RB25 turbine on VR4

Danny

May I know if anyone tried using an RB25 turbine on a VR4 before? Is it better than the stock TD05 single fin?

I have been told that it is made of ceramic (ie once ko have to replace, can't be repaired), made by Garett & max boost around 1.3 bar. Is this true?

Got some specs from the internet, apparently max boost 1.2 bar :-

Car of Origin: Nissan Skyline R33 GT25-T
Engine: RB25DET
Flange: Four bolt T3 style
Max. Power Rating: Approximately 185kW
Max. Boost: 1.2bar (17.4psi)
Cover Size: AR not identified
Comments: The big daddy of the range makes the RB25 turbocharger good for almost any mild six-cylinder application. Sparkling boost response in the low-rpm range and a reasonably hard-hitting top end make this the most common upgrade found on the RB20DET. It's highly recommended.
Cost: Being very difficult to get hold of makes them highly variable in price. Sometimes about $700, sometimes more.
Rating: Five out of five.

Source :- http://members.iinet.net/~sayers/biscuits/turbos.htm

came with the engine kosong already... coz the previous engine block was found to be damaged so I sourced for another engine. So happens it came with rb2, I was wondering whether should I use it or not as the current one is TD05 single fin.

ok for a better respond and performance for VR4 engine,

200hp = TD05 double fin 16G ( sikit lag if boost below 1 bar )
220 and 240 hp = 200hp = TD05 double fin 18G

please call me if u want more tip and tricks about standard / mod vr4 engine tuned

wadi - 013-3745799,

actually what I'm asking is :-

TD05 single fin vs. RB25 garett turbine

which one performs better? I already have both of them and wish to find out which one is the preferred choice. Don't intend to get another turbine at the moment.

I wouldn't go anywhere near 1.2bar cause factory spec max 14psi about 1 bar with stoich.

Originally posted by devious17@Jun 21 2004, 05:48 PM
I wouldn't go anywhere near 1.2bar cause factory spec max 14psi about 1 bar with stoich.
eehhh..i tot someone here boosting at 1.7 bar? summore 1.7 bar is normal daily driving punya boost wor? :lol: :rolleyes:

Regards;

eh wadi, i thought u r the sr20 master? vr4 also play? hehehe...

18g td05 comes frm which series vr4/evo?

danny,

RB25 turbine good but very " manja " easy to spoil... yep, ceramic crack, KO!
TD-05H, slower respond then RB25 but high boost no problem! all mitsu turbine very
very tahan lasak one! :D hmmm... why don't you sell both and go for the twin fins? :rolleyes:

thanks for your comments. So in otherwords, if you compare 1 bar application, the RB25 will perform better than TD05 single fin. However, if you intend to boost more than 1 bar then go for TD05, am I right?

Lets say :-

TD05H at 1.3 bar vs. RB25 at 1.0 bar, what are its pros and cons? Would the TD05H at 1.3 bar exceed RB25's performance?

devious17, 1 bar at stoich is the max safe setting for rb25? If I am using safc, does it mean I can add fuel and set the max setting at 1.2 bar? Btw, as Jun said, you are using at 1.7 bar?? so it's possible with engine management?

keong - er... will consider la, but donno whether got anyone out there whos looking for these 2 turbines, one is so common and the other is so unsual for vr4.

haiyo got rb25 turbo use only la..dont waste money la..
already got sure use it la..summore wanna use td05 single blade for what..apa la..
of course compare the single blade with 25 sure 25 better la..

next time got money buy TO4S la..sure puas hati...kekek

or t04e..

your stock vr4 boost 1.2 okay ma..everyday use 1.2 also enuff lor..

Hunting for std boost!! aisey.. connect boost controller la, tetekiller please..

Originally posted by Danny@Jun 21 2004, 11:33 PM

devious17, 1 bar at stoich is the max safe setting for rb25? If I am using safc, does it mean I can add fuel and set the max setting at 1.2 bar? Btw, as Jun said, you are using at 1.7 bar?? so it's possible with engine management?

:lol: That is Ms JUN having flatulance problem in her bowels,don't listen to her fart! :lol: SAFC is good for fuelling but it's the ceramic wheel that is going to dislodge itself from the UHU glue nissan used to keep it in place that is going to give.

Ceramic gives you the advantage of faster spooling but limited to a certain sonic RPM. Don't go beyond 1 bar but you are welcome to try and do let us know at what bar the turbine wheel hits the guy on the head behind you :lol:

eclips3,the ceramic wheel is not serviceable........anything wrong with it it's to the dumpster. You can test how fragile it is by knocking the turbine wheel with a tap on it and be amazed at how you can chip it.

If you are asking whether if the whole unit is servicebale then yes,you can get it high flowed, cleaned and balanced.

if the turbine wheel and shaft are in good condition get it highflowed or go to Tong turbo for a replacement unit RM450 to RM500 .RB25 turbo in the market is about RM500 more or less and hard to find.