question about rim offset

• Thread starter achor
  • Start date
  • Replies 11
  • Views 1K
A

achor

this might be a stupid question. but how do u determine the offset of rims for a car? i'm driving a '96 JDM DC2. so what would be the offset for my rims? i know that my pcd are 100 n current tyres are 195/55 R15. so how do i know the offset of my rims? thinking of changing it to 16" or 17" in the near future. but i don't know what offset is suitable for my car.

not too sure about this myself... but i am sure that for hondas, anything between 35 to 40 is safe... anything below 35 MAYbee "terkeluar" a bit, have to test, anything above 40 MAYBeee... a spacer is required.. have to test also... because depends on rims (type, size, design) also...

easy way 2 know yer offset - open yer tyre n peek into d rim's inside...sure it's stated there...usually honda's 15' rims are 45 offset...hope dis helps :)

nashrey said:
easy way 2 know yer offset - open yer tyre n peek into d rim's inside...sure it's stated there...usually honda's 15' rims are 45 offset...hope dis helps :)

so there's something about the rim's offset written on the inside of the rims? i must check this. but inside the tyre? :eek: got to go to the tyre shop la...

achor said:
so there's something about the rim's offset written on the inside of the rims? i must check this. but inside the tyre? :eek: got to go to the tyre shop la...

not really inside la but backside. jack ur car and look. or if no jack slide under ur car use a torchlite and look :)

What is the offset range for an EK? I want it to stick out as wide as possible. Will i get more traction from doing this?? For track use.

If ur car pure JDM ... usually they stamp a sticker at door body frame driver side. Ur tire dimension, rims dimension and vehicle colour code is there. Unless somebody got itchy hand to take that sticker off. If still doubt bout it, pay a visit to the nearest Honda dealer which is my friend Sendai done last week .... or msg Sendai to ask that dealer on behalf of you .

Sendai .... already found suitable rims for ur Torneo or not ?? Buy my Enkei laaa ... I give u good price

kikaider said:
What is the offset range for an EK? I want it to stick out as wide as possible. Will i get more traction from doing this?? For track use.

go for anything below 38 and assuming ur going for 15's, 7" wide rims would be good (most 15's are 6.5").... but becareful not to stick out too much, nanti sagat during hard cornering...
kikaider.... what car u drive for track??

achor,
the spec for dc2R spec96 is as follow:
15x5.5 +50.
the max recommended spec for your car is 16x7 +42 (TE37). for 16", the spec of offset is between +42 to +45 whereas for 15" is +40 to +45, depends on the width.

last time when to the dealer,they gave me the correct info about changing my

rim..lets say from 15"-->16",17"

for accord/torneo CF4 16x6.5JJ offset 45-48, 16x7JJ 48-50. Something like this.
Have to check again. If not,your rims will hit your car fender etc.

cad843,
not yet find sutable rims loo..cause offset 48-50 very hard to find..your enkei?
offset not ngam la...

399 said:
achor,
the spec for dc2R spec96 is as follow:
15x5.5 +50.
the max recommended spec for your car is 16x7 +42 (TE37). for 16", the spec of offset is between +42 to +45 whereas for 15" is +40 to +45, depends on the width.

so, for 16" it's +42 to +45. what about for 17"?? i bet it must be +44 to +45 :tongue: from the specs that u gave la.

15x6.5 +50
16x7 +42
17x7 +44

can or not like that? but max is +45.

so what is the lowest number offset can an EK go? for a 15" and 16".