rear disc, big effect?

normality78

Does rear disc conversion do help alot in braking power? or its only slightly better thn rear drum?

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
Rear braking only perform 30% of the overall braking.

People go to disc is because :
to prevent rear wheel jamming when high speed braking..

zephyr3d

Apr 29, 2005
near steven's
oh.. i didn't know that. Perhaps my car is just too under powered to feel the differences after rear disc brake conversion.

narx

you still using brakes?
i thought using parachutes already..hehe ;)

norm,
yup it does. if done correctly

Doink

Aug 1, 2004
House
rear disc brake for efficient braking...wont jammed so easily...when dry and can withstand heat...heat dissipation is better...cause the braking system is open instead of drum which is closed...

Hate to admit it but cars with all round disc looks better too...hehehe:_: give ppl that "i got lots of Hp" feelings...

normality78

tks for all bros feedback.

140dB

Mar 27, 2005
johor
pads

just as a side note

i upgraded my satria 1.3 brakes to 1.6/1.8 front ventilated, slotted, crossed drilled and rear 1.6/1.8 slotted, drilled disc wif bendix metal king. pump left standard.

braking performance when cold is same or very marginally better than the stock setup. so much for the looks.

when heated up, the performance is superb. super satisfied. can lock all four wheels easily.

so...suit your driving style and what u want from ur braking system. if u just want extra force for daily stop go drive, go for upgraded pads....enuff oledi....race or semi race pads need some heating up to get to proper working temperature. below that temp. i guarantee u will be dissappointed.

my 2c

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
i thought someone previously jz said by changing rear to disc brake, u dont lock ur wheels so often??... hmm.... and u said can lock ur 4 wheels often, vr good... hmm, confiused...

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
I am lost also... Does he means the brakes will work very very well when it reaches it's working temperature? When it's cold, it performs just like stock?

normality78

not only both of u. im totally lost here

I think some pads need to get warmed up 1st to get a better braking. I think those are the racing type brake pads lah....

My Mintex pads also need some warm up or light braking to warm up 1st. After that it works very well with the my EBC cross drilled disc.

zephyr3d

Apr 29, 2005
near steven's
TitanRev said:
Hate to admit it but cars with all round disc looks better too...hehehe:_: give ppl that "i got lots of Hp" feelings...
i sorta agree to that... i did mine merely for looks. heh heh heh....

like this.. i just love this view so much... hahaha

It was only a matter of time before BMW tuning specialist AC Schnitzer weaved their magic on the BMW 5 Series F10 even if the current packages only cater to the initial F10 models. There’s definitely more in store in terms of performance and styling in time to come...