Some issues.

jaydee

Need some feedbacks on this issue I'm been monitoring:

1) Engine oil level seem to drop.
Checked the dipstick, realised it drops 1-2mm after 5 days of driving, boosting once a while.
Have been topping up (1/3 of a litre at once) every 2 weeks.

2) Water level in reservoir (for radiator) drops after driving for 5 days.
Been topping up every week.
Checked the Radiator, level is always full.

Extra related info + other items I've did in the last 6 months to try to fix this.

1) Compression test - perfect - all 4 pistons perfectly same reading
2) Complete Top Overhaul including metal head gasket. (including rocker cover seals etc..)
3) Repair Kit + Change shaft for the turbine.
4) Flushed Radiator.

There are no visible leaks anywhere looking at the engine bay. Always checking on the common places as I'm paranoid to oil leaks. Always clean around the engine all the time, spraying motul parts cleaner here and there, wiping around just to monitor if there are leaks at specific places etc...
Other than that, no performance drop issues or mechanical issues anywhere. It runs very smoothly anytime of the day, no temperature rise etc...

Dear Sifu's and Vin Diesels, I need some feedbacks and your experience.
What else could be done or be checked? Thank you in advance. :driver:

Bump: I knew it... not many ppl can answer this... very isolated case... :rolleyes:

how much are u boosting bro......
oil viscocity?
coolant used?
have u ever removed the pistons during top overhaul to check the rings?
cylinder wall?
most imporant rings age the second and oil rings.........
got alot of air coming out from breather nozzle at valve cover?

happened to me....

1) Engine oil level seem to drop.

turn out i have a leaky rocker cover gasket

2) Water level in reservoir (for radiator) drops after driving for 5 days.
Been topping up every week.
Checked the Radiator, level is always full.
happened only 1 time... now its ok... until now dunno what when wrong :hmmmm: ... but some say it's my water pump behaving erratically

thanks jaydee for starting this thread... really wanna investigate the 2nd issue

FYI, i'm using Mira L5 4cyl turbo engine :love:

Thanks for replies and feedback guys.

Turbomaster1 :
My boost is quite low, max boost 1 bar, low boost 0.8 bar
I'm actually using motul semi synth 10-40
For the coolent I'm using the motul coolant, but I don't think its has much to do with the coolant?

About the piston & cylinder wall, you could be right, because I myself have been wanting to open and check those for quite some time now...
But the fact that I got a tip from someone if there is really something wrong there, the compression won't show exact perfect figures for all 4 pistons - please correct me if I'm wrong.

At the breather nozzle, I don't use oil catch. I have a pipe going to nowhere.
I've to check later whether alot of air coming out from it. :)
Does this show anything?

Papa:
I don't think its my water pump. I changed to a brand new one last year. :)
Rocker cover I don't think so. I changed the seal twice this year! Because I thought it was the rocker cover, now its super clean..

To add to that, sometimes there's water coming out from the reservoir when I stop the car, I just assume thats nothing, because I may put too much water in there. :hmmmm:

Turbomaster1 :
For the coolent I'm using the motul coolant, but I don't think its has much to do with the coolant?

About the piston & cylinder wall, you could be right, because I myself have been wanting to open and check those for quite some time now...
But the fact that I got a tip from someone if there is really something wrong there, the compression won't show exact perfect figures for all 4 pistons - please correct me if I'm wrong.

Does this show anything?

Engine oil vapour and water vapour in the valve cover come out together through the breather nozzle. U can try DIY a oil catch and observe if there are alot of oil. But I don;t think 1/2 bottles in 2 weeks. However, piston rings could be possible, but please observe ur exhaust regarding this issue. Should see white smoke if major. Of minor, can smell burning engine oil.

Papa:
Rocker cover I don't think so. I changed the seal twice this year! Because I thought it was the rocker cover, now its super clean..

To add to that, sometimes there's water coming out from the reservoir when I stop the car, I just assume thats nothing, because I may put too much water in there. :hmmmm:

Regarding the water pump. Could it be the radiator cover.? or over flow in the reservoir. If over filled, it acts like a sifon.

Thanks dude.....
But still looking at the compression test, it doesn't seem like there's a problem there? :hmmmm:

Still need to know whether after compression test shows all piston same perfect reading, can there still be problems with the pistons, ring etc?

Thanks dude.....
But still looking at the compression test, it doesn't seem like there's a problem there? :hmmmm:

Still need to know whether after compression test shows all piston same perfect reading, can there still be problems with the pistons, ring etc?

Yes.... It doesn't seems to have problem with your compression if all pistons have the same reading. Unless coincidently, 4 piston rings wear off exactly the same pattern. If so, u may wanna try a wet compression test to see if the reading increases compare to the dry compression test.

Turbomaster1 :

Does this show anything?

Papa:

first issue.....cyllinder compression.....
u mentioned ur compression for all cylinders are the same and ok....how much?.....
if some oil leaks through the rings, it might seal off the damaged ring area and ur compression might go up.........so the best way is to inspect the rings and cylinder wall......
anyway wat engine are u using?.....if it is a l200 or l500, u should use 10w-30, mitsubishi 10w 40....nissan 15w-50.....

second....water level drop.....
if u have to top up always that means there is a leak prob.......do a pressure test......see if there is anyleak....if no... check ur radiator cap....if water / coolant flow out too much at normal operating temp.....ur rad cap should be stuck open.......otherwise water wont just leak out from ur spare tank.......unless u overfill ........

Turbomaster1 :

Does this show anything?

Papa:

1) oil level drop
if compression is par to specs does not mean ur rings are ok....it might be ur oil control rings.... not the compression rings......oil that goes in the combustion chamber might seal off the worn ring area....thats why u r achieving good compression......
about the type of oil.....i dunno wat engine u using.....so generally.....daihatsu 10w-30, mitsubishi 10w-40, nissan/ toyota 15w-50......
if there alot of air or gas coming out from the breather nozzle, that means there is blow by from ur cylinders.....this can cause oil level drop

2)water level drop..
you mentioned water leaks out from spare tank....might be overfill but it might be ur radiator cap stuck open.......check for anysigns of leak as welll....anywhere... do a pressure test....

i thought oil level is a normal one when drop since its a turbo, btw nice info jaydee..:beer:

^ i agree
heck even mivec also makan minyak but not as serious as this bro ...
anyway ur radiator cap berapa Bar ? 0.9 or 1.3 ? if it's 1.3 maybe u shld try and change it back to 0.9 ... still leaks ? go to a garage , jacked it up and look for water spots ...
anyway one simple question ... all this while u are using water ... did u add in coolant recently ?

Guys my engine is a GSR (4g93t)

Thanks Turbomaster, you're really a turbo master :biggrin:
I'll do a compression test again and check on my reading

And thanks for reply guys.. I know quite alot of ppl wants to know about this issue also, its nothing very major, but it might be some small issue that I hope I can solve.

liz@rd : Yup, I had coolant in my radiator and reservoir, but now the reservoir coolant gone, of course. :biggrin: But there is still coolant in the radiator. :) My radiator cap standard, 0.9, Maybe I should just change to a new one, maybe I overlooked as it has leaks or something.
Its actually not that hard to see oil leaks and coolant leaking etc... my engine bay is fairly clean... :biggrin: Have to check undearneath then.. :)

What I'm planning to do is try using 15w-50 oil if see that makes a difference.
Motul used to have them - besides, 15w-50 is not that common.
Can't find them in any Petrol stations. Prefer to get normal oil and see how is the outcome first. (as in normal Shell semi synth oil 15w-10.. anyone seen it lately?)
At the same time try compression test again. :driver:

Guys my engine is a GSR (4g93t)

Thanks Turbomaster, you're really a turbo master :biggrin:
I'll do a compression test again and check on my reading

And thanks for reply guys.. I know quite alot of ppl wants to know about this issue also, its nothing very major, but it might be some small issue that I hope I can solve.

liz@rd : Yup, I had coolant in my radiator and reservoir, but now the reservoir coolant gone, of course. :biggrin: But there is still coolant in the radiator. :) My radiator cap standard, 0.9, Maybe I should just change to a new one, maybe I overlooked as it has leaks or something.
Its actually not that hard to see oil leaks and coolant leaking etc... my engine bay is fairly clean... :biggrin: Have to check undearneath then.. :)

What I'm planning to do is try using 15w-50 oil if see that makes a difference.
Motul used to have them - besides, 15w-50 is not that common.
Can't find them in any Petrol stations. Prefer to get normal oil and see how is the outcome first. (as in normal Shell semi synth oil 15w-10.. anyone seen it lately?)
At the same time try compression test again. :driver:

hey man no problem.. dont mention.

actually if u wanna try use normal oil why not get from workshop or spare part shop.. furthermore its cheaper....for instance ........semi 15w 50 MOS oil only 70....or if u prefer to do it in the shop....tops is 85....
if u looking for mineral oil even cheaper......40-50 tops.
I heard Idemitsu is quite good and cheaper than motul.....semi is bout 95.....

anyway good luck with ur tests......hope u can find wat u have been looking for....:biggrin:

hey man no problem.. dont mention.

actually if u wanna try use normal oil why not get from workshop or spare part shop.. furthermore its cheaper....for instance ........semi 15w 50 MOS oil only 70....or if u prefer to do it in the shop....tops is 85....
if u looking for mineral oil even cheaper......40-50 tops.
I heard Idemitsu is quite good and cheaper than motul.....semi is bout 95.....

anyway good luck with ur tests......hope u can find wat u have been looking for....:biggrin:

Oh ya... of all the place I never thought of getting engine oil from spare part shop haha... :hmmmm2:
Great.. I'll check and see, then get some of those like you've mentioned, save cost abit for my tests.... :)