Sound proofing to reduce tyre noise

stargate

Oct 15, 2004
The noise that I don't like especially driving on the road eg Federal Highway towards Subang. I also noticed those Plus highway with cement will generate a lot of noise.

Any soundproofing material specially for the wheel arch ?

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
use superlon on ur wheel arc... 10mm will do...

u need to jack up ur car then remove de plactic arc cover.. clean it with damp cloth then stick superlon on it... (de superlon facing inside ur fender....)

stargate

Oct 15, 2004
So how much noise reduction (%) can I expect just by sticking superlon on the wheel arch only?

R3l3orN

Oct 10, 2004
Kepong, KL
I faced the same prob oso w/ my satria...........the tyres' sound damn noisy

use superlon on ur wheel arc... 10mm will do...

u need to jack up ur car then remove de plactic arc cover.. clean it with damp cloth then stick superlon on it... (de superlon facing inside ur fender....)
Mr. KHGuan, can u explain in more details.............thanks thanks

g88

Jan 28, 2004
what car you driving ? What tyre you using as well ?

phat7

May 21, 2004
Why dont ya get the complete car installed with sound dampening material. Material used is of automotive spec with warranty against any defects ects plus it carries a product liability insurance which is very important to the consumer. PM me for further details. For more info check this out--->

http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/index....showtopic=36597

DJThoRmented

Dec 1, 2003
tylo... sound dampening for protong cars you put how many also still bising... why i know this... coz i drive one.

superlon and insulflex would be a good choice as they are:
a) cheap
B) light

other brands especially dynamat and brown bread will make your car heavy... why i say this again coz i have it. a role of 9 sqft or insulflex may weigh around as same as 4 pieces of dynamat 4 sqft. that's why i only use dynamat for doors (but hey... not yet tampal... got to send car for "urut" first).

only down thing about insulflex is the thickness... how to do my floor... i also still pening but the changes were alot when i sticked it at my lugguage compartment no more rattling sound ;)

try solving one part first and see the difference then choose your product ;)

kevyeoh

Nov 15, 2004
guy,
sorry, but i don't understand...how to fix superlon at wheel arc?
from outside or inside?

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Originally posted by R3l3orN@Dec 26 2004, 00:56
Currently, i m driving a Satria........Front 2 goodyear's tyres.........n rear 2 sime's tyres.......thanks :D
I suggest you to change to more quite tires first.

when life begins ...its so beautiful....a new relationship...a new blossom....out of which ...a new life birth forth
children indeed are gift from above

then we would be planning to buy a new house, new ride...

brand new ride

brand new ........hologram too...