Speaker on door

SKY999

i got a very simply n stupid question to ask here..... normaly how u guys or ur installer pasang ur speaker on ur door ?? are they cover the back part of the speaker ??? if not cover by anythg,if raining the water will kena the speaker, wont it spoilt the speaker in a long period? how about built a small boxes like we did for our sub ??

plz giv ur comment and suggestion plz......

no quesitons are stupid.

usually there are rubber seal on your window to prevent water to enter through your door.

you can build an enclosures for the mids but it wont be easy. Normally ppl will go for fiberglasses because of its flexibility in shapes.

usually we use a piece of PVC lining fixed onto the mdf baffle we use to mount the aftermarket speakers in the door. however this doesnt protect against moisture, over time both the mdf baffle gets soft & out of shape, and some parts of the speaker gets rusted....

what to do......tropical climate :mad:

appleyard,
actually i'm driving an old 70's car n my upper rubber are in not good shape n water keep dripping for window... i had try to cover the speaker back with plastic sheet but seem not sound nice.....now,i'm using a custom fiber cover for my speaker ( somethg like a subbox or enclose tht u mention)but i got limited space and can't make it big. so now my front component sound like too tight/bass really weird whn beating..... try figure out any solution about tht....

zenn, how the pvc lining tht u mention look like ?? do u hav any pic ?? plan to see see and get some idea about it..... thanx

those are called 'umbrella'....

some use pvc pipes some use pvc cloth,
anything that protect the speaker from water dripping is good enough

sky, u can add thick mdf wood to make the speaker outer. then u have more rear
space for bigger fiber enclosure. wrap the wood with leather so it wont look too bad.
screw the wood directly onto ur door panel.

artnet said:
sky, u can add thick mdf wood to make the speaker outer. then u have more rear
space for bigger fiber enclosure. wrap the wood with leather so it wont look too bad.
screw the wood directly onto ur door panel.

haha,i'm using 1' mdf wood already ....... i had full use of the space i got already.... and my enclose diameter 6.5' x 3 or 4' height. its still not big enough for me yet:(

calvin,pvc pipe or clothes also can ?? no idea how u going put it on leh..... plz explain more,ok ?

SKY999 said:
haha,i'm using 1' mdf wood already ....... i had full use of the space i got already.... and my enclose diameter 6.5' x 3 or 4' height. its still not big enough for me yet:(

calvin,pvc pipe or clothes also can ?? no idea how u going put it on leh..... plz explain more,ok ?

U can put pvc cloth behind the mdf baffle to protect the speaker from water. as for moisture, I do think that u can use grease or something oily to prevent moisture. But u have to make sure that the metal part are totally dry before applying. Other solution is by using silicon (the one usually use for artificial flowers)

Iswara,
thanx for ur comment... ok, if i put a pvc clothes behind and cover my speaker. when the speaker sing or bass bit.... wont hav vibration n produces any sound ??

Guys,
Will this help?

http://www.autotoys.com/x/catalog/Speakers_Woofers_SPEAKER_BAFFLES__DAMPING_SPEAKER_PRODUCTS_page_1_c_561.html

thanx cacin, i got a custom made one already.... but not sound nice... wonder any other solution about it . thanx anyway :)

So, you have custom made one already. If the sound not that nice, is it because of the volume of your enclosure? The speakers that you are using is component? Since components has a midbass speakers, so, I believe that they should also have the correct enclosure volume. Just like your woofer. However, this is just my newbie opinion though.

actually i have this worry too as i'm planning to get a good pair of 6.5inch speakers for the doors.

also, i have thought of this...instead of installing the speakers onto the doors, how about i get a sort of speaker console and install it just underneath the dashboard on both sides with the speakers facing the listeners??

anyone know where to get this?? or custom make this?

a bit hard to drive, would get in the way of feet reaching the pedals....right?

nuggyn said:
actually i have this worry too as i'm planning to get a good pair of 6.5inch speakers for the doors.

also, i have thought of this...instead of installing the speakers onto the doors, how about i get a sort of speaker console and install it just underneath the dashboard on both sides with the speakers facing the listeners??

anyone know where to get this?? or custom make this?

it's called kick panel. If you have big cars, you might have the space. However, I did see on a malaysian mag where they custom a kick panel on a jazz or getz. It will/might block the accellerator and you can only use small sized speakers for that kick panel.

yeah, i just realised today that the driver side doesn't have space for the kick panel.

hehehehe!!