R3-Satria (gti)

lude, sorry to hear that. Before you can enjoy it, it's already gone. Hope you'll be more lucky with the SR3. A *few* security systems should suffice; something common amongst owners.

rick, the 4G93P is more fun than a bag of cats with a rat inside. Even more fun with the MMC ECU! ;) I've enquired about the Supercharger kit with Gerard, and unfortunately, the kit only for MMC cars right now. For the Siemens, you'll have wait a bit.

prozac said:
lude, sorry to hear that. Before you can enjoy it, it's already gone. Hope you'll be more lucky with the SR3. A *few* security systems should suffice; something common amongst owners.

yeah that was a bummer.. but doing all i can for the R3.. saw some window protection film by llumar and vps at dreamcars.. anyone have any experience with them?

prozac said:

rick, the 4G93P is more fun than a bag of cats with a rat inside. Even more fun with the MMC ECU! ;) I've enquired about the Supercharger kit with Gerard, and unfortunately, the kit only for MMC cars right now. For the Siemens, you'll have wait a bit.
Is this the Supercharger kit with the 2nd hand compressor??

ya, the N1 R3 dam fast... :D
in the same corner(forgoten where, first time), when my toyo tyres with HWL start screaming, this N1 R3 still accelerating.... :D salute...~!!

heard this N1 R3 using Cusco Adjustable.... :O is it true?

prozac said:
Wow, 2 ex-Putra owners! Did you guys mod your cars last time? I'm sure whatever experiences you had with 4G93P can be shared with us here.

I used to own 2 putra's ... one slightly moded and the other completely standard... Then i also so owned 2 GTi's where both were stolen.

Anyways, there's nothing much you can do to the 4g93 to improve on the power, unless you are ready to spend lots of $$$.

Anyways, what i found benificial was:
1: drop in filter - for best results :)

2: Funnel ram sys for sound only. Not much increase in power. But sound damm good... like a Vtec! :D

3: exhaust - just change the extractor or down pipe and rear box. If you are driveing a GTi, then stick with the original sys. It gives you more torque. (good for city driving)If you like the low end torque, do not remove your catalytic converter. But if you like high reving, then a straight flow exhuast will help conserve a little fuel but you will end up losing your lower end torque.

4: trotle body - at least 10 mm increase in size. You get better response but no significant increase in power. :rolleyes:

5: Then if you have extra cash - go for apexi AFC and ITC

6: Then for those who got more moeny to spend and want to get to most bang out of their buck... just strap in a NOS Kit - 30 - 40 hp shots. You'll be having more than enough fn by then.

after that... it's turbos.... but if you are driving an R3, and i feel an engine conversion would be a waste of the R3 <--- better off to get and old satria to do it....

RickMoh & Lude?

If you can Pm to me your booking ID i can check whatyour LEV # are.

Actually there are a few more ex Putra owners here.

hanjin said:
I used to own 2 putra's ... one slightly moded and the other completely standard... Then i also so owned 2 GTi's where both were stolen.

wow... 2 GTI also got stolen... sound scary....

really need to look for some good alarm system... any recommend??

kwai said:
ya, the N1 R3 dam fast... :D
in the same corner(forgoten where, first time), when my toyo tyres with HWL start screaming, this N1 R3 still accelerating.... :D salute...~!!

heard this N1 R3 using Cusco Adjustable.... :O is it true?
Then maybe it's time to upgrade your dampers and spring to R3 specs.. heheh.

BTW having ultra bling coilovers aint' the be all and end all. Properly set damping rates and settings matche to proper springs rates mattter more than that.

faisal said:
RickMoh & Lude?

If you can Pm to me your booking ID i can check whatyour LEV # are.

Actually there are a few more ex Putra owners here.

picked up mine already on monday.. as you said.. it's #121..

faisal said:
Is this the Supercharger kit with the 2nd hand compressor??

Yup. New blower price scary wei...think of how many blows you can get instead.

prozac said:
Yup. New blower price scary wei...think of how many blows you can get instead.
Hmmm. 2nd hand.. What kind of pricing and warranty are they giving?

If it's the Toyota supercharger it'd be interesting about the durability as the 4AGZE came out more than a decade ago. Remember superchargers runs off the pulley.

Not clear about warranty. Pricing is around RM5.5k for an MMC-suited kit. Power comes in early, but without a larger exhaust it starts to choke at around 4000+rpm. An upgraded exahust will be RM800+, correct me if i'm wrong. And yes, superchargers require regular maintenance so those interested should remember that.

Although the torque figures of the SC kit is staggering, I'm quite happy with NA right now... ;)

prozac, handsome_lala and I have experienced the SC-powered SGTi. It's mind-blowing. Since it's belt-driven, power delivery is very, very linear. No lag like a turbocharged engine.

We could be in 3rd gear at 1000rpm, and it still had massive amounts of torque to pull when you step on the gas.

The 'stage 1' SC had 160whp!

YOu will need to service it jsut like you would your engine, and requires a change at 100K.

The good thing about it is that its a bolt on job. You can easily get Drager to dismantle and reinstall your stock parts if you need to get rid of it in future.

RM5.5K is a price of a transplant, but hey, 160whp isn't too bad at all :)

As prozac posted, you will need bigger piping for the exhaust system, preferable 2.5" free flow. And I think a LSD gearbox would help a lot in delivering power to the wheels.

This is one but many options to mod your car. :) Limited only by moolah in your pockets.

faisal, u ask me throw my HWL n change to R3 damper n springs. :D heart broken... :D

kwai said:
faisal, u ask me throw my HWL n change to R3 damper n springs. :D heart broken... :D
Haha. Just that many people I know using HWL not very happy with them... But hey, To each his own.

faisal said:
RM5.5k for a 2nd hand based set up just ain't worth it la bros.

Well, as with all 2nd hand parts and components, it is wise to get them thoroughly checked and service before using them. :)

For me, I'm just going for a simple V8 option. Dump the 4G93, drop in a V8. Kau tim. Damn happy!

Hahahah.

ya faisal, i'm abit not happy with HWL's service... :D but wat to do... they're one of the cheapest in the market....

:D R3 dampers n springs are not height adjustable... :D hahaha...

faisal sifu, R3... wats' the feedback are, their cornering abilities are good, beside the spot weld body, i think the dampers setting are doing good job right?

how is it? is it still comfort on daily drive? :D

kwai

simple words to describe the comfort: someone driving at 180 above, i can sleep behind (i get car sick VERY easily)

Comfort wise, very subjective really. Even though the SR3 is a track car for the road, it's not as bad as you think. Different people have different tolerances of comfort; I've had a Titan equipped Kelisa before, and I dare say the SR3 ride is a lot more comfortable, although not as comfy as stock Kelisa. But your SR3 comes with very supportive Recaros so that's a plus point.

There's always a trade off between comfort and control, comfort and mass, mass and control. A 3 point balancing act, I'd say and the SR3 manages all of them pretty well (with more bias to control) :)