Seimens+bolt on+Unichip ?

zero-one

Good day to the Fellowship of Turborians!

I am currently having this problem with my car, here are the details

Engine : 4g13 + Bolt on Turbo (TD025)
Ecu : Seimens + Unichip (piggy back system)
Additional Support : FSE Fuel Pressure Regulator + SARD SubInjector

Problem : During low end, when I try to floor the car has a tough time picking up ,more like not enough fuel).... Here's the funny thing, the symptom does not happen all the time, it's not consistent which makes it hard to troubleshoot. To add, whenever I have this problem a misfire will occur later on (i don't know if this problem is related or if they are two separate issues). What's my temporary workaround? I stop the car in a mamak shop, have Teh Tarek.. and once i Get back into the car.. it's back to normal...

This is driving me up the wall :shot:... I have consulted with some of my friends and they are saying to change my ECU to a MMC ecu...

Is there really no other option then a ECU change:dontknow:?? Please Help

Hello.. Great to hear bout a 4G13 Seimens Turbo!!

Hmmmm... are you still using the sock MAP sensor?

I figured that the tuning is not done correctly. You have all the hardware and software to make it work. Just need to tune it properly. Put it on a dyno and spend some time on it. I'll work.

Thanks for replyin'....

I was begining to think that there was no hope with the silent-no-reply :) hahaha!

The MAP is stock... should i change it?

Siemen ECU with Unichip tuning problem?

Your case is most likely due to your intelligent feed back of the VDO ECU. You can find solution in furum thread: Tech. Engine Management/Monitoring for more information.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/forumdisplay.php?s=&daysprune=&f=85m .

and it should be HP Gila or who ever ..... did mentioned a stock 4G13 with Siemen ECU + few PS-PowerSport gadgets has being sucessfully turbocharged since few year ago.

Urm, so basically your MAP only reads vacumn and not boost. How did you tune the car then? RPM/TP? This does not work well with a turbo car and more so with a turbocharged NA engine. Thats why maybe your car not running smooth.

hey dude...
try rev yer car and see whether the car produce black smoke?
this is due to yer fuel pump....
if yer car can boost at normal time but sometimes jerk..
this is due to yer cars fuel management...
try sort the fuel pump buy buying a turbo fuel pump...
as n/a fuel pumps are totally different from turbo fuel pumps...
anything just pm me..

AluCarD : what's a TP ? Ermm well there car was tuned by the guys who installed the unichip. I can't change the MAP sensor to a different type, rite? Coz then the ECU would not be able to get any signals- not sure about this.. i hope i am wrong ;)

Infinity : Err.. No black smoke... It's not running rich...

Thanks for ur input guys... I am thinking of going back to the unichip place and asking them to re-do the configuration...

Will let you guys know what's the outcome :)

zero-one,

you first need to tell us your setup. How are you sensing load? you said map sensor somewhere, do you know the load range? i.e -1bar to 1bar,2bar etc.

lotsa mechs nowadays have a tail sniffer wideband o2. Plug that in and do a log and try and duplicate the failure. Does your unichip have any logging capability?

btw TP refers to throttle position.

also who tuned your piggy back? shouldn't you first go back to him/her and find out whats up with it?

Hello there dolly,

Not sure what the load is on the MAP.. thank's for explain about TP.... I am goin there again...for a re-tune.. it's just that I don't understand why the problem is not consistent.. When the problem is not cosistent.. it makes it slightly harder to replicate the problem...

Anyways, like I said in my previous posting.. that I am going back to the Tuners to have a look this problem.....

Will let all of you know the results.. thanks again for all of your inputs ! :)

Peace out!

yeah man tell me about intermittent failures! i deal with this everyday!

anyways, it'll help if you write down some parameters when this happens. stuff like engine speed, load, tp %, temperature, colour of underwear etc. I'm not familiar with your piggy back system, but if you can connect a laptop to it, do it and drive around with it for a few days.

good luck!