leased line let users connect from point to point without sharing the channel with other Internet users and also without restrictions to the distance. Thus leased line offers a better security with the service typically ranging from 64kbps to 2Mbps. Leased line is very expensive compared to xDSL. xDSL is however easier to install at the customer premises. xDSL is categorized as best effort service while leased line is premier or guaranteed bandwidth service.

What is the minimum requirement needed to apply for tmnet streamyx?
For Windows OS computers, you need to have a PC with minimum Pentium processor and 32MB RAM. Windows 95 (Windows 98 is preferred), Windows XP or Windows NT operating system, 2.1GB Hard Disk (20MB of free hard disk space) and Network Interface Card (NIC). For MAC OS computers you need to have a Power PC Macintosh with system 7.6.1 or later 32 Mb RAM, 10 Mb of free hard disk space, Ethernet port, Mac OS X version 10.1.2 above only (Note: Lower version are not supported at the moment) Also of course, you need to have an active telephone line to connect to the tmnet streamyx modem.

Do I need a special modem?
Yes. You need to use certified DSL modem, which is compatible with tmnet streamyx that can be purchased from your nearby outlet.

Do I need to purchase a modem?
TM Net will provide the xDSL modem for customers who subscribed for Streamyx Basic with modem package, Streamyx Enterprise package and Streamyx Corporate package. Only modems approved by TM Net will work finely with tmnet streamyx. Note: Upon termination of tmnet streamyx, customers have to return the provided modems/splitters/microfilter to TMpoint (formerly known as Kedai Telekom). TM Net will impose charges for unreturned modems/splitters/microfilter. For Streamyx Basic without modem packages, TM Net will not provide the modem. Customer needs to buy the modem, splitter & microfilter. For further detail, please contact Telekom Sales & Services Sendirian Berhad (TSSSB) Service Centre at 03-22971200 ext 261 or 255 or please refer to Certified DSL Modem List for the list of modems compatible with tmnet streamyx which can be purchased from your nearby outlets.

Do I need a new telephone line?
For tmnet Streamyx ADSL you may use your existing telephone line. For tmnet Streamyx SDSL, you need a new copper line (TM personnel will apply for you upon application of the service).

Do I need additional wiring at my house / office?
tmnet Streamyx will be installed at where the telephone line is terminated. You need to do the additional wiring should you want to use the service at other part of your premise than where the phone line is terminated at your own cost.

How to change Streamyx login password ?
go to TM Bills Page http://tmbill.tm.net.my
enter username (without @streamyx) and password
select "Change Password" from Account Management (near bottom of the page)

Can I enjoy tmnet streamyx if my telephone line is using fiber connection?
Yes. You can still apply for tmnet streamyx even if your telephone line is using fiber connection. However, the service is only available at selected areas. You can check the service availability via our Online Registration or visit our nearest outlets for more information.

What is the mailbox space/capacity allocated for tmnet streamyx user e-mail?
TM Net has upgraded tmnet streamyx user mailbox space from 4M to 10M. You can upgrade your mailbox from 4M to 10M for FREE via Selfcare at https://tmbill.tm.net.my

What are the additional value added services that I get if I subscribe to tmnet streamyx?
If you subscribe to tmnet streamyx you will enjoy free access to iChoose, our broadband entertainment portal accessible via www.bluehyppo.com.

Do I need to install a network card?
Yes. You need the Network Interface Card (NIC) in order for your PC to communicate with the modem.

If I do not have a telephone line, how do I subscribe to tmnet Streamyx?
You need to apply (visit your nearest TMpoint (formerly known as Kedai Telekom)) and install a phone line before you can enjoy the service. (The above condition applies for tmnet Streamyx ADSL packages only)

STREAMYX PROMOTION

Streamyx Shock Festive Promo!From 18th September to 31st December 2006, TM Net is introducing the Streamyx Shock Festive Promo. Now you can enjoy TM Net's broadband service at only RM77* per month together with lot of other freebies too!

http://img455.imageshack.us/img455/5006/streamyxshockboxma9.gif

Terms & Conditions

- Promotion is valid until 31st DECEMBER 2006.
- Speed of service is on ‘best effort’ basis.
- Service is subject to availability and technical testing.
*The monthly subscription fee is RM77 for the first two years. Thereafter, RM88 per month will be chargeable.
- The 1st bill received will include an installation fee of RM88 (if applicable), a one-time service activation fee of RM75, a one-month subscription fee (from date of service activation) and an advance charge of the 2nd month subscription fee.
- The minimum subscription period is 24 MONTHS.
- Customers are NOT allowed to downgrade during the minimum subscription period. If customers terminate within the minimum subscription period, the remaining balance will be charged and customer is required to return the modem.
- Modem warranty is 12 MONTHS.
- BB phone, Virus Shield & Anti Spamming, Online Guard and x-filter are FREE for 4 MONTHS only. After which, the services will be automatically terminated and customers will have to subscribe separately to these services.
tmnet e-browse is FREE for 1 MONTH only. After which, the services will be automatically terminated and customers will have to subscribe separately to this service.
- 7 days auto account activation is applicable to tmnet streamyx in-A-box package.
- Promotion valid for PERSONAL category only.
- This special package is valid for NEW & SUCCESSFUL applications ONLY.
tmnet streamyx terms & conditions apply.

Notes:
*Pay RM77 for the first 24 months. Normal charges of RM88 will apply after 24 months.

**Free BB phone monthly subscription for 4 months only. Free calls to any streamyx subscribers who subscribe to BB phone. All calls to STD, Mobile and IDD will be charged separately. Call rates to STD - RM0.10 per min, Mobile - RM0.20 per min, IDD - starting from RM0.10 per min (details refer to www.bbphone.com.my)

***Value Added Services is Free for 4 months, e-browse is Free for 1 month (for selected newspaper only)

Streamyx Email

Following is two ways to access to your streamyx mail.

WebmailGo to webmail.tm.net.my site
Type in your username
Select the appropriate domain (streamyx.com)
Type in your password
Click 'sign-in'

Pop Email ServicesYou can obtain your streamyx email through various email programs available such as Microsoft Outlook, Inbox, Netscape Communicator, Outlook Express, etc. To do this, you are required to include your email configuration with the following settings :

Incoming mail server : pop.streamyx.com

Outgoing mail server : smtp.streamyx.com

Do not forget to save these settings. And whenever you login in the future, remember to type in your full username with the domain (e.g. [email protected]) to gain access into your account.

For further inquiries, please contact TMNet Customer Interaction Center at 1300-88-9515 or email TMnet at [email protected].

Streamyx In a Box

Beginning 10 January 2005, if you have successfully registered for tmnet streamyx package (with modem and free modem package) have opted for self-installation, you will be provided with tmnet streamyx in a box.

With tmnet streamyx in a box, you can set up tmnet streamyx at your convenience. You'll not only expedite your installation but you'll also save on the installation fee by using tmnet streamyx in a box.

Inside the Boxtmnet streamyx in a box makes installing tmnet streamyx even easier and faster. The tmnet streamyx in a box package includes an ADSL Ethernet Modem, tmnet streamyx in a box quick guide, tmnet streamyx User Guide Booklet, tmnet streamyx self installation cd set-up wizard, RJ 45 cable, ADSL splitter, an AC power supply adaptor, warranty card and phone cable.

The CD has a simple step by step interactive guide that will show you how to set up your hardware and sofware step by step. Information about system requirement is also available on the CD, as well as a comprehensive help file and a brief explaination of the technology behind tmnet streamyx.

The program in the CD will verify whether your PC meets the minimum requirements for tmnet streamyx before installing the software dialer. Once the software is installed, just launch the dialer and run a simple test using the dialer to ensure that your computer is physically connected to our tmnet streamyx server.

At the end of the successful test, just call TMNet's Customer Interaction Center at 1300-88-9515 to activate your tmnet streamyx account. Once the account is activated, you can start surfing the Net using the tmnet streamyx service.

You qualify for tmnet streamyx in a box if you subscribe for the tmnet streamyx basic 512k (with modem) package at RM77, tmnet streamyx basic 1.0mb (with modem) package at RM99 or any special RM 88 or RM66 promotional packages that come with a free modem, which is applicable during the promotional period only.

You will receive tmnet streamyx in a box at no additional cost if your application is successful during registration.

tmnet streamyx in a box is now available at tmnet clickers, tmnet clickers authorised service outlets (CASO) and also TMpoint (formerly known as Kedai Telekom) outlets nationwide as well as authorised tmnet streamyx resellers nationwide. Just go into one of our outlets and pick it up immediately.

Outside the BoxWith this do-it-yourself concept, you don't have to wait for long to start using tmnet streamyx and you can set up the broadband connection at your convenience. Make sure you install and activate the service within 7 days from the registration date!

You can call TMNet's Customer Interaction Centre at 1300-88-9515 for account activation after 3 working days from the registration date and successful installaiton of the modem. However, the account will be automatically activated after 7 days if you don't call TMNet's Customer Interaction Centre for activation.

For more information about tmnet streamyx in a box, call 1300-88-1500 or email TMNet at [email protected].

Latest Update!Effective 1st June 2005, customers can also request for tmnet streamyx in a box to be couriered to their preferred delivery address. The following fee will be chargable to customer :-

Area Delivery Fee
Peninsular Malaysia RM 14
East Malaysia RM 25

Note: The above fee will be included in customer's first bill

Customers will received the tmnet streamyx in a box within four days from registration date. Customers will also be subjected to the seven days auto activation and it will include the delivery period.

Thats all about information on STREAMYX .. Please update or share any good informations here, like tips n tricks, guides with other STREAMYX users.

Thnx

SakuraGuy
Zerotohundred.Com

Good info, as usual, sakuraguy.

To much unfortune, my tips and tricks to all other tmnet users are, if you all have consistent problems with tmnet, please, gather yourselfs up during one working day, and march up to TMNET main office and demand to speak to Mr Michael, CEO of TMNET.

no need la.we bomb all the nation HQ n open our own ISP can liao.kan senang ala jihad style.bwahahahaha.:shades_smile: :shades_smile:

skylinelover,
If that's the case, might as well just pay some rempits to do it. Yep. They're that stupid to do it. hahaha All for the sake of RM10. hahaha

satria_95 said:
skylinelover,
If that's the case, might as well just pay some rempits to do it. Yep. They're that stupid to do it. hahaha All for the sake of RM10. hahaha

hahaha good idea
*cabut 2 rempit hideout*:shcokedcamo:

anyway i dunno whether this news shall be good or bad news?perhaps both...hahaha:X-:
http://www.jeffooi.com/2006/11/tm_net_michael_lai_exits.php