Project " Saving the Old Lady "

khoyos,

man, tht's some compliments from u i bet..heheh:biggrin:
but really, having a chance to locate one of this classic and having older mechanics to re built them again is totally different from getting a new loan approve to own even a R35 i guess..:biggrin: ...this 240Z is gonna be a car i would like to show the most later on!!!>....

e39a,

thanks man, and for the engine wise...yes, made the decision to put everything back to the old school, perhaps some from newer Datsun like the Datsun 2000L or something. Manage to locate a shop which still store quite alot of parts for old Datsun engine like the L20 and L24....i think i'm just a lucky bastard in this!!!>.:slug:

tony5050, it is a compliment! :D

when i was doing engine selection for my old lady, i initially decided for 1JZ/2JZ due to its reliability and proven power potential without big budget unlike RB. then after much consideration and comments like "this aint a cefiro or bluebird that u can simply plonk in any engine" and "hey, keep the nissan bloodline" and there goes. now running RB25DET. i had my regrets due to its lack of power but its okay. i'll have the power i deserve maybe in my next car... it's fun driving a car with the Z emblem. just love the attention hehehe. and its super stable at high speeds!

Wow.. 2002 Turbo already making it's way on the list. Where did you capture that pic? Saw several 2002Ti few tears back, but dunno still can find one or not. I am talking the one with round rear lamps.. the square lamp one also looks fine.

Autoart DO produced these 2002/Ti/Turbo models. How about getting one for referrence for future project?

Tony5050,

I just register to this forum but before that I did keep follow the progress of your "old lazy". This project is awesome althought it need some times and vitamin "M". Keep it up and keep updated us the progress of the car!! Bravo man!!!

I just realized this link and wow, am I touched by your efforts to restore this car. I also noticed that you got this car confused with the ZX. Yours is the even rare and more beautiful Z. The picture of your friends car from Thailand is the ZX. As I was reading all the post, I noticed it and I was thinking to myself "Oh not! Don't change it into a ZX!" hahahah... Luckily you got the correct fenders on. You even got the Z Dashboard. I would really love to see this car.

gtmaniac,

cool!!...will go and find out more about the die cast!!..;)

felix,

Man, thanks for ur support!!!...will definitely do her up nicely!!:burnout:

bullet,

wooo...i see sifu here!!!..;)
sifu, actually the blue car is a 240Z 2 seater just like wht i have. Its actually Dee's car!!..hahaha...i went to buy the car off the ex lady owner together with him almost a year ago and ...pfiuhhh... it came a long way. U probably found the rear lights diff becos they are from 260Z, the dash different and i also not sure from which Z, and the car is even running SR20 now!!..blardy hell!!...He chose the ZG nose for the front, but with the rather crazy front lip!!
nah...i'm not gonna follow his mistakes!!..hahahaha
by the way, do u have any recommendation of shops which keeps old Datsun engines and drive train parts around Klang Valley?..cheers mate@!

Eh! No laar. I am not sifu laa.. I'm just enthusiest.

The original Grill got space to put one big assed intercooler behind it. Don't change it to anything else. hahhaa...

You can log into my forum to ask some of the Chop shop roaming guys if they have parts. http://www.retroNISSANs.com

Cheers.

hey tony tat is so great tat u r saving the old lady!the old z is such a nice ride to keep!im getting myself a 260z soon.looking some part do u mind to share where did u get all ur bady part like the front lip,grill,all the rubbers around the car?n i saw ur pic tat is two dashboard in tat pic do u need both?do u have any contect num o msn?will like to know more bout ur project.thanzk!

hi guys,

finally got myself down to the workshop..but not fortunate enough to see much changes to the car so far.
Anyway, these are some photos i took earlier...from the last updates, more works are done on the interior and engine bay part...have a look...cheers!:burnout:

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h312/tony5050/DSC_0806.jpg

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h312/tony5050/DSC_0814.jpg

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h312/tony5050/DSC_0809.jpg

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h312/tony5050/DSC_0808.jpg

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h312/tony5050/DSC_0811.jpg

w00ts looks like the project is going along smoothly~! all the best n congrats on the restoration...

she's starting to look as fabulous as she's meant to be :)

cmng,
6th. In butterworth, same condition like wht i got...but car dealer ( around 70 years old ) chinese businessman insists of getting back RM28k for it!!..tht part i dont understand. The Z had been lying there for almost 13 years!!..the front bonnet is 80% full of Birdshit!

Bro Tony, yeap, u're right, i wanted to get that Z and restore it 2 years ago,
i tot i could get it with nice bargain..
because my friend told me that his father knows that uncle quite well,
so 1 day we went over to his shop and ask for the price,
and the uncle also quoted me around that price (20k++ i think, forgot d~)
i know in his shop got many rare antiques,
he told me that last time he got 1 260z, put there quite some time d,
then he sold it to 1 indian around 4-5k to scrap... aiks...

ps: yeaps, the front bonnet is full of bird's sh*t,
but have u saw the interior? it's full of spider webs!! haha~
i dare not open the door coz i scare later got big spider inside...:P

k2,

ya man..i opened the door in fact, but just cant get myself into the car!..damn!..

guys,

I'm now in a mid of finding a on-road condition 260Z no matter is 2+2 seater, let me know if u guys notice any ya..thanks guys!

how on earth is ur mech gonna clean up the rust spots? How do you pay the dude? Bit by bit or how?

Izso,

clean up?..i think cut out and re-mold more like it..hehehe...ya, installement is how i pay him la, more like a payments goes with progress,...or u can take it the other way round..;)

awesome thread!
tony, u've got one of the best car to restore and bring back to the roads there...
it doesnt have to beat any modern sports car or wat..
it's in a class of it's own..
all the best, cant wait for more progress and pictures!

*tabik*

hi tony5050 u got your car from bakar arang, sg petani right? so now where u repair your car? still in sp?

OMG...Tony...your PM bought me here....
The 240z body shape is good, you have the luck

teflon,

ya man..exactly, there's this shop in tht area who race in classic race in sepang quite often.

BV5015,

thanks bro..:)

guys,

well, since i'm not able to upload more new photos of the restoring Z..i thought some other Z photos would do fine here,,

anyway, i met this Fairlady quite some time ago and the owner is not selling it. Met this car somewhere near my hometown too..according to the owner, he used to have another fren who was driving the same car but was gone with the flood tht we had in Kedah 2 years ago...and tht made me realise how many old cars were "gone with the flood"...damn!!:banghead:

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h312/tony5050/DSC_0540.jpg

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h312/tony5050/DSC_0543.jpg

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h312/tony5050/DSC_0542.jpg