Need Info on upgrading RB20DET. Please discuss.

kelvin_goh999

I am driving a Cefiro with RB20DET. I heard that the stock RB20DET ceramic turbo cant boost up to 1 bar as the bearing will fly out through the exhaust. Hehe. Correct me if i am wrong.

I really would like to feel the feeling of 1.5 bar. I have few question & would like to get the answers from all the SIFU here.

1. For standard RB20DET blok & cam, can stand until what boost?
2. Do we need to change to metal head gasket. If yes, what is the brand & cost?
3. What is the most suitable Turbo as a replacement for the stock RB20DET that I can up boost to 1.5bar?

Or if there is anyone that have upgrade his RB20DET to bigger turbo & can up boost to 1.5bar, really hope you can share it out. Thanks for all the information that all of you state down later on.

Kelvin

kelvin_goh999 said:

I am driving a Cefiro with RB20DET. I heard that the stock RB20DET ceramic turbo cant boost up to 1 bar as the bearing will fly out through the exhaust. Hehe. Correct me if i am wrong.

I really would like to feel the feeling of 1.5 bar. I have few question & would like to get the answers from all the SIFU here.

1. For standard RB20DET blok & cam, can stand until what boost?
2. Do we need to change to metal head gasket. If yes, what is the brand & cost?
3. What is the most suitable Turbo as a replacement for the stock RB20DET that I can up boost to 1.5bar?

Or if there is anyone that have upgrade his RB20DET to bigger turbo & can up boost to 1.5bar, really hope you can share it out. Thanks for all the information that all of you state down later on.

Kelvin

Hi Kelvin,

I understand you are now looking on how to upgrade your engine performance. I would like to introduce you with the latest powerful product in town. Name call : K2N Safety Power System. It can upgrade your engine torque power up to 20%. If you would like to know more regarding the product performance. Please contact me at : [email protected] .

Also " FREE TESTING AVAILABLE" on the product. And free test drive on the vehicle which already ungraded with K2N Safety Power System.

Example : Nissan X-Rail 2.0L Over power than 2.5L.
Mercedes Benz S320 Over power than S350.
Honda Accord Vtech 2.0L Over power than Vtech 2.4L.

p/s : I will attach the product appearance for you viewing.

I am not a Sifu, but this is what i picked up recently:

RB20DET running at:
  1. 1.2 Bar require:
    • Bigger Turbo (T04E)
    • Better FMIC
    • Boost Controller (eg AVCR)
    • Better Fuel Pump (Walbro... Stock GTR's)
    • Some kind of fuel management (eg SAFC).
    • Wastegate
  2. 1.3 - 1.4 Bar require:
    • All if the above
    • Bigger Injectors
    • Even Bigger Wastegate
    • Metal Gasket
    • Fuel Pressure Regulator
  3. 1.5 Bar and above require:
    • Everything on top
    • Better management (Emanage / Power FC
    • Internal Upgrades (Cams + Forged Pistons etc
    • Even bigger turbo (T04S / R or TD06)
Now what we mentioned are only about the engines + fuel + management... There's other things to consider as well, when u have a lot more power, u should have better transmission (clutch + gearbox) to handle that sort of power, better brakes etc :P

If i said something wrong here, please correct me eh guys?

Bro. Can you please let me know what kind of Turbo that you mention in your previous email like is it from Garrett, or ball bearing & etc? As I am not so good in recognize Turbo & how much does the Turbo cost? thanks for your previous information.

T04E got the original Garrett ones... got HKS ones.. etc. This ain't ball bearing, it's old school bush. It should cost you around 1 - 1.5k (some i hear even a couple of hundred bucks) depends where you get it and the condition.

There's others as well T04S, T04R
These designs rather old, you should get the GT series -> http://www.turbobygarrett.com/turbobygarrett/products/turbochargers.html. These are ball bearing turbos.

But there's a lot more options e.g. - TD-06 20G 16G and a lot more based on your needs and requirements.

Take a look here too -> http://www.mjmturbos.com/AAAmjm2ndpage.htm

Just remember better turbos cost more and i already gave u a range on how much the T04E cost
Sorry bro I have limited knowledge on this.. i know quite a few, coz i did ressearch for my RB project. But i tell you something... 1.5 Bar doens't mean your car is fast. A 1 Bar car still can beats you if they mod other things. ;)

Hi bro,

Anyway thanks alot. U really help alot already. Thanks for the information again.