rear disc, big effect?

normality78

Does rear disc conversion do help alot in braking power? or its only slightly better thn rear drum?

Rear braking only perform 30% of the overall braking.

People go to disc is because :
to prevent rear wheel jamming when high speed braking..

oh.. i didn't know that. Perhaps my car is just too under powered to feel the differences after rear disc brake conversion.

you still using brakes?
i thought using parachutes already..hehe ;)

norm,
yup it does. if done correctly

rear disc brake for efficient braking...wont jammed so easily...when dry and can withstand heat...heat dissipation is better...cause the braking system is open instead of drum which is closed...

Hate to admit it but cars with all round disc looks better too...hehehe:_: give ppl that "i got lots of Hp" feelings...

haha... yeah, makes the gap between ur rims and wheel hub smaller... thus, looks better... wahahha...

I tot brake systems are not braking the car but the traction does?LOL...

RUN..........

pads

just as a side note

i upgraded my satria 1.3 brakes to 1.6/1.8 front ventilated, slotted, crossed drilled and rear 1.6/1.8 slotted, drilled disc wif bendix metal king. pump left standard.

braking performance when cold is same or very marginally better than the stock setup. so much for the looks.

when heated up, the performance is superb. super satisfied. can lock all four wheels easily.

so...suit your driving style and what u want from ur braking system. if u just want extra force for daily stop go drive, go for upgraded pads....enuff oledi....race or semi race pads need some heating up to get to proper working temperature. below that temp. i guarantee u will be dissappointed.

my 2c

i thought someone previously jz said by changing rear to disc brake, u dont lock ur wheels so often??... hmm.... and u said can lock ur 4 wheels often, vr good... hmm, confiused...

I am lost also... Does he means the brakes will work very very well when it reaches it's working temperature? When it's cold, it performs just like stock?

I think some pads need to get warmed up 1st to get a better braking. I think those are the racing type brake pads lah....

My Mintex pads also need some warm up or light braking to warm up 1st. After that it works very well with the my EBC cross drilled disc.

TitanRev said:
Hate to admit it but cars with all round disc looks better too...hehehe:_: give ppl that "i got lots of Hp" feelings...
i sorta agree to that... i did mine merely for looks. heh heh heh....

like this.. i just love this view so much... hahaha

aura_wheel.jpg

All round disc does look better. But it depends on your driving style and ways. For track racing, rear disc brakes seems to help a lot especially when u are going at top speed and then braking to go into a slower turn. It helps to hold the car in line during braking and braking is much more effective.
But some friends prefer drum brakes for autocross events because they say drum brakes work better during slow speed turns and braking.
Just my 2 cents.

im still yet to change rear discs... :(
have to save rm550 for GSR whole set rear...

i also changed my rear drum to disc brake...but the effect was not tht much...i think is better to get a better brake booster...maybe from a bigger cc car..the effect and pedal feel is more better..at high speed braking not easy to loose control

TOMEI-R said:
All round disc does look better. But it depends on your driving style and ways. For track racing, rear disc brakes seems to help a lot especially when u are going at top speed and then braking to go into a slower turn. It helps to hold the car in line during braking and braking is much more effective.
But some friends prefer drum brakes for autocross events because they say drum brakes work better during slow speed turns and braking.
Just my 2 cents.
coz ebrake works best on drum brakes... i heard many face difficulties using ebrake after changing the rear to disc brakes... even parking on slopes also cannot stop...

what i heard from friend, procedure of brake upgrades;
- better brake pads
- brake pump and servo
- upgrade front rotors
- upgrade rear rotors

coz rear only takes up about 30% of overall braking performance... front is more important, 70% of the stopping power....

correct me if wrong...

like everyone said, rear disc brake gives u more efficient braking and better looks...
its best to upgrade the front disc brake to bigger one too
like evo twin pots...

don't forget to upgrade your brake servo to double layer ones.
upgrading brake servo does helps alot in braking.

get the ones from nissan. its bloody good.
i'm using front and rear evo disc brake and evo brake servo.
braking very nice.
no jamming anymore unlike my ex- 1.3 front disc and rear drum which causes me 2accident cuz of brake jam during extreme driving... ;(

those bigger brakes will only works better at high temperature.
when u goin on high speed, those bigger brakes will bite alot better. and u don't even need to slam the brake so hard to slow your car.
just a light press will do. and your car will slow down tremendously.

during normal driving, it will just feels like your stock brakes.