R3-Satria (gti)

lude said:
hey.. u by any chance the guy who went to the PESC in DJ? one of the guys said an sr3 came in with bearing problems and the sr3 was running on mmc ecu and a different set of cams.. but the guy had the nerve to say this "siap tukar cam ngan bunyi lain tapi taktaulah bole pegi ke tak"

the dyno proves there's an increase but i personally would like to feel the difference.. any stage2 upgraded sr3 owners wanna play taxi driver at the next TT? ;P

Don't think it's me. Mine had a faulty sparkplug (due to the aftermarket one I bought). Changed back to stock NGK's and car was fine after that.

Not surprised they doubt R3's work with the cams. After all, if you take some time to look around that workshop there may be a GSR, MIVEC or B16A in the works of conversion.

faisal said:
jakuzeeman,

what your LEV #?

006) Prozac
007) Crash
009) Sousuke
013) Handsome Lala
018) Shaunchen
025) amosyong
067) Redwacko
074) Incube
083) Buahdurian
097) r0ok
107) Punisher
121) Lude
124) GeneX
141) rickmoh

LEV number is 61, i think... not so sure tho
Anyways, I'm Andrew here ler... nonit so formal cannar?

Ciaoz

10 hours and counting...

Prozac and Crash should have exhausted their supply of underwear from pissing in their pants in anticipation of the track day

Welcome to the club LEV# 140,hahah,finally i'm not the last one on the list ^^

lude said:
hey.. u by any chance the guy who went to the PESC in DJ? one of the guys said an sr3 came in with bearing problems and the sr3 was running on mmc ecu and a different set of cams.. but the guy had the nerve to say this "siap tukar cam ngan bunyi lain tapi taktaulah bole pegi ke tak"

the dyno proves there's an increase but i personally would like to feel the difference.. any stage2 upgraded sr3 owners wanna play taxi driver at the next TT? ;P

Hmm...no idea,my car is runing wit MMC ecu and a different set of cams?? Wooo~~~~ Dun think is possible la. :P they told me they juz changed a set of new bearings only.

BTW, faisal, how am i gonna make an appointment at motorsport? by juz calling u? I wanna do my allignment on monday,izzit possible to arrange for me?

wow tough question, i like it, first of all, what car you are dealing with?
same c.c. or better?
the only way to beat it is.....
switch off your air con, when dealing with this nightmare, you must remember, that you will always curse him or her like shit, masuk gear pertama, like usual stuff, when speed, remember, reach your tacho like hell,the max you can go....!!when shift gear...to second...
dont release your acclerator...,just step on the clucth a.s.a.p. and shift to second gear,and pop your clucth, with the mighty power of the revolution perminute still holding in its peak , the power flush out the might engine, and vroomm....
there you go speed of like hell...
and same with 3 gear shifting..
but dont do it on 4th and 5th.....
engine damm too heavy with power, weight to ratio, not advice...

Saw this thing on the other thread,izzit reliable?

GeneX said:
Saw this thing on the other thread,izzit reliable?

If you follow this advice you'll get too much wheelspin and lose time. Plus please prepare some $$$ to pay for:

1) Clutch
2) Tyres
3) Engine or big-end bearing (blur on what the correct term is)
4) Timing belt
5) Retuning of cam pulleys
6) ...guys feel free to add to the list...

Popping the clutch is fine, but don't over-rev. My instructor at the R3 Track Experience, Khaidi told me to launch at a mid-range RPM, like 4000 then see if there's lots of wheelspin. Too much, drop down to 3500 the next try. I finally found 3000rpm to give the best traction for my tyres with minimal screetching. This also depends on the condition and type of your clutch.

And remember, the stickier the tyres, the more damage will occur since the sudden load on the engine is greater.

Oh yea, the R3 Track Experience was simply out of this world. Here's a brief summary of what happened:

- An intensive drivers briefing
- Instructor with a 5:1 student ratio
- Mini convoy to learn the lines and braking points
- 2 hours of free track time
- Taxi rides in 3 of R3's track cars
- B'fast, lunch, tea
- Mini SSO; a driver's course to learn chicanes, sharp cornering and emergency braking in wet and dry. And with constant tips from our respective instructor.
- Watch the following drift event in the air conditioned press room via CCTV camera.

All for RM150. If it doesn't get more worth it than this I don't know what is.

R3 Track Experience

PHEW!!! WHAT A DAY!!!
The R3 Track Experience at Sepang was great! It was great meeting you guyz :D

prozac, crash, ninja, jakuzeeman, maverick... and err... darn... cant remember all you R3 ppls nicks on ZTH.. Sleepy lar!! It will be great to hang out with you guyz again sometime! Hope you all dont mind a SGTI among the SR3s ya?
Cheers~

lucky lah u guys who went for the track experience.. pity me no moolah to join in.. :(

nways the only exciting experience for me is another sr3 overtaking me on the way to hartamas.. felt weird since the driver didnt give the ritual honk.. so i overtook the car and to my surprise it was a "senior" driver at the wheel (no disrespect meant whatsoever if any of u are related and he's not actually as "senior" as how i saw him :P)

yeah i know its lame to get all worked up over this but the driver has my full respect coz my parents wont even drive my car out the porch coz they hate getting in and out of the car and my mom extremely dread sitting in a recaro..

conclusion: always keep some sort of savings for a track day to ensure i dont have to end
up sharing this kind of lame experience with other sr3 owners

hehehe.. just saw crash's SR3 on tv.. R3 track experience got coverage by tv3 summore..

haha... cool... crash on tv! were they showing where he skidded while braking in the 'wet zone'? or was that ninja in the car that time?

any glimpse of my little sgti?? :D

Yeah dude, TV3 coverage. We were like, all trying to look so professional when the cameraman started making his rounds. He filmed lots of cars doing the Basic Driver's Course; threshold braking, throttle limit, chicane. Yeah, all was cool until I remembered that I was not supposed to be in Sepang doing the bloody "experience" in the first place. Luckily my family don't watch news 1... phew.

Krypton,
It was a pleasure to have met you. Steady man your car handling.

I would also like to take the opportunity to thank and congratulate the R3 dudes for a successful event held. Sure, there were delays and such, but what the heck, at least the food was palatable (IMHO; KL standard la), and we've got air-con and CCTV coverage of the track.
All in all, good job, guys.

Ada apa lagi ar?

A job well done R3!

I have been waiting for something like this since I bought the car. Definitely an experience to savour and remember. R3 boys, a BIG thank you - Khaidi, Faisal, Amin, Faidzil, Djan, Adian, Osman, Sohaimi + all the rest. Kudos! You guys ROCK!

It was all good, from the track to the mini-SSO course. Educational and fun. Faisal, thanks for the pointers on the SIC track and Khaidi for the driver course tips! Improving by 3 seconds in a few runs is excellent!

It was also good to meet new people - the Gen.2 boys have my respect at the track and course, as well as Krypton in his SGTi. Definitely shows the handling prowess of the cars.

I am looking forward to more! Would have been nice to hand out certificates, and a longer track session though!

Cheers fellas! Yes RM150 well spent! (aarggh, need new rear tires!)

Oh btw, thanks Fiki for the ride in your STi! Excellent stuff bro! I want one! :D

vernon,prozac51,jakuuzeeman

sorry to trouble u guys to change my s.no to 140 not 141 at the r3register.
i scare later the real 141 owner will kick my ass stealing his no. :p

today met another r3 owner near kota damansara. (near shell station)
the 1st time i give the r3 ritual honk. feel great to be part of r3 family. haha
r u on the forum??

rickmoh said:
vernon,prozac51,jakuuzeeman

sorry to trouble u guys to change my s.no to 140 not 141 at the r3register.
i scare later the real 141 owner will kick my ass stealing his no. :p

Ok, done.

wah...so nice can go for track day :frown:
hope there'll be more of the track expeirence later :tongue:

guys,
better beware on ur R3...now thieves are eyeing the cf part..
last night my buddy's R3 rear spoiler CF was gone near DU. Did police report
at DU PS. Now total of 5 CF rear spoiler missing as per info...