petrol smell at the backside

fitrik

i used awd fuel tank for last 3 years. but suddenly last month i noticed strong petrol smell appear at the backsde. the smell even worse when the tank almost empty, but if the tank full, the smell not too strong. i have checked an noticed no leaking at all. does anybody has experienced the same thing and how to overcome this problem.

(please help, because something play with petrol will be danger.):confused_smile:

better check with mechanic whether the fuel pump is under the backseat,maybe the fuel pump leaking!

ALFAGTA!!! u are rite!!! pls go check ur fuel pump... i did few case already... is the fuel pump leak or maybe the seal need to replace... = )

fitrik , plz explain in more detailed ...

when u smell the petrol smell it's in the backseat, or when standing behind the car?

is the car running, or off when u can smell the petrol smell ?

gohkokeng said:
unburnt fuel get free from exhaust system

if gohkokeng said tat, den u nid to check ur sparkplug ~ fitrik ur car got white smoke?

justlikeu said:
ALFAGTA!!! u are rite!!! pls go check ur fuel pump... i did few case already... is the fuel pump leak or maybe the seal need to replace... = )

Bro, hope you can clarify more clearly on this, because my fuel pump is in the fuel tank. Which part on the fuel pump need to be replaced.:confused_smile:

regards

Nieto said:
if gohkokeng said tat, den u nid to check ur sparkplug ~ fitrik ur car got white smoke?

Bro,
Just changed sparke plug three months ago, and no white smoke come out from the exhaust. And for your information no petrol smell from the exfhaust gas.:regular_smile:

regards

nitrus said:
fitrik , plz explain in more detailed ...

when u smell the petrol smell it's in the backseat, or when standing behind the car?

is the car running, or off when u can smell the petrol smell ?

Bro,
the smell only happen when the fuel volume lower than half. No smell when the tank is full. the smell is more like wap petrol. we can notice the smell when come out from the car after long running or after hardbreaking. there is no smell inside the car. the smell pretty strong on the right car at the backside(where the fuel pump placed). hope this info can help u to help me

regards:regular_smile:

does anybody know how fuel tank works? Because at the fuel pump there are a return line, delivery line and another line (connected to the manifold, i think). Maybe the problem is something to do with the line that connected to the manifold

aint sure bout tat, for most fuel inject vehicle, da fuel pump is inside fuel tank (rendam with fuel), if carb vehicle, da fuel pump i think is top of da fuel tank, not very sure for carb....

I had the same problem with my GTi, strong smell of fuel from the rear. Problem got progressively worse when consumption dropped by almost 40%. Diagnosed the leak to be from a split filler hose.

I also think it's running too rich ...

Fitrik, after awhile when ur car is already off, when u're near the car do u still smell it ? If not, then i think u dun have to worry, maybe ur Cat convertor something wrong or running rich ... *shrug*

Bro Fitrik, you can check the car whether it is running rich or lean by looking at the a/f meter or perhaps a EGT (if your ride is a tebo one).

Just my 2 cents :)

not all fuel injection car fuel pump are inside the fuel tank wan... some are under the seat... bro.. i advise u remove ur back seat and check... cuz normally at workshop those customer complain to me that got fuel smell... we cannot tell wat's the problem at 1st... hav to check step by step wan... den only can tell where's the problem... if can straight away tell where come the problem den can be god of car liao la... hehe... =)

normally the fuel pump is under ur seat or behing the bonnet.....
fuel tank is to carry ur fuel,fuel pump is to pump ur fuel to ur engine la!
just go to mechanic ask him to check ur fuel pump....if not from there,might be something else...coz it's dangerous all the time driving with petrol smell on the road!