Riding without a spare

N0bu

anyone out there dare to ride without a spare tyre? it saves alot of weight and not to mention fuel because of it. with the prices of fuel escalating nowadays, every cent saved is precious indeed.

been driving alot of years and only once i encountered a flat. the cars of the future are designed with run flat tires thus eliminate the need for a spare. but now the tyres are sstill to expensive for us layman.

so what do you guys out there think? also does the can of tyre sealent works? came with my car and so far have yet the need to use it.

comments anyone?

tyre sealant wont help if the punctured is very bad...

it will make the steering wheel shake coz unbalance...

i drove without a spare for half a year longest. during that time kena flat once. ur mechanic's phone no. is the best friend at that moment hahahaha

i carry spare oso no use, coz i never carry a jack and wrench in my car :D

AE80TypeD said:
i drove without a spare for half a year longest. during that time kena flat once. ur mechanic's phone no. is the best friend at that moment hahahaha

i carry spare oso no use, coz i never carry a jack and wrench in my car :D

eheehe...same here dude....carry spare tyre but never carry wrench and jack...so, ur best friend, mechanic and AAM number
will be ur "best" friend...ehehh

Same here.. my car never have any of those things.. Too heavy to be in the car..

Worst part.. My car running on 5 lugs 11 pcd.. Not many can help me...

the tyre sealant really cant use if the side wall burst ?
i thought that the sealant is one type of foam ?

just wanna share my experience with you on spare tyre. I was driving on the PLUS highway heading to melaka one night when I noticed a smoke trail I was leaving. I pulled over and to my dismay, the rear right tyre was flat and as a result of driving on it at 120kmph, it started smoking. Now, I am using 16" rims and somemore since it was my rear tyres, it is hardly noticeable wan (but many of u would still be laughing ur heads off at this :P). Mind you, i was also blasting away on my ICE so totally cannot hear anything also. Anyway, the tyre was shredded really bad so using the tyre sealant was outta the question (i had 1 tin of it in my boot and also a pump). I have a spare tyre in my boot too, but when I took it out, there was no air in it. So i changed the tyre and pumped the spare using the pump. But the spare tyre also already condemned. No matter how much air i pumped into it, it leaked out too from the valve (so using the tyre sealant on this also no use). It took me hours to get outta the mess and since then, I always check my spare to see if it okay. Carrying a reliable spare cannot be foresaken. ;)

i agree bro, and for the record.. i am not and will not say that im right or what i did was what everyone should do. just related (confessed) my bad habits, thats all ekekekeke.

and yes absolutely, its hard to notice a rear tire puncture or flat. the only symptom i noticed before i kena last time was the car became sluggish at accelerating. i tot my engine overheat or kong or wat... turns out the rear tire dragged my car down, no power. only when the wheel (rim) started having almost direct contact with the road that i realize it was a rear tire problem.

we humans always become complacent over time. its just that flats or other misfortunes always happend when we are less vigilant. :)

why in the world u want to put urself in trouble for not having a reliable spare tyre, a jack and a wrench? If u're just wandering around u neighbourhood oklaaa u can call up ur friends, but for long distance, i dun think it's a 'wise' decision to leave ur toolbox and ur spare tyre.

cos i lost my wrench and jack u see.......the 1st reason....
then hor my car hor too slow try to make it lighter lor... and the tyre make my back go lower mah..... kena bump la pain u know...

and i dont drive the car so often la so no worries...

where can we find the small spare tyre that i ussualy see in honda car? can the spare tyre fit kelisa?

aku_sangap said:
eheehe...same here dude....carry spare tyre but never carry wrench and jack...so, ur best friend, mechanic and AAM number
will be ur "best" friend...ehehh

keng lah u
carry spare but not wrech n jack
better dun carry

well i didnt carry 1 also
cos my car uses those tubeless tyre
as been told by mec...
if got smaal puncture like hit big nails
still can travel like 100+km to nearest tyre shop

but den if really big side lubang 1
den hav to call aam loh

For FF, put more weight + grippy tires at the back helps a lot...

I dont dare run without a spare...If you end up having a puncture at some rural, mountain or jungle area where ur hp dont have signal then what to do....very dangerous lah. cause u never know when u will have a puncture.. just my 2 cent. I travel a lot around hilly areas where hp's signal can be said is totally dead and the area is jungle no 1 lives there and no street lights at all....total darkest.

well i'm not a risk taker so i'll always make sure my spare tyres are in good condition everytime i travel. it actually saves u alot of trouble. you can change your own tyre when kena paku and you don't have to wait for AAM/PLUS people to help you. also, the fact that i travel to lumut alot and certain stretch of the road has no signal so its a bit of a risk.

guys, if you don't carry a spare tyre because u don't have a jack and/or wrench, then just buy one which doesn't cost much. its no reason to remove ur spare tyre because u dun have a jack. also, how much weight do u save when u remove your spare tyres? 10 kg? how much performance do u gain by shaving off 10kg? how much petrol do u save by reducing car weight and load? i'd say the difference is negligible so don't take the risk.

anyone out there dare to ride without a spare tyre? it saves alot of weight and not to mention fuel because of it. with the prices of fuel escalating nowadays, every cent saved is precious indeed.

been driving alot of years and only once i encountered a flat. the cars of the future are designed with run flat tires thus eliminate the need for a spare. but now the tyres are sstill to expensive for us layman.

so what do you guys out there think? also does the can of tyre sealent works? came with my car and so far have yet the need to use it.

comments anyone?

i think i should call u bro...lol....i've done the same thing on my car...
well....i've got a can of sealant too(hope it works when i needed it..hahahaa)
the adventage is that u can feel veryvery strong traction during cornering...wow...it feels like switching from an 195/45/15 tyre to an 205/45/15 trye....damn good feel man..
plus there's veeeeeeeliveli obvious improve on broking performance....
all im trying to say is that....give it a try.....lol....cheers

The more expensive option would be running with run-flat tires which most new luxury cars have switched to. Another trend I've noticed in new cars is space-saver spares as well.

there is a different between driving the car without spare tires and jack & wrench.

IF your tires flat (touch wood), you have spare tires but you don't have jack & wrench, you still manage to borrow jack & wrench from others to replace your flat tires.

IF your tires flat (touch wood again), you have the jack & wrench but you don't have spare tires, do you think others will kind enough to borrow you spare tires? :)

I used to run outstation without jack & wrench for 2 years, of course now no longer practise that, better bring both and check it from time to time :D