Recovering from stroke

b00n

Anyone had any information on stroke recovery treatment or center in Malaysia?
Being browsing the web and can't seem to find any in M'sia.

Doctors are only citing "It depends on the individual himself".....but there must be treatments as it's available overseas...eg:Electronic pulse triggering muscles; theraphy routines...etc..

Is that available in M'sia?

Boon

tat will depend on how bad is the stroke, i think Ampang Puteri they have some theraphy machinery to help too but the charges is expensive. If the patient just kena stroke recently i think need to give time for recover before going for theraphy. Doctor will also advise to take special care in the intake of food, as well as the schedule for medicine before consuming of foods. My mother in law kena stroke too 3 big one and 2 bypass, she recover quite fast,i think within 6 months she recover now she can walk around like normal people. and she didn't go thru any theraphy just take care of food intake n medication puntually.

tohsan ar.. is also depending on what stroke ma...

some stroke cant be cure. n some can.

boon: take care of food and drinks. n do more exercise. let them out to sunshine more often. it will help.

ok first things first
there are 2 kinds of stroke, ischaemic and hemorrhagic
you can recover from both but depends on the extent of the stoke and the brain territory it covers
to a certain extent, hemorrhagic strokes tend to carry a poorer prognosis
in malaysia storke rehab is rudimentary to say the least but its also true that while physio helps, a lot depends on the pt. himself, if you dont have the will to get better, you dont....
anyways most of the time, if you dont see any signs of getting better after 6-9 months, then any recovery is going to be minimal if at all
it all depends on the condition of the patient

tamz18 said:
tohsan ar.. is also depending on what stroke ma...

some stroke cant be cure. n some can.

boon: take care of food and drinks. n do more exercise. let them out to sunshine more often. it will help.

mention already ma!!!

Tohsan said:
Boon

tat will depend on how bad is the stroke, i think Ampang Puteri they have some theraphy machinery to help too but the charges is expensive. If the patient just kena stroke recently i think need to give time for recover before going for theraphy. Doctor will also advise to take special care in the intake of food, as well as the schedule for medicine before consuming of foods. My mother in law kena stroke too 3 big one and 2 bypass, she recover quite fast,i think within 6 months she recover now she can walk around like normal people. and she didn't go thru any theraphy just take care of food intake n medication puntually.

Thanks all.
Right now, my gf's father can't speak yet and is partially paralysed.
The blockage in the head still not clear yet and doctor is saying they need him to be stable first before performing surgeries.
Basically he checked in because of heart problem and the docs found the blockage but after scanning and arranging for surgery appointment; he was discharged. I guessed the doc didn't scan the head. Just minutes after returning home on Tuesday noon, he was too happy (because can discharged) and got too emotional. That's when the stroke hits!
Damn scary........but luckily regain concious that night.

There's one neurologist in zth; was hoping to get his opinion.
Got to know about this guy because excahnged some post before in zth. But can't seem to recall his nick or the thread that we're in. Damn! It's either last year or in 2005.

Was hoping to settle down this year. I.e. buy a house; getting married and stuffs. Seems alls going to get postponed depending on the situation.
Since our hometown in kch; last evening, rushed her and her sis+bro to the airport. So if I drove recklessly yesterday and someone spotted me...sorry dude. Emergency!

Someone informed me that there's this rehab center in Shah Alam meant for stroke patient. Columbia Asia with all the equipments. Let's just hope everything goes fine.

sad to hear it....

i guess he need rest now...therapy only after he is getting better....

no rush..do it step by step....

BTW, take care urself n oso ur gf + her family.....

best regards,
kenny

a good fren [though not close]of mine recovered from stroke
when i see him on bed,i actually cried
he live strong...go physio...and now he's back and kicking!as though ntg happen

personally I think young ppl have more fighthing spirit. Somemore their cell recovery also faster.
Nway, just hoping for the best.
How long did it take to fully recover?
btw, ur friend suffered from ischaemic (blood clot) or hemorrhagic (blood vesel rupture)?

TUNG SHIN hospital, got this stroke rehab centre, but in chines mdecial way..
they do acupunture for the patient, at 1st hv to go more frequent,
3times a week..depend on situation and stages of recovery personally i think is quite cheap tho...
dude, no worries k, stroke and heart attack is the most common illness for the time being.. out thr go more expertise can help u..
if i not mistaken consume fish oil will help the veins expand...

well..dunno much bout this issue but i had a fren who's father had partial stroke few years back..
the indians believe that massage with oil can help heal....

dunno how true is this but my fren's father did recover...
the doc said it's the individual 'mentality' that helps..so, you be the judge..

anyway, regards to ur gf + family, boon...take care.