ST air flow sensor problem... help

nice to meet u all, i am new here, i drive AE92 ST 20V.

my fren recommend me to this forum, he says his fren's ST air flow sensor problem is solved by using some DIY parts created by some one in this forum.

i stay at setapak, any workshop to recommend? i know a good one near zoo negara, HOKAIDO, but they are expensive.

hello 883.........welcome to toyota topic...
as a 1st step from you,i suggest you try to do a search on the above topics..........its worth it as tonnes of info about St and BT and the problem and technical stuff here..........good luck!

go to Trial Tuning la.. :)

wei 883 which part of setapak? im there too...

Hi 883,
Air Flow Meter (AFM) is a tough item and hardly give trouble, unless u had opened up the cover and touch the inside, or simply re-tuned the air by pass screw.
What is your problem and what makes u think that this stuff giving u problem?

it had been open up 3 years ago by a OPTION mechanic, but found out was computer chip problem. a lot of people encounter ST air flow problem, isnt it?

4agze, i live in sri rampai. where is the workshop u mentioned?

i spent too much on this car recently, a little regret...

Originally posted by 883@Feb 20 2005, 21:37
GT20V, u drive ST too?
GT20V drives the fastest ST 20V in Klang Valley....period....second only to our samurai yolk.

I live not far from Wangsa Maju area too, when got time I tried to follow the blistering GT20V

Originally posted by 883@Feb 20 2005, 20:54
it had been open up 3 years ago by a OPTION mechanic, but found out was computer chip problem. a lot of people encounter ST air flow problem, isnt it?

4agze, i live in sri rampai. where is the workshop u mentioned?

i spent too much on this car recently, a little regret...
Yes all SVT owner encounter AFM problem >> air flow restriction problem :lol: We just hope that the metal flap is not exist... other than that, the AFM is just working fine.

One major problem is non other than premature of ECU. If u have a dirty ITB and a clogged ISCV, your old age ECU will die within a year! So make sure u are running with a clean ITB and ISCV. In Jpn, it is recomended to clean those stuffs by every 30kkm.

I have a spare AFM (already opend up by somebody but has re-tune back to original position), if u need it i can let u test test. If u want to have it i can let it go cheap cheap.

So what is your problem? It may be caused by other stuff.

ITB, ISCV. i have no idea about this 2 item. what are they?

my fren recomend a work shop at PJ selatan near puchong tol, i will tol my car to the place. if i need the AFM i will contact you.

since we live so near, pls let me know if there is any mamak gathering ok? let me know earlier pls because i work night shift, can come only after 11pm besides off day.

Originally posted by EFN+Feb 20 2005, 21:54 -->
QUOTE (EFN @ Feb 20 2005, 21:54 )
--QuoteBegin-883
@Feb 20 2005, 21:37
GT20V, u drive ST too?

GT20V drives the fastest ST 20V in Klang Valley....period....second only to our samurai yolk.

I live not far from Wangsa Maju area too, when got time I tried to follow the blistering GT20V [/b][/quote]
wahlau........why say like this lar...........silvertop will always silvertoplah..........SLOW!

i sent my car to car modify work shop liao, they are expensive but i think its worth it! those road side one is wasting my time and money!

If the modify workshop have no experience on 20v, then u will still facing the same problem la.

please don't blame "road side" work shop, it is just that they are expert on other engine but not 20v. Even UMWT also dunno how to handle 20v...

I ever spent half a day at AMOIL few years ago and still can't get my idling problem solve (at hard brake). I guess if i was driving a VTEC machine at that time, they can easily solved the problem with one eye closed.

Yeah man... AMOIL there i think they dun really into TOyotassss... lah.... Those V tec tec they know lah. hehehe.... i sent my car there b4 but at the end of the day i got a bill which is costing me a BOMB and still cant solve my problem. Then my fren recommended me to a workshop at Sunway near NPE (sunway) tol and near SHell station. This mech is specialized in TOyota. Name of the shop is THC. :P