Speed sensor for Proton.

m a v [3] r i c k

9,000 RPM
Not sure if this is the correct place to post this topic. If its not, please move it to the right one :p
I have trouble tapping the speed reading from my car.
Need to ask, to those RSM/Speed meter users, where do you tap the signal from?
I tried tapping them from the ECU but there was no reading. Was told that Proton gearbox does not have speed sensor. Hence no signal to the ECU.
Some said I will have to buy an additional add-on gadget to tap the reading from the mechanical speed meter cable.
Some said the meter from lancer dashboard has a wire that gives out speed signal. Not sure if GTi one has it. Anyone have any idea?
I'm lost.
Some info on my ride, running on vr4 220 with 4G15 gearbox and GTi dash meter. So where should I tap the reading from? ECU is a definite failure. Just need to connect a speed reading wire from my turbo timer to fully utilize its functions.
Please help. Many thanks :regular_smile:

i thought i have told u last time .. signal from mechanical meter if ori wira 1.5 carb meter .. if like putra im not sure if no out put sensor there.. go add a sensor in sunway lo..rm1xx only la..give only la...no problem la..better than i waste rm60 and check 3 time in AMOIL ..they do nothing once i go to Exceed cool beside N1..1.30hours done , change new gear wiring , sensor . .and rsm set..=) and it ok ..im riding a vr4220 why not .. ? try la..pay nmore la..dont kiam siat ask and ask just do it !

bertdeen30,
Yeah you told me last time but I'm sorting for cheaper alternative. As you know, yours is 1.5 carburettor wiring. Mine is 1.6 injection wiring. There might be differences.

In fact RM100+ is quite a lot. Maybe you were born a multi millionaire who is still driving a Proton. I'm not. No harm asking here first. There might be members who knows how to do it at cheaper cost.

You see why you wasted RM60 and had to go to Amoil for 3 times? It's because you don't ask for help in the first place. I know Ah Loo in Ex-Cool. But why waste the money if you can do it on your own?

As yourself said, you don't know if Putra/GTi meter has the signal output or not. I do not either. So I'm asking those who knows. If there is a signal output, there is no need to waste the money. I can do it on my own.

Kiam siap or not, its still money afterall. :emoticon_U:

e whether it's useing sensor or not, just look at ur gearbox...if there's a cable, then no sensor...if there some device that got 3 wire, then it's the sensor...

howiechoo,
The thing is, from what I know (I could be wrong) proton gearbox does not have speed sensor and yet I see people install RSM/Digital Speed meter and it works. Just need to know how they make it work. You have it? :regular_smile:

I couldn't remember what the wire colour now but lasttime during my DIY, you'll need to tap one to ECU (refer to installation diagram and you won't go wrong) and there is one speedsensor behind your analogue speedometer near the jarum ...at first i tapped also can't get reading after that found that sensor was faulty...replace it, get from Proton, original cost about RM30++ only..

U'll need to tap both of the wire else if just one at either one side (ECU or meter panel your RSM won't run)....

Btw, it was on 4G93 Proton. VR-4 should be same also...

If still cannot PM me...i will charge you installing for you hahahaha.....:P

Good luck to you :)

g88 said:
I couldn't remember what the wire colour now but lasttime during my DIY, you'll need to tap one to ECU (refer to installation diagram and you won't go wrong) and there is one speedsensor behind your analogue speedometer near the jarum ...at first i tapped also can't get reading after that found that sensor was faulty...replace it, get from Proton, original cost about RM30++ only..

U'll need to tap both of the wire else if just one at either one side (ECU or meter panel your RSM won't run)....

Btw, it was on 4G93 Proton. VR-4 should be same also...

If still cannot PM me...i will charge you installing for you hahahaha.....:P

Good luck to you :)

2 wires? :omg_smile:
My timer only has 1 wire for the speed reading. So how? Split to 2? also what sensor were u talking about? the one at the gearbox? or at the meteR?

m a v [3] r i c k said:
2 wires? :omg_smile:
My timer only has 1 wire for the speed reading. So how? Split to 2? also what sensor were u talking about? the one at the gearbox? or at the meteR?

if you check RSM wiring manual there are TWO speed wire. One for input, one for output.

The one tab from ECU will be as output wire for RSM and tab from from analogue speedometer's sensor will be input wire to RSM

AM NOT TALKING about Gearbox sensor la....:baring_teeth: geram oredi hehehe....

howiechoo said:
maybe there's a sensor at the meter panel there..try to look for it at ur meter there.......

not maybe....it's CONFIRM unless the previous SGTi owner remove the sensor (meter will still run) or sensor spoiled.

The sensor look like a switch..

aduh im also pening already. but i think my wire should go to the meter (input). maybe the output wire for RSM is to remove the speedcut.

g88,
you have any pics of the switch behind the meter? is it inside the dashboard or behind the meter? what i know is there are 2 big sockets behind the meter and one speedometer cable. didnt notice any switch or something that looks like a switch.

mine is BLITZ FATT..my mech tapped one wire to ECU 4g92p std engine..can read the speed sensor...it's shows 2 speed i.e on FATT - 110 km/h when speedo meter at 100km/h something like that..and sometime the FATT run giler maybe the sensor giler too...

m a v [3] r i c k said:
aduh im also pening already. but i think my wire should go to the meter (input). maybe the output wire for RSM is to remove the speedcut.

g88,
you have any pics of the switch behind the meter? is it inside the dashboard or behind the meter? what i know is there are 2 big sockets behind the meter and one speedometer cable. didnt notice any switch or something that looks like a switch.

I can't really recall now wire to ecu and meter which is in which is out but i can confirmed there are TWO wire la...

Didn't too the meter photo lasttime...if u have your u post up i can point you the location of the speedo sensor on the meter panel...errr..switch is like a knob...

miveccom said:
mine is BLITZ FATT..my mech tapped one wire to ECU 4g92p std engine..can read the speed sensor...it's shows 2 speed i.e on FATT - 110 km/h when speedo meter at 100km/h something like that..and sometime the FATT run giler maybe the sensor giler too...

your car is auto? if it is, maybe they have speed sensor. manual gbox, i dont think so.

g88,
yeah i have the meter panel with me (a 1.5 injection one) will post up the pic ASAP.

brader,
sorry for late reply. I dun seem to locate the speed sensor from the 1.5 meter panel you posted. Can open it up and snap the photo ar :p

Open up? :retarded:
Better not man. In case anything go wrong.
Whats the colour of the switch btw? Where is it located? Maybe you can circle the place and I'll try to see if its there or not. :regular_smile:

m a v [3] r i c k said:
your car is auto? if it is, maybe they have speed sensor. manual gbox, i dont think so.

g88,
yeah i have the meter panel with me (a 1.5 injection one) will post up the pic ASAP.

manual g/b..auto meter..