rx7 fd owners

Originally posted by phat7+Dec 26 2004, 21:31 -->
QUOTE (phat7 @ Dec 26 2004, 21:31 )
Originally posted by gti88@Dec 25 2004, 02:15
--QuoteBegin-phat7
@Dec 21 2004, 15:47
Petrol consumption is high i must admit but compared to a car with the same performance almost the same.

Phat7,

I beg to differ, lets take an Evo 6 for example, RM 60 is around 200-240km,
but for an FD to go 200km it would need, RM 90 to do so.
an R33 GTR's full tank about RM 80-90 can do 250km. So there is a difference.

But for those who really love the FD and its design, like yourself, i guess they wouldnt mind. ;)

Hi gti88,

I really dont understand how you derived the figure of 200 km for 90 bucks? I run my car at RM50 and i get 180+km and on the highway suprisingly i get almost double. I run a stock 280ps year 2002 engine. It really scares me to think how some fd's are tuned!!! Full tank is close to RM95 for me. [/b][/quote]
got this figure from a friend in Australia.
your FD's fuel consumption is very good man compared to my friend's. ;)

hehehe. Australia different mah so many country roads to trash the car!! Which part of Aussie land is your friend at??

my friend's in melbourne, he seldom thrashes the car, just normal driving and
he says his car uses a lot of fuel, like i mentioned above. I dont know why. ^_^

okay gti88,i know where you're headed at... :angry: :angry: :angry:

dave,

it is indeed true.i hardly push the car hard and yet the consumption is really bad.and it is not really modded.just higher boost and some extra fuelling.that's it!could it be the melbourne weather?? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by Ah Pang@Dec 31 2004, 01:01
okay gti88,i know where you're headed at... :angry: :angry: :angry:

dave,

it is indeed true.i hardly push the car hard and yet the consumption is really bad.and it is not really modded.just higher boost and some extra fuelling.that's it!could it be the melbourne weather?? :lol: :lol: :lol:
I would have to say your bad fuel consumption would be due to higher fuel pressure with your FSE FPR and also your plugs at 10 & 11 heat rating which are not known for good combustion during normal driving. This heat rating will not provide clean burn so you will be pumping in fuel that is not being completely burnt = inefficiency = high fuel consumption = less power for normal driving.

Plugs at that rating are absolutely excellent when thrashing your car on the highway or at the track but thats about it. The best compromise IMO is to run 8 & 9s for normal street driving/thrashing your RX.

I typically see RM90 to RM100 = 350km for regular and sometimes spirited street driving without traffic jams. On the highway all the time without thrashing it but steady cruising I see about 500-550km!

The rotary engine given its design (i.e. narrow combustion chamber) is less efficient in terms of fuel consumption when compared against a piston engine but I agree with phat7 if your car is tuned correctly mileage is reasonable for a high performance car like the RX-7.

Would like to share my old skool 12A N/A carb consumption.

RM29 for 200kms at highway speed constantly driving 120-140km/h. Urban use for work and return RM18 for 26kms!

Gosh!!! But my RX is not for a daily run though!

Cheers.

Btw.. how many of you drive your rotary on a daily basis??? Mine is my daily drive, keeping my fingers crossed!!

Somehow, don't mind too much 'bout the consumption. But much to xplain to ppl out there everytime I send for engine wash!

First off .... whoaaa rotary ahhh ... what's that? (Coz they can see it's written on top of the airfilter box)

Next ... how it works aaa? Whoaa ... no piston? ... no cam? ... no valve? ... 2 ignition coils!!! Bla bla bla ....

Lastly ... start action liao. Show them I redline the engine on stationary.

Then ... u can c grinning faces around ...

Perhaps, mine is an old skool. Well, that's satisfaction!

Cheers!

guys....

I've read all the comments on fuel consumption and everything......

I'm a total dummy when it comes to sportcars...as I do not own one..

let's say i where to get a RX7 from some user in Malaysia,

I would say roughly around RM80,000.

THen what should i do? anyway to check if the car is un good condition?

after i get the car...what kind of maintenance I should do for the car?

what are the extra fragile thing about Rx7 that i should be look out for?

rotary engine, i heard rumours about users always changing engines...is that correct?

can I just use it normally? (how frequent my maintenance should be? what need to be done for the maintenance?)how much will it roughly cost me????

I'm totally in love with RX7, but i do not wanna did my own grave by buying a car i cannot afford....

please advise.....

i think you all can try not to boost your car...it may save a lot...erm...you all can try to press for a bout 2000-2500 rpm and then change gear... =)

Hi RX7 owners

i am thinking of buying 1. but i have a few questions before doing it

1. what is the fuel consumption (in Cents/per km)

2. how much do i need to pay for usual service?

3. how often do i need to service the car?

4. is sunway the only place to fix RX7?