Questions about Evo 7

theycallmeBruce

Hey guys,

Just a couple of questions for all of you. I'm interested in getting an EVO 7 or WRX STi Version 7. I've read about a few of the differences, but I'd like to know first hand from anybody which they preferred and why. I know the EVO is definitely faster, but I've heard that the STi is more comfortable and such.

Also, I pretty much know where to get an STi serviced and maintained (there's an STI specialist in Glenmarie), but where would you get an EVO 7 serviced and maintained? Is there an EVO specialist that everybody goes to?

And one other thing: when looking for a 2nd-hand EVO 7, what are some things to look out for? I take it the more stock it is, the better?

Thanks for your help and comments, guys. Looking forward to reading your posts!

Hi Bruce, sounds like easy questions, but hard to answer. Not may people own both cars to seriously make a comparison. I think if you want to buy this kind of car, comfort shouldn't be a priority. You can soften your absorbers, switch to quieter, softer tyres to make it more comfortable, but it won't be so 'shiok' to drive. Something will be missing in the performance.

Performance-wise, I think both cars can take more than whatever you can give to it. STi ver7 got that really nice boxer engine sound, if that's important to you.

Every Evo owner have their mechanics servicing their cars. It's not just one place.

The general opinion for sports cars is the less modified the better. Personally, I think if you're going to get this kind of car, you can't resist modding it one day anyway, so why not get one that has some performance mods? Saves you the money.

I was the same optioned and situation also last time , except me was Evo7/8 Vs. STI Ver8.

At last bought Evos due to easier maintainability and cheaper, of course. Not really much on hard-core modding cause just love to drove as is where is. The only frustrated me was that time (Jan-Feb 07), only 1 or 2 unreg E7 available due to AP restrictions that time(the last batch). . Unreg Evo8 not available at all. Nowadays Evo already many due to uplift of the AP restrictions.

For me, my upmost concerned was Evos is much easier to maintain, as compared to STI. Bear in mind that buying a car is one story..to maintain it is another story!

maybe you can try test driving both makes... the most important thing is the feel of it which suites your liking..

agreed wif Leslie..personal taste/preference dat counts ay!

my 2cents: STI if ur not into modding & use d car as it is cz stock alrdy nice :) while evo if ur into modds & stuff cz try looking at stock evo7-9..mannn even wajalution looks hotter :)

if u want to look for modding pm mynnDAWG, he is an expert:adore: best in malaysia and singapore and his car very confort like the new E-Class:biggrin: :biggrin:

hahahahahhaa... dun worry.. mynndawg doesn't wear the yellow boots...

Thanks guys for the helpful comments and suggestions. :biggrin:

I've tested a Ver. 7 before, but I haven't tested an EVO 7 yet. Comfort is not terribly important to me.....just as long as the a/c is blowing out freezing cold air!!! Can't live without the a/c in this country!

If Evo's are cheaper and easier to maintain, then I'd probably favour an Evo. Also sounds like they're easier to mod or are pretty much made for modding, eh? Yeah, I'm interested in modding (currently modding and restoring an old RX7 Savanna). So mynndawg's the guy to go to for modding, eh? Hmmm, maybe I'll pm you one day, if I ever get an Evo!

I actually wanna a stock (or close to possible stock) Evo cuz I don't know if the previous owner's mechanic did a good or completely crappy job on modding the car! There are so many things that can go wrong if the mechanic doesn't know his stuff. Then, when the owner sees that it's too problematic and expensive to fix, he sells it, and then guys like me end up buying a lemon! So I'll try to find a stock 7 if possible.

Thanks for the comments and suggestions dudes! Keep'em coming!!! :top:

Sti rear seats space is smaller than evo's rear seats, as comment by many female friends. but i sit in the driver seat... so i am not very sure. hehe.

my ride is harsh as i am using tein monoflex, cornering is superb, that is the fun part for me, comfortablity level is low.

how about your current RX7 Savanna? do you satisfy with your current setting ? harsh or soft ride? that should determine your preference on your future evo / sti too.

personally i prefer the external look of evo. also i prefer the dashboard design of evo. when i look at the engine bay of Sti, with the intercoler on top, it feels so "packed" for me, dunno how to add things in the future. but that probably because i am reluctant to accept the engine layout of it.

some rumour says that boxer engine will no last for 4-5 yrs, usually need over haul, and most of them replace the engine from half cut. it is due to its horizontal design of piston movement, occasionally engine oil does not fully lubricate all spots due to gravity. i am skeptical about this, those japs engineers from subaru are not stupid ok... and version 9 is still remaining the boxer engine. you want to find out more. probably this is not true.

car theft for evo is a big headache ! if you do not love evo so much, do not go for it, won't sleep well at night.

Thanks guys for the helpful comments and suggestions. :biggrin:

I've tested a Ver. 7 before, but I haven't tested an EVO 7 yet. Comfort is not terribly important to me.....just as long as the a/c is blowing out freezing cold air!!! Can't live without the a/c in this country!

If Evo's are cheaper and easier to maintain, then I'd probably favour an Evo. Also sounds like they're easier to mod or are pretty much made for modding, eh? Yeah, I'm interested in modding (currently modding and restoring an old RX7 Savanna). So mynndawg's the guy to go to for modding, eh? Hmmm, maybe I'll pm you one day, if I ever get an Evo!

I actually wanna a stock (or close to possible stock) Evo cuz I don't know if the previous owner's mechanic did a good or completely crappy job on modding the car! There are so many things that can go wrong if the mechanic doesn't know his stuff. Then, when the owner sees that it's too problematic and expensive to fix, he sells it, and then guys like me end up buying a lemon! So I'll try to find a stock 7 if possible.

Thanks for the comments and suggestions dudes! Keep'em coming!!! :top:

To satisfy yourself, better look for unreg models of Evo/Sti. No need to pening2..assuming the unreg car is non-accident & stock car from Japan lar.

...but of course there are good used evos outside there. Just get 2-3 opinions on used prospect Evo/Sti from our fellow here before purchasing one.

Sti rear seats space is smaller than evo's rear seats, as comment by many female friends. but i sit in the driver seat... so i am not very sure. hehe.

my ride is harsh as i am using tein monoflex, cornering is superb, that is the fun part for me, comfortablity level is low.

how about your current RX7 Savanna? do you satisfy with your current setting ? harsh or soft ride? that should determine your preference on your future evo / sti too.

personally i prefer the external look of evo. also i prefer the dashboard design of evo. when i look at the engine bay of Sti, with the intercoler on top, it feels so "packed" for me, dunno how to add things in the future. but that probably because i am reluctant to accept the engine layout of it.

some rumour says that boxer engine will no last for 4-5 yrs, usually need over haul, and most of them replace the engine from half cut. it is due to its horizontal design of piston movement, occasionally engine oil does not fully lubricate all spots due to gravity. i am skeptical about this, those japs engineers from subaru are not stupid ok... and version 9 is still remaining the boxer engine. you want to find out more. probably this is not true.

car theft for evo is a big headache ! if you do not love evo so much, do not go for it, won't sleep well at night.

Donno what other people opinion on Sti V8. For me , the builds-up materil & design of the car and quality make the car look 'cheap', as compared to Evo. Looks like Gen2 when u sat inside. No window frame somemore. That was my wife and my self comments during the test drove session one those days.

And as what H22A-C said, the only keburukan of driving of Evo as compared to Sti was the car theft. In fact, that was the reason why i'm cancelled my holiday trip to Penang this week, after one of our forumer car being hich-jacked at Penang area last week!!.:mad::mad:

for me, an sti ride are better than evo may be because of the chasis setup and suspension.

u wack until 200km an sti very stable but i can said evo aredy like roti canai. somemore with that kind of frameless window design, u cant even heard the a single wind sound comming in.

if i got money i waanna throw my car and get a s204:thefinger:

canondale,
i reserve the voltex front bonnet and canard..heheheheheh!!!!! dun throw lah.. give me i very happy man oledy...lolz...

My vote is EVO then MLOC.
Only liked the STI bec of its low speed growl from the pipes.
Can asked MI about the 26 Dec night from Ayer Keroh to JB -
he was side by side with an STI ------>

just to add something, for looks, i still prefer evo.

leslie,

my canard u cant fit in yur bumper la, unless u throw yours and get my c west:biggrin:

H22-C, my Savanna rides quite harsh as the suspension is new....so I guess if I'm used to that, I'd be used to an Evo, eh?

Thanks for the advice, aja....I'll definitely get a couple of your guys' opinions on the car I'm interested in. Actually, are any of you guys familiar with the "Rahman Brothers?" Their importers of reconditioned Jap & Continental Cars. They've got a dealership just off the NPE highway.

Yeah, I agree with you guys....the Evo looks so much cooler than the STi!!! With a wicked bodykit on that bad boy, other cars will be jumping outta your way! :evil:

Man, those dickwad thieves.......we should set up a sting and when we catch'em, we should cut off their......hands!!!! Can't good alarm systems stop these mofo's???

Does anybody here drive an EVO VIII MR? I've been reading up on it and I've seen a couple for sale (eg. Rahman Brothers) and from everything that I've read, they handle better than the VII's. What do you guys think? I'm kinda edging towards an VIII MR!

8mr has aluminium roof, bilstein shocks, bbs rims, superAYC.. handling is indeed better...response too..

cannodale,
then i just reserve the front bonnet only lah...hehehehehe..

Write your reply...