Problem: 4age 4th cylinder ignition...

rollakid

Ok straight to the point:

As some of you know already i run 20v svt, had been running fine without much prob until recently, it all happened after i fetch my auntie to the hospital and got into traffic jam whole day long and spend most of my trip going 5km/h for few hours.

The next time i start my engine, the car won't stop jerking, felt like i've lost a cylinder. so i open up all the spark plug and spark plug in cylinder #4 is totally carbonized. strange thing is just one spark plug only the rest is okay.

so i clean it up, but switch spark plug #3 and #4 to see whether it is the spark plug's problem or it is the other stuff.

one week later (today) i open up the spark plug again, and indead it is spark plug #3 in cylinder #4 which is all black and carbonized. so it is definitely not the plug's problem.

here's a few other thing i've notice:
1. after i clean the spark plug for the first time, it started to jerk like i lost one cylinder, but after 10 minute of driving its okay again, and the next time i start the engine it jerks again.
2. when i cabut the cables when the engine is running, #1, 2, and 3 gives off "pak pak pak pak pak" sound, got spark lar, but cable #4 when cabut there's no sound one, but when i connect back the cable the plug will run, but it feels like it do not have enough power compare to the rest of the 3 cables.

my question:
1. izit the cable's problem or izit the distributor's?
2. my mech told me svt's distributor is run on what sensor one, so not like old one run on contact, it won't spoil one. its gonna be a pain if i need to change something in the distributor cuz i need to take out the whole engine to do that...

help~:cry_smile:

if u need the svt distributor or spark cable
i have it up for grap :regular_smile:

Rollakid,
I think u just need to check ur plug cable first, if need help just let me know, i help u check.

2 slow,
Did u check up the gearbox and flywheel for me???.......do give me the price for the distributor set only without plug cable ok, i need to keep for stock just in case.

trd_ae92, about the flywheel no news from friends yet.have to look up at store room for the distributor,will let u know later

rollakid, good luck.if u need help give me a ring

2slow said:
trd_ae92, about the flywheel no news from friends yet.have to look up at store room for the distributor,will let u know later

rollakid, good luck.if u need help give me a ring
thanks.

one more thing is, when i park my car under the hot sun for sometime until my car becomes a sauna, the engine works just fine... its either that or i drive for a while to make everything in the engine bay hot.. like when its hot it doesn't have that much of a problem...

and will the distributor break or not? mech told me 20v's distributor wont' break one ler.. *confused* say not same like old ke70 4k engine's distributor where i literally have to replace the contact inside it every 10,000km.. sometime longer...

I dunno how the insides f the 20V stock distributor is. But if it is normal mechanical distributor, or course it would fail. Take out and see the contact points, f it is uneven at even 1 contact, thats your problem. The plugs are not firing. Another issue is cable. Cheapest to change. Last time i had problems with the cable and changed it. Symtoms just like yours.

netmatrix said:
I dunno how the insides f the 20V stock distributor is. But if it is normal mechanical distributor, or course it would fail. Take out and see the contact points, f it is uneven at even 1 contact, thats your problem. The plugs are not firing. Another issue is cable. Cheapest to change. Last time i had problems with the cable and changed it. Symtoms just like yours.
i raise this question to my mech before, because instead of cutting a hole in the firewall, he knock it back just enough to fit the distributor's length. I'm used to changing the contact, so i ask him how should i change it because if i need to do it i'll have to un-bolt the engine from the mounting and pull the engine forward to take out the distributor. Then he say that it is running on "sensor" so it will not spoil. dunno lar thats what he say.

levin818 said:
Sound like cable's problem... why not just swap and see?
i hope it's just the cable lol, but i don't have extra, have to wait until the weekends and see who got one extra for me to test it out....

Well,

2Slow, can u ask ur friend to update, just the flywheel attach the block there, if got then got lor, if don't have mean " BEEN STOLEN " lor since u gave the 20v svt engine to the school for mechanical class. also waiting for ur distributor too.... the price. muaaahah..Thanks.

rollakid, i got ask if buying the original 20v distributor cover or rotor, both nearly RM300 lar.... Distributor won't break one, it running machanism type not the contact type. I got extra cable, will go home find for u, u only need the 4th cylinder cable right, the shorter one.

yes the shortest one. today i fiddle abit with the cable then so far like okay only.. dunno is loose or what.. wait test a few more days see first, no time take from you also until weekend..

today took some free time to check on the cables again. took them out and from outside nothing seems to be wrong. then realized that when i turn on the engine, and touch the cable of the 4th cylinder near the distributor side, i felt like my hand got somewhat of a little biting shock, at the frequency of the ignition.

so this proves that the wire is faulty?

and i can hear a faint tak tak tak sound like spark, not the vvt sound.

drive the car for 10 min and it gradually goes away and the 4th cylinder felt like firing properly. so just now lap my way back home, doing 100+ in 3rd gear and suddenly smell like got something burn pulak..

@_@;;

My no4 plug cables are not tight also,but got no symptom like you...engine run like normal..weird aye

eee.. my engine jerks pretty bad ler.. like running on race cam only now..

svt top overhaul will cost how much? i think there's some seal is leaking and the shim is noisy

rollakid said:
eee.. my engine jerks pretty bad ler.. like running on race cam only now..

svt top overhaul will cost how much? i think there's some seal is leaking and the shim is noisy

Ur engine from EFN one....ai..... no need to top overhaul lar...i got extra 20v head, just plug and play, only need to change seal is enough lor... top overhaul and u also need to skin the shim too... top set kit i think is about < RM 600 kuar???...... haven't include workmanship and the skinning fees ohrr... not making u scare lar just my friend just finishing his top overhaul cause him about RM2500 errrr....but he got change timing belt, seal, water pump those lar.....

trd_ae92 said:
Ur engine from EFN one....ai..... no need to top overhaul lar...i got extra 20v head, just plug and play, only need to change seal is enough lor... top overhaul and u also need to skin the shim too... top set kit i think is about < RM 600 kuar???...... haven't include workmanship and the skinning fees ohrr... not making u scare lar just my friend just finishing his top overhaul cause him about RM2500 errrr....but he got change timing belt, seal, water pump those lar.....
waliuer... like that used until blow baru see see. i just want that port and polished head. used until blow then baru do something fun again.. should last a while more at the very least.

yala........agree use it and rape it untill it blow or 7 holes leaking then u baru do it one go lor...i think ur piston ring also half half liao lar....