RB20DET replacement radiator

wideawake

Hi all,

Can anyone suggest a replacement radiator which has the same orientation as the stock RB20det radiator. The water input and output is on the driver's side of the car.

Mine has a crack on the top cover. My mech said the original material is some kind of fibre/plastic, so the newer one should preferably be aluminium or stainless steel. One with two electric fans would be great, as I want to remove the stock engine mount fan.

Thanks man.

dude

believe me... the clutch fan is damn good. just that u need to service them once in a while... like every 6 months or so.

replacement radiator? the top cover can be replace, take it to any radiator shop and they can do it for around RM100+.

or go kedai potong and find one la. even cheaper! ;) hehehe

I thought electric fans are better. Even if the engine is at low RPM (traffic jams), the electric fans can blast full power.

Anyway, does the fan need servicing? How to service it?

The radiator top got a few hairline cracks. My mech put temporary put superglue and pasted paper on it. Suprisingly it holds, but not sure for how long.

:) electric fan? heh heh........if you are using the a31 radiator with electric fan from ...say.....Merc/BMW you will have over heating problem.

If you use the whole radiator from another make with it's electric fan better make sure the water volume is equivalent or more that the A31 's or you have the same problem. I'll bet even if you managed toget a radiator that matches the A31 the IN/OUT port are on the wrong position.........oh,and you need to get a thermostat installed to get the electric fan to run when the temp reaches high.

Stick with the coupling fan,get the rb25 fan as it has 9 blades as oppose to 8 of rb20.

without the coupling fan you can feel the engine a bit free revving (light responce)

True the fan does work very well during traffic jam and from my experience , only during traffic jams...the electric fan tends to restrict the incoming air to the radiator during highspeed runs thus causing the car to overheat. On top of that these fan tends to eat up alot of voltage too..Try driving the car during a rainy night with the stereo and air con on where you have the head lights and wipers on too, and watch your voltage meter drop to a worrying level :) Stick to the clutch fan though running on electrics will make a noticable difference to the way the car response and drive but its not worth the trouble for a daily driven car..

Topoi11: how do you service a clutch fan?
Thanks for the food that day!!! I honestly had a very heavy late lunch that day ( 5.00pm) and just intended to try a bit of your mom's cooking but ended up going for seconds!!! LOLOLOLOL

Thanks guys. Looks like I'll ditch the idea then....

Anyway, anybody has a spare R32 radiator for sale?

Emm
why not try this

FAL Electric fan. 2500 CFM
fit nissan radiator ngam ngam
Thinkness is 2.25" only

price ?
USD 360 Shipped back
sure enough for you

skagee

hahaha... now u dah kena penangan nasi hujan panas. Heath had 3 helping! hehehe... and still goes back for more rendang. hahahaha.. :P thanks for coming and thanks for the gift. :)

how to service? dunno ler... last time i did once at my mech, he just open the thing, checked the internal, clean up a bit here and there, then dunno what else ler... but should not take more than 1 or 2 hours to do. devious17, how u do aaa? hehe

do what devious had mentioned.

he said... use the RB25 fan and replace the crappy RB20 fan
problems will be solved

maybe you can also take out our thermostat, this will also help

standard radiator is fine no need to change just get a replacement for ur one if it's leaking

Tony5050 was mentioning that he uses VOLVO electrical radiator fan for his 800hp beast and it worked well for him.... hmm might wanna try that one day. :ph34r:

:huh: Volvo's electric fan? Must be from the truck serious I guess :lol: :lol:

Topui11, service aaaa? I went to the chop shop and got another coupling looo.......cannot serbis one laaa :P

Jebu,if you take out the thermostat the car will take a longer time to get up to operating temperature woooo.......not that it affects anything :lol: yeah,that will help too.

hahaha cannot service meh? then cleaning only ler. hehehe.. oh ya... he did ordered something from half cut shop. guess it's the coupling ler. hehehe.. me too lazy to see... tido inside the car. hahaha

A mix of a good working clutch fan and a electric fan works the best.

Originally posted by devious17@Nov 24 2004, 10:23
r32 gts or gtr?
Is there a difference between R32 Gts and Gtr radiators?

how much does an R32 radiator cost at chopshops? Just wanna know the market price so will not kena ketuk....

Erm.... in case I cannot find a spare R32 radiator, is there any high temperature glue that I can use?

Thanks.

Just got back from the Christmas celebration in KL (not really celebrating, just went out with friends to check out chicks.

On the way back, the car was badly overheating... Pulled over in Damansara and found out the radiator is not badly leaking. It's leaking from the top cover and I think the bottom right part also... Couldn't check cause was too dark.

So had to call a tow truck to tow it back to Klang.

Anyone have a spare R32 radiator, PM me please.

Thanks.

Okay guys. Got a new radiator from a halfcut in Subang.

Here is what puzzles me. The radiator that was put in my halfcut is similar to an A31 auto radiator. The halfcut guy told me it is from A31 auto because it has 2 extra holes at the bottom(which I don't know what it is for). Looks like the mechanic & halfcut shop that did my conversion swapped it somehow.

The new one I got was the exact model, but labelled as A31 (auto). May I ask how does the standard radiator that comes from HCR32 Skyline looks like?

And what is the difference between single core and double core?