SR3 Track Day 05052005

Crash

We had a swell day for what was the inaugral track day for the Satria R3s. Sharing the track with some fast Porsches, Lotus Elises, one or two Evos, an Integra DC-5 and a Scooby, the seven SR3s that made it that day had lots of kick-ass fun! Highlights were definitely a ride with Djan in the R3 Elise. If you want a definition of 'being one with the car', Djan + the Elise says it all. Also got to ride 'the Bitch' - the development SR3, car #0 with new bumpsteer kit, bushings, steering spacer and yummy short-shifter. At the adept hands of Faisal, the SR3 development machine deftly made its way around SIC, as neutral as they may come. Comes to show that it is the driver that counts! No other reason why we fought presumeably a lot understeer, braked too late, missed gears (hahahah) and taking the wrong lines. Not forgetting the problems maneuvering Turn 9. Ouch.

All in all a great day. Official pics and report from Amin of R3 to come.

P/S: What's going on with ZTH? Been acting weird!

Crash,
Glad to hear everyone had fun in Sepang now we gotta wait patiently till F1 is over before being able to head in again. Hahahahah yeah turn 9 ... under under under <_< LSD LSD LSD :P :lol:

Yes, everyone did. Can't wait for the next one. Hahah..backside itchy already. The first round was a bit tough methinks. For one, we were not familiar with the circuit. Was fighting understeer at the tight corners. As we went along, things got better by reducing entry speed then powering out of the corners.

I have to say the brakes are top-class! No signs of fade whatsoever. Excellent bite all the way. Thumbs up! The Yokos held well and the trusty 4G93P didn't explode (which is a good thing! hahahah. Just kidding). Clutch was slipping towards the end, but Djan did reveal that it isn't really the clutch, but a blue pump of sorts, which is located at the gearbox which expands when too hot. A MMC variant would solve the problem. Anyone has info on this? Faisal?

Fun, fun, fun!

Crash,
Actually you got a ride in the "Slut", Car #0. That's the one everyone and his bro has driven... haha.. It's our developement car. The one used to try out new things.

Last Satday it had
1)Harder bushes and engine mounts all round
2)Quik shifter
3)60mm Steering Wheel spacer
4) Bumpsteer kit

Pics will be up at http://groups.msn.com/RaceRallyResearch before the end of the day.

The slut was good. Extremely stable and neutral at the bends. Really nice. Can't wait for the R3 kits!

HI Vern..

Sorry I couldn't make it on Saturday, as I had a cousin's wedding to attend. Great to hear that you all had fun!

Turn 9? Dive in hard on the brakes, it's the only and entertaining way!!! :P

/adian

Originally posted by adian@Feb 7 2005, 12:21
HI Vern..

Sorry I couldn't make it on Saturday, as I had a cousin's wedding to attend. Great to hear that you all had fun!

/adian
hey AD,

I was wondering where the Head of Special Projects was at our inaugural mass deflowering of SR3s. The 2nd most important man from R3 was missing! Would have been good to see you there, but there will be next time definitely!

We had loads of fun. Will try and post some detailed comments/feedback on the car.

Where's everyone else? All off for hols?

Shaun,

The slut was extremely tight alright! You should have been there bro. It was quite a sight with all the SR3s in a row. Nice. Well, make sure your ass is there at the next track day ;)

Originally posted by adian@Feb 7 2005, 12:21
HI Vern..

/adian
oh yeah i forgot...my "twin"'s wedding rite? :lol:
anyway Saturday was definately fun...here are the pics from my cam: http://photobucket.com/albums/v82/sousuke/R3 :)

Guys,

Glad those that showed up enjoyed your day. You guys were diciplined to "feel" your way, increasing speeds as you familiarised yourselfs. (Unlike some fella in a Grey Elise who spunned trying to outcorner one of the Satrias.. haha)

Those lucky enuff to get a ride with Djan in the Elise were grinning like Chesire cats after their rides. I'm sorry if a few of you missed out in riding da "slut". Just ran out of time towards the end. There's always next time.

And the nasi lemak we had at Dengkil after that was brutal.. I slept for 4 hrs after I got home.

Our next R3 Track Day should be 16th April. Hopefully by that time can get at least 12 Satria R3s. Those who just got their cars should have them run in by then. No excuses this time. ha haaa hahaa (evil laughter)

Here's my little personal account:

It was an absolutely thrilling and educational experience to say the least. It was my first time at Sepang although no stranger to track days (I miss BT3!). My car just hit 5,000kms but was as eager as I was to burn some serious rubber.

There is nothing majorly wrong with the car. It has pace and acceleration is commendable. Mid-range to top end power/torque is good as demonstrated with a pretty quick 165km/h on the pit straight before the tricky 2nd-gear Turn 1. The only quirk where engine performance is concerned is at the low-end, which lacks some punch. This is also influenced by the gearing which is awkward when downshifting from 3rd to 2nd. I found, perhaps to my inexperience of the track, that at 2nd gear corners, it the car was either suffering from too low an rpm at 3rd, or too high in 2nd gear. This was especially true at the dreaded Turn 9, which took me many laps before I could get it at least somewhat right. I believe car No.9 actually spun here after his self-admitted jerky heel-and-toe technique upset the balance of the car.

Throttle modulation is no doubt key in this sense, but I find the gearing here a weakness.

Handling-wise, the SR3 remained neutral throughout, with very little roll, which instills a lot of confidence on a tricky track like Sepang. Most of us fought understeer due to too much entry speed, not due to the geometry nor dynamics of the car. Over-enthusiasm on the approach certainly brought much headache trying to power out later. This was however rectified after a couple of laps with Djan in the Elise, which helped me sort out the proper gears, approach technique and cornering lines. The 2nd round of laps proved to be a big improvement, although hampered later by a rather slipping clutch after some laps.

A clutch upgrade is certainly something to look at here.

Steering feel was excellent throughout the session despite the bouts with understeer on some turns. Direct and honest, to put it in words.

If there was one thing the SR3 REALLY excelled in was the braking. WOW. With no apparent signs of fade AT ALL, we could all brake really late (which explains the understeer! hahaha) without worrying that we'd end up in the gravel. The braking system really, really did a splendid job of stopping the car where it mattered. Hats off here.

All in all, a fun-filled day. This is what the SR3 was made for, and for that matter, the principal reason why I bought the SR3 in the first place. I look forward to more track sessions to not only be a better driver, but ultimately to be 'one with the car'.

The ride with 'The Bitch' was awesome too, with expert Faisal at the helm. No words to describe the smoothness of the delivery and the confidence at the corners. The SR3 seemed like it was born at the track, which is great to say the least. Very neutral handling and a confident drive. The chassis screams give me a bigger engine, but for now, sufficient to satisfy.

One thing I did notice while in the Elise + The Bitch with Djan and Faisal respectively was the toe-and-toe technique. I always thought that I was cheating by doing that and recently switched to a heel-and-toe which is still dodgy to say the least. Now that it is 'acceptable' I'm gonna switch back. Much easier in actual fact, and smoother too. :)

By the way, much thanks to Djan and Faisal for the rides and the important pointers + advice. Cheers guys!

i got to rite the "slut" but i missed the ride w/ Djan in the Elise :( anyway at least i get to fully test & feel the car before i go off...hope to have another session whenever i come back :D

crash: wrong guy lah...car no 9 is me...yunus was the one who spun...car no 13 IIRC ;)

Sorry guys...pictures will have to wait till late tomorrow my thumbdrive got corrupted and the file I brought home are useless. Will get it up as soon as possible ok.

Thank you all for making R3's first track day a very happening one! Wish could spend more time chatting. I have to say...you guys are the most disciplined lot I've seen on track, keep it up!

I hope all had fun riding with Djan and Faisal, for those who missed it - we'll try to make more time on the next track day. Faisal and myself have plans for the next track day, its definitely going to be better and we're hoping more will turn up!

Thanks again guys and appologies for the delay.

Amin

Thanks for the great day, guys! By the next track day we should convoy down to Klang to get replacement tyres after the session :P

Having the chance to let loose on such an awesome handling car really satisfies your need for speed. On the drive home for balik kampung, I just didn't have the mood to break the speed limit anymore despite being ajak'd by a few Wira/Satria/Iswara bising. Talk about satisfaction on track!

Originally posted by Amin@Feb 7 2005, 19:24
Sorry guys...pictures will have to wait till late tomorrow my thumbdrive got corrupted and the file I brought home are useless. Will get it up as soon as possible ok.

Thank you all for making R3's first track day a very happening one! Wish could spend more time chatting. I have to say...you guys are the most disciplined lot I've seen on track, keep it up!

I hope all had fun riding with Djan and Faisal, for those who missed it - we'll try to make more time on the next track day. Faisal and myself have plans for the next track day, its definitely going to be better and we're hoping more will turn up!

Thanks again guys and appologies for the delay.

Amin
No worries mate! Many thanks to R3 for making this possible. We all had fun! Perhaps next time round we can make time to have a one-to-one session to critique our lovely driving around the track? Makes us better drivers I bet :)

Cheers! Happy CNY to those celebrating! Drive safe balik kampung ok?

Actually Verne..

It's just called the "heel-and-toe" technique, but how one actually implements it need not necessarily literally be "Heel-and-Toe". In the good old 20s when they race thos old bombs, you can imagine that the pedals on those beasts must've been huge and awkwardly placed, which is why "enthusiastic" drivers old the day came up with the heel-and-toe technique. These days, not many drivers really practise it. I do tho, simply because I'm comfortable doing it. But to each his own, and how you hone your style and developed the finesse is up to you.

As for the understeer, it'll magically disappear if/when:
a) you brake earlier and turn-in slower
B) you gain in skill and learn how to turn-in on the brakes and slide the rear of the car around.

Just takes practise, but the SR3 is the best car to learn it in!

/adian

Write your reply...