RX8 or RX7??

good discussions going around.Thanks to everybody who posted good info..been a while since i hit this part of ZTH.hehehehe

Talk bout tuning..I think Joshua from Millennium do a good job in tuning rotaries too.I saw him tuning a VazMaz RX-3 together with that Vazmaz owner,Edmund or somebody..nice chap.

BTW,how are you CB and others.hehehe time to get back to the RE community.
RX-8 sale is canceled,going to hold this one for sometime moree..yeeeeeepeee

it looks like i must tangkap boony in penang next trip!!

diablo - you also very busy nowadays. when are we going to catch up.

dev, when you tangkap boony, call me also :) we have a drink and some chat okay ?

to add on the explanation from Dev to Lenon, water injection is quite common in the USA. the reason they use water is because rotary engines are so damn hot inside the combustion chamber. the water gets into the combustion chamber, it cools the housing down and evaporate into steam.... when the combustion happens, it allows the fuel to be ignited at the correct time instead of any potential pre-ignition.

and the steam gets out of the chamber through normal exhaust. at the same time, steam will be also softening the dried and hardened carbon cakes. multiple blast of the high speed high pressure steam will eventually blast out the carbon of the combustion chamber thus making your engine clog free.... no need to dig nose to clear the carbons :)

That means you'll be running with water injection all the time. or turn it on when you felt like cleaning the engine?????......... Will there be any affect on AF?? What happens when there's too many water?? I always tot water in the combustion system will damage the engine....

wow..that's a lot of infos.....over 1 weekend...

thanks fellow sifus for your detail information...

hence, can i conclude that the RE's routine rebuilt is pretty much depended on the wear and tear of the engine....?

ok...talking of engine oil how many liters does it required?.....is the oil filter expensive?... and wat's the routine service interval?..5k km?

lastly...since not all models are available here...
say if one were to get a basic model?....can the mazdaspeed bodykit (most probably replica kit) be obtain easily?...

tuned said:
wow..that's a lot of infos.....over 1 weekend...

thanks fellow sifus for your detail information...

hence, can i conclude that the RE's routine rebuilt is pretty much depended on the wear and tear of the engine....?

ok...talking of engine oil how many liters does it required?.....is the oil filter expensive?... and wat's the routine service interval?..5k km?

lastly...since not all models are available here...
say if one were to get a basic model?....can the mazdaspeed bodykit (most probably replica kit) be obtain easily?...
Depends on compression........

You need 4 liters for oil change every 5k km, oil filter is very cheap..........

Replica can be found......

Lennon said:
That means you'll be running with water injection all the time. or turn it on when you felt like cleaning the engine?????......... Will there be any affect on AF?? What happens when there's too many water?? I always tot water in the combustion system will damage the engine....

Alchemis explanation is very basic but fundamentally correct. Auxilarry Injection systems like water/alky injection is recommended for turbocharged vehicles. The explanation, water does not burn. The cooling in our engine happens with fuel which is why many say rotary engines consume loads of fuel. As mentioned earlier water does not burn but instead when introduced to the combustion chamber it reduces intake temperatures and absorbs heat which in our application reduces the chances of predetonation. Rotary Engines have 2 firing sequences First Being the Leading then Trailing (this order) As intake temps increase with higher load there are very high chances of both L and T firing at the same time especially in boost areas and this will cause permanent engine damage. So water injection helps.

But what about power you may ask. If you tune your water injection system you may well advance your leading timing to take advantage of cooler intake temps but please make sure you always check water supply coz if you;ve tuned it then running boost without water may also cause damage. Alky/water 50:50 is another way to boost power but you;ve gotta tune it. Alcohol Denatured is combustible so you can pretty much gain in terms of fuel savings and power.

Water injection allows you to remove more fuel in specific fuel maps IF you tune for it. In my case its just a safety buffer i like so its not tuned. The system is manufactured by very reputable companies and cost about 1.5k to 4k depending on setup. Important to note that nozzle sizes/design, pump (safe for water and alcy) run 150psi, sensors and not your typical homemade idea. Its designed to be adjustable to vary delivery based on boost or mad reference.

That means you're running with water injection now?? Sounds very interesting indeed...... I look into an article from RX7.com.......... I want to know more about this water injection kit.....

the water injection system has been taken out to relocate nozzles and i did not want to see them tuning and dyno'ing with it. I will be reinstalling the set with new injector nozzles very shortly. *another important point - location of nozzle is important. you want nozzles to point against airflow for atomization on intake track.

Water Inj. (WI) will be standard with all turbocharged Performance Volvo's. The rx7club.com has wealth of information on WI.

rx7club.com has loads of information on water injection (home made ideas) ehehhehe.....

they use a bosch water pump.... as for noozle.. no idea... somehow i'm figuring out i wanna have a home made water injection nozzle controlled by a pressure sensor that either triggers on particular pressure or variable trigger of resistance thus making the voltage to the pump to be high or low depending on boost pressure.

or even made is easier... use a air tight container with fasterner or some locks.. slide in one tube hooked with one way check valve (to build up pressure inside the container, no escape)... then use another tube that connects at the bottom of container... with also a one way check valve for safety. then still need a noozle to fog the water out :P

physics - increase pressure, reduce volume. air is compressible :)

use a manual regulator or use a way thinner hose to increase pressure.

and you'll find a very simple home made not guarantee successful water injection also variable.... not sure 1 BAR enough to pump the water out or not :P

don't quote me... this is my idea after a few glass of red wines :) it does not necessary work :)

ideas spark inventions :) like glen rebuilds with a few can of beer.

- D i a b l o - said:
woish,itu lagi bahaya tu Boony.
lurk lurk..then pounce..wooosh

hahaha... so many people here knows so much more than me so i just look see look see, filter and asorb lor :tongwink:

phat7 said:
it looks like i must tangkap boony in penang next trip!!

anytime bro...... i'll be waiting of cousr with chun beng but he will wait till 19th Jan

I shall be random and say hello to Adrian because I haven't seen him for ages lol...anyway, keep me updated la on stuff because its so boring over here in UK =.=

Thanks to the killer insurance, no one really tune cars here, just modifications like stereo and bodykits and milo tin exhausts and lift-inducing wings and etc etc etc

Cheers

hahaha.... how is UK? sien le?...... don't go there 1 person come back 3 person oh... hahaha
should go ther 1 person come back 1 person 1 machine ok? ;)