r32 gtr drivetrain diagnostic..

SanTa_Clause

dear guys,

whats wrong when u put ur r32 gtr on a ramp and put it into gear but only the rear wheels are moving?izzit a sensor issue or.....please advice.

secondly does anyone has a spare r32gtr speedo meter cable for sale?

thank u

dear guys,

whats wrong when u put ur r32 gtr on a ramp and put it into gear but only the rear wheels are moving?izzit a sensor issue or.....please advice.

secondly does anyone has a spare r32gtr speedo meter cable for sale?

thank u
does your 4WD checklight ON? check also the propellar shaft to the front wheel. i got a case, 1 of my customer's bnr34 had too much power n broke the propellar shaft to the front wheel.

1. Cud be broken Shaft
2. Transfer case kong
3. Someone covert ur car to GTST! hehehe... jk only:rofl::rofl:

Not quite clear what`s you want to ask.Is it you means when normal road running is 4wd and on a ramp 2wd?What kind of ramp?Should not be a problem since thts the way attessa work.

If on normal road is 2WD then I should say tht`s another issue :)

You've to be detailed and specific with the question. What sorta ramp are you talking about? How did you find out it was running on rear wheels?

Last edited by a moderator:
Does he mean that he got stuck on a ramp and found out that only 2 wheels are spinning at that time and can't get himself off the ramp? :smokin:

i tried to reverse the car off a bump but found the front wheel is not helping the effort...so i got curious put the car on a ramp,put in gear and found only the rear wheels are moving.

yeah the 4wheel checklight is on.

If 4wd light is on, it's in fail-safe mode where the attesa would be disengaged thus in RWD mode only ... :smokin:

Then you should diagnostic the ATTESSA unit.Can be done manually too without computer tool. 1st thing 1st check the 4WD fuse inside the interior fusebox. There`s 10A fuse located on Top left side.

dear kaminari.... and others as well thanx a lot 4 ur advice will try it a.s.a.p

Bump: another question how does the hicas/atessa ecu look like and where is it positioned....hah isnt it annoying entertaining a newbie....

dear kaminari.... and others as well thanx a lot 4 ur advice will try it a.s.a.p

Bump: another question how does the hicas/atessa ecu look like and where is it positioned....hah isnt it annoying entertaining a newbie....

Assuming it's the same as 33 and 34, it's at the back, looking in from the booth, should be hanging near center, alittle to right on the bottom of the rear parcel shelf. Hicas would be the top module, and attessa/abs on the bottom.

thenx Yong...

checked the fuse with test pen..ok

found the hicas box...opened it,cleaned it plus the sockets....

still the same.....

whats the next step?Test with a different attessa and Hicas box perhaps?

Doctors/RBologist/Skynicologist please help

If you mech has a Launch, or Consult (ecu diagnostic tool) may be able to see the errors within. Is the abs light on as well?

By the way, do you have a problem with your Hicas or Attesa? I thought you had a 4wd checklight instead :confused:

Also check the level of Attesa fluid, bottle on the right rear panel ... make sure it's slightly above max. Turn the engine on, the fluid should go down. Let me know what you see in the fluid while the engine is running. Alternatively, try bleeding the attesa system, at the base of the pump, and at the transfercase.

Unless you have a space attesa ecu, by all means, swap it :confused:

Err..
GTR32 Attessa is mechanical rite ? no electrical control ?

Err..
GTR32 Attessa is mechanical rite ? no electrical control ?

Hicas is .... used the power-steering pump to control the rear racks, like those on Z32's ... The attesa works similar to the 33, and 34 maybe slower processing speed ... :idea:

lucky i no need to face this HICAS problem on my old junk

Hicas is a POS anyway ... Failed technology ... It's the tread during the late 80's and 90's when Mazda, Honda has it, and so does Nissan ... Look at modern cars, what 4WS?

Better gone, than another piece of junk to lug around ... and fails :idea:

hah...what a hassle to get the car running on all wheels....the abs system has been shut down or taken out so its not functioning..hence the light is on.Attesa fluid has been topped up...ill update on the findings once i've done the bleeding...thanx again guys....btw nice to c u cmng its been a while.

ps:does anyone have a spare r32gtr speedometer cable i got the gts one but tak ngam...n the spare attessa ecu 4 me to pinjam i would be extremely grateful,dont laugh Yong...

hah...what a hassle to get the car running on all wheels....the abs system has been shut down or taken out so its not functioning..hence the light is on.Attesa fluid has been topped up...ill update on the findings once i've done the bleeding...thanx again guys....btw nice to c u cmng its been a while.

ps:does anyone have a spare r32gtr speedometer cable i got the gts one but tak ngam...n the spare attessa ecu 4 me to pinjam i would be extremely grateful,dont laugh Yong...

Hahahaha ... Sorry dude ... I just can't help myself ... You definately need the abs, as the attesa ecu takes the abs speed sensor, g-sensors, tps, steering angle sensor etc to make the 4wd works ... Without the abs module, you will never get the 4wd to work ... than is unless you can wire some module to get the abs signal for the attesa ecu, but that's one hell of a electronic wizz job. I think you should try to source for an abs unit and get that running again ... I am surprise your abs light is not on (?)

I do have an attesa ecu for 33 (regular) but not sure if it would go with 32 ... but again, without the whole abs system, it will not work.

Alternatively, some ppl have tried setting up the attesa similar to subbies and evo's with a manual dial-in for the 4wd. But with that, you won't get the "intelligent" 4wd of the attesa ...

Really?its all connected to the ABS?the light is on Yong..it says anti lock right? now thats sucks....gotta get up tomorrow n go straight to the shop...fix back the ABS says the sifu.... eh thanx Yong.

Whatever it takes to make "it" work.....my poor baby,lost 2 of it's legs...

ps:some people's junk is some people's treasure......