Civic or Putra

• Honda Civic 1.6

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Proton Putra 1.8

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

hawick

guys, sorry for posting this kind of question again.

how do you choose between Honda Civic EG 1.6 and proton Putra 1.8?

Honda Civic EG 1600cc manual
Year :1992-93
Max HP :160.0 bhp@7600 rpm
Max Torque :150.0 Nm@7000 rpm
RoadTax :RM125.80

Proton Putra 1800cc manual
Year :1997
Max HP :138.0 bhp@6000 rpm
Max Torque :164.0 Nm@5500 rpm
RoadTax :RM336.90

1. Car price are not much different, RM32,000-38,000
2. Take it for daily use, City + Highway Drive
3. Both car are more than 8 years old, repair job is a must. Which spare part is cheaper?
4. What is the Fuel Consumption for both car?
5. Planning to go for minor mod, so accessories price are also included into consideration.

Hope that you guys can share your experience, like:
- maintenance cost, Honda vs Proton
- FC, 1.6 vs 1.8
- reliability, Honda 92 vs Proton 97
- etc...

Your reply will be appreciated. Thanks

P/S: i'm not clear about spec of Civic, plz correct me if i wrong.

definitely a putra coz the EG is simply too old. (12 years old averagely)
spare parts wise , putra will be cheaper.

fuel consumption , both are almost the same i guess.
one more thing , dont underestimate the power of a 97 putra , it may
outrun a b16a without u realising with proper mods

i know coz ive owned both a putra/civic b4.

i think a civic would be more reliable than a putra..
spare parts would not be easy for both cars...i think better ask those who actually one these cars..

i personally would get a civic, without a doubt...
loads of mods are availble for both cars...
also i think the civic would easily have a better FC than the putra..

maintenance...again ask those who one of these cars..point to remember is that putra is a discontinued model..so parts are not easily available even from half-cuts...civic parts can be found at halfcuts though..

just my opinion...correct me if i am wrong in stating any of the above things...haha...

all boils down to individual preference, but one being more than 10 yrs old.... age is always a factor in buying cars.... a car ages like a man.. as it grows older, it tends to "squeks" ... in another word... problem sure got la, but while the other is a proton, which we all knows... suffers premature aging. So, it depends on the condition of the car.

but the EG is alittle on the costy side, more than 10 yrs old for that price? hmm....

I believe the FC is pretty much similiar.. can't run much, itz either just a marginal +/-. I would probably go for the EG... icon sake. ;)

but in a long run, the proton would probably cost u alittle lower in maintaining it... we all know that proton is cheaper to maintain. ;)

ermmmm putra will be better dude...im not sure about honda cars la...but see the year better take putra..honda so old la bro 1992 car, maybe u need to repair alot...maintenance also cheaper than honda cars...parts both cars also got alot of shop selling specially half cut shops...fuel not sure never drive honda before...

but u wanna modify then think what modification first la...wanna play NA take civic if wanna play with TURBO then take putra la....;) chowwwwww

i think i will get a civic
then change the engine block to B20B wif the engine head B16A
then bolt on turbo to it
sure the performance will very nice n powerful

iiiii

gsrTurbo9166 said:
then bolt on turbo to it

dude he wanna use daily drive la bro...turbo mesti poket full money la...but ur modification good for racing...weekend car :D

gsrTurbo9166 said:
then bolt on turbo to it

yes, i do agree that, transplant engine is the easiest and fastest way to increase the power of the car. But since i take it for daily use, i dun think i'll touch the engine. Most probably is changing to adjustable suspension, rims and tire, adding strut bars, open pod air filter, etc, more toward to the handling of the car.

nashlovebrown said:
dude he wanna use daily drive la bro...turbo mesti poket full money la...but ur modification good for racing...weekend car :D

hehehe, yes, yes, used for daily drive, my pocket still not deep enough to go for turbo. And i heard fuel price will be increased again next year, good news to every car owner !!!! :biggrin:

I've driven an Isawara, Satria and Waja before. I now drive a Civic. Honda for me anytime man though it may be older. A lot will depend on the condition of both cars though. Hard to determine which is the better bargain without having seen the condition of both cars. The Civic may be old ler but if well maintained will last for a long time.

A Civic has better looks eventhough it is old.

Putra? Nah... many people dump the ori look for EVO3 one. Also, any performance upgrade on a Putra means 'preparing kopi money' in case of JPJ road block.

So, it may be cheaper to maintain but in the long run... not worth it.

And u attract chicks with a Honda... period.

Proton? Bah...

Another plus... being a 1600cc... u qualify for a roadtax reduction.

acbc said:
A Civic has better looks eventhough it is old.

Putra? Nah... many people dump the ori look for EVO3 one. Also, any performance upgrade on a Putra means 'preparing kopi money' in case of JPJ road block.

So, it may be cheaper to maintain but in the long run... not worth it.

And u attract chicks with a Honda... period.

Proton? Bah...

Another plus... being a 1600cc... u qualify for a roadtax reduction.
i tot u gonna recommend gallant... your chic mobile. hahahaha.

Attract chicks with a 12yr old car? I dunno what kind of chicks is in question here. Plus I've seen better looking chicks in Kelisa :)

hahaa..that one still ok, imagine this..hot chic on "HONDA" EX5...ahahaha..damnn!!.....

p/s: it's still a HONDA ehh..;)..ehheeh..

aku_sangap said:
hahaa..that one still ok, imagine this..hot chic on "HONDA" EX5...ahahaha..damnn!!.....

p/s: it's still a HONDA ehh..;)..ehheeh..

bro, i need opinion on performance & maintenance lah, dun talk about chick lah, plz

haha..ok..ok, out of topic...as i mentioned earlier, to me, civic eg6 is better..;)..in terms of looks and performance..(stock to stock comparison)....just my 2 cents..;)

i notice that Honda EG does not has many choice on exterior changes, right?
because i didn't found EG with bumper changes, mayb there is no many design from Bodykit shop?

well, to me, i prefer the original JDM's looks....;)...if u still wanna change the car's appearance, u still can do it.....fibreglass, pu..etc..etc..;)....afterall, it's ur car and ur money...so, it's ur decision rite?..;)...

zephyr3d said:
i tot u gonna recommend gallant... your chic mobile. hahahaha.

A Galant is not a chick car... in fact they hate it! So, now categories as Road Bully Mobile... hehehe...