ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

Hi all!

Wassup sifu Yau. Thanks for all the modding advice last time.
Really owe a lot of technical knowledge to you.

Wahh.. corona club!
Mind if I tagged along? I have a corona too.. an old 1991 ST180..

Hi all!

Wassup sifu Yau. Thanks for all the modding advice last time.
Really owe a lot of technical knowledge to you.

Wahh.. corona club!
Mind if I tagged along? I have a corona too.. an old 1991 ST180..

Hi bro, nice of you to join us here; welcome.:hello:

Thank you for the kind compliment, bro.:redface: I really don't know much about anything; I just share what I know, that's all.

Pls don't say your '91 Corona is old, bro. That makes ours even much older !:bawling:

i don't think the door is a problem... just out of curiosity.... for the lower arm got how many bushing?

There are 2 bushes in the front lower arm, 1 big & 1 small but I thought you said you've changed "all" the bushes, right ? :confused:

need to ask... after changing my car's ball joints,lower arm bushes, absobers, abs mountings, power steering boot cover and rack, drive shaft cover... there is still a shaking noise from the front when going over uneven road... YYYYYYYYYYYYYY????????????? sounds like sumthing metal lose ....

hey guys how's it been, out of the loop lately n so dropped i in with some queries hehe.

just wanna ask anybody here who have 3s-ge in their st150's, how's the reliability on those engines? any issues?

also has anybody managed to completely or nearly silence those tappet noises from the 20v's?

hey guys how's it been, out of the loop lately n so dropped i in with some queries hehe.

just wanna ask anybody here who have 3s-ge in their st150's, how's the reliability on those engines? any issues?

also has anybody managed to completely or nearly silence those tappet noises from the 20v's?

1. What do you wanna know about the 3S-GE into ST150 ? Maybe I can answer your query. What do mean by "issues" ? I think it really depends on "who" gets the job done, by that I mean your mechanic. If he's a competent mechanic, no issues should arise from this simple job.

And if you're really interested in this project,:listen: my old ST183 3S-GE (with dashboard, air cond etc) is for sale.

2. I don't think there's any way that you can completely silence those "tappet" noise, bro coz that is not the "tappet" sound in the first place. I was told that it's the noise from the intake cam pulley (VVT functioning).

So if you replace the intake cam pulley with an adjustable pulley & run on after market cams, then I think probably the sound will no longer exist.

1. What do you wanna know about the 3S-GE into ST150 ? Maybe I can answer your query. What do mean by "issues" ? I think it really depends on "who" gets the job done, by that I mean your mechanic. If he's a competent mechanic, no issues should arise from this simple job.

And if you're really interested in this project,:listen: my old ST183 3S-GE (with dashboard, air cond etc) is for sale.

2. I don't think there's any way that you can completely silence those "tappet" noise, bro coz that is not the "tappet" sound in the first place. I was told that it's the noise from the intake cam pulley (VVT functioning).

So if you replace the intake cam pulley with an adjustable pulley & run on after market cams, then I think probably the sound will no longer exist.

Sry i wasnt specific, i meant like the engine itself, are they as reliable/durable as erm, 4A-GE's? I knw only the 1S-LU and, i have to say, those things are darn reliable.:biggrin:

The tappet noise i was refering to is during idle and revs below 2500rpm, or it could be only my 20v sounds like a Daihatsu Delta truck:rolleyes:

If im not mistaken, when vvt engage it makes a "cricket" like sound right? i noticed that sound when i climb hills or when i stress the engine a bit. Not sure if its the vvt or something else.

By the way, can pm me the price ur selling the 3s?

yup i did change the lower arm bushings... two also... big n small... both sides.... but u remember bout the mec i said that has the same car?... what became fishy to me was coincidently he was changing his bushing too... so don't know if he put my bushing or changed my lower arm with his... no way of knowin.....:banghead:

Sry i wasnt specific, i meant like the engine itself, are they as reliable/durable as erm, 4A-GE's? I knw only the 1S-LU and, i have to say, those things are darn reliable.:biggrin:

The tappet noise i was refering to is during idle and revs below 2500rpm, or it could be only my 20v sounds like a Daihatsu Delta truck:rolleyes:

If im not mistaken, when vvt engage it makes a "cricket" like sound right? i noticed that sound when i climb hills or when i stress the engine a bit. Not sure if its the vvt or something else.

By the way, can pm me the price ur selling the 3s?

1. In terms of reliablity, the 3S-GE is just as reliable; if not better than the 4A-GE, honestly. Smaller capacity engines always have to work harder.

2. Yes, I understood the sound you were refering too & I meant that.

3. The "cricket" sound is known as "pinging" or some call it "knocking", has nothing to do with your tappet nor VVT engaging. It has to do with your ignition timing.

4. Will call you by phone, regarding my 3S engine tonight. You still having the same number, Naz ? 019-xxx1340, right ?

1. In terms of reliablity, the 3S-GE is just as reliable; if not better than the 4A-GE, honestly. Smaller capacity engines always have to work harder.

2. Yes, I understood the sound you were refering too & I meant that.

3. The "cricket" sound is known as "pinging" or some call it "knocking", has nothing to do with your tappet nor VVT engaging. It has to do with your ignition timing.

4. Will call you by phone, regarding my 3S engine tonight. You still having the same number, Naz ? 019-xxx1340, right ?

1. I see, well dats good, and i guess its true, larger engine are reliable (to a certain point) then smaller ones.

3. How to adjust the timing? by adjusting the dizzy is it?

1. I see, well dats good, and i guess its true, larger engine are reliable (to a certain point) then smaller ones.

"certain point" meaning ? I don't know if you're refering to its limit but everything has its limitations. I'm saying like why need a bigger capacity engine if 660 cc engine can do the job ? It's not about how much faster a bigger engine can go but the ease of doing the same job. You get what I mean ?

3. How to adjust the timing? by adjusting the dizzy is it?

Yup, at the dizzy, bro.

Yah, I understand what u meant, sry i guess what i meant was, strictly about the reliability in normal usage. Yes, 3S-GE's are not well-known to go hi-reving as the 4A-GE's are. But as i found out, they're as "bullet proof" as a 4A-GE is.:proud:

Is there reference to how i should set the dizzy angle? Since u said last time abt the knocking, i now notice got some real knocking (before i even adjust) sound like iswara carbie tak larat but very faint.

Hi bros! Greeting to everyone, especially to bro '2 Old 2 Rusty'... It's been for quite some time since August 2007 that I visited this Coronarians forum. Huh, what can I say, project postponed. But now, the project is 'alive' again. Now in the process of searching for suitable 'cut' to replace the old engine, absorbers, etc, re-build the whole body of the AT151, already hv the front grill, a set of ae101 seats. Hopefully this time, no more postponement! If possible, i'll put photos of the project starting from the beginning until the end (not a promise, hehehe). Too many sweet memories with the car, that's the main reason of this project. Pray for my success bros! :adore:

Hi all... Just a lil' bit of somethin' 'bout de' above project. Got me an AE111 Blacktop 5 Speed halfcut from LEVIN BZG with the help of me brother-in-law. He got it from Kepong. Need some clarification from bro '2 Old 2 Rusty' and all sifus here. Do I hv to mod the mounting to mount the engine on the AT151? Izzit possible to install the dashboard of the 'cut' on the AT151? Izzit possible to use back all the abs that comes with the 'cut'? What else do I hv to concentrate on b4 installing the engine? Appreciate Ur help and advice bros. Peace.

Yah, I understand what u meant, sry i guess what i meant was, strictly about the reliability in normal usage. Yes, 3S-GE's are not well-known to go hi-reving as the 4A-GE's are. But as i found out, they're as "bullet proof" as a 4A-GE is.:proud:

Is there reference to how i should set the dizzy angle? Since u said last time abt the knocking, i now notice got some real knocking (before i even adjust) sound like iswara carbie tak larat but very faint.

I don't know about the exact dizzy angle coz everyone seems to have a different angle. :listen: For me, it's trial & error coz i tried adjusting till there's no pinging but at the same time, no power also wor....

Do I hv to mod the mounting to mount the engine on the AT151?
For the timing belt side, use the mounting from the cut. It's bolt on type. Gear box side should be the same & needs no alteration. Cross member should also need some minor mod but I'm not very sure coz mine's auto & auto gearbox have different mountings from the manual.

Izzit possible to install the dashboard of the 'cut' on the AT151?
Yes, it can be fitted with some trimming work.

Izzit possible to use back all the abs that comes with the 'cut'?
If super strut shox, I don't think so. Lower arms will not fit, anti-roll bar will not fit...:hmmmm:what else... I can't remember so much offhand. Anything you need to know, just ask, k. I'd be glad to help.:biggrin:

hi guy..here my corona still under construct...here some picture........

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3204/3150307760_f84096c331.jpg
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3103/3150307720_3ea037e4ff.jpg

if u have any idea for my corona...u cant give for me for next project...hehehe

Bump: hi metarubzg,i want to see your corona picture.....cant see it??

Bump: hi metaru_bzg,i want to see your corona picture.....cant see it??

I super strut shox, I don't think so. Lower arms will not fit, anti-roll bar will not fit...:hmmmm:what else... I can't remember so much offhand. Anything you need to know, just ask, k. I'd be glad to help.:biggrin:[/QUOTE]

If the struts can't fit, do you hv any suggestions for the suspension system? Appreciate your suggestion very much. Any forumers who wants to suggest, you are most welcome. Thanx a lot bros...

The super struts will fit the Ae101/111 but it's a nightmare for those who've them fitted. Finding replacement shox & lower arm bushings is difficult.

So I suggest you go for the normal / adjustables AE101/111 shox for ease of maintenance, bro. The absorber mountings, use back the Corona's.

I don't know about the exact dizzy angle coz everyone seems to have a different angle. :listen: For me, it's trial & error coz i tried adjusting till there's no pinging but at the same time, no power also wor....

Yeah, that's what happen to me too. Nw i reset back to ori angle, let my mech do lah, takut ruin my rather good FC hehe.

Bump: hi metaru_bzg,i want to see your corona picture.....cant see it??

Sure can bro, check out my cardomain: http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2348376:hello:

i hope u all don't mind... but there is a few other ppl looking for corona owner... so i invited them here....:biggrin:

Bump: i hope u all don't mind... but there is a few other ppl looking for corona owner... so i invited them here....:biggrin: