Overclocking Freakss Unite Here

antonio

Old Member
:D
I'm using a celeron 2.4...the O/c that i did was raising the FSB (like mostly ppl do n say)...but i just cant go above 117 which is 17mhz above standard speed (100)...

my mobo is the MSI Neo2 865....512 single channel pc3200 Kingston DDR....i just can't get above 17...just say i raised it at 18 then everything starts...windows crashing(blue Screen,or even unable to boot(windows has halt your computer..if you have recenly installed bla bla bla)message....i tried raising the voltage up to 1.600v...i dun dare to go more....coz the voltage selections turn red meaning that it is at dangerous level of voltage..... I'm wif XP pro......

Issit bcoz of the ram????but how can it....since i run just 118 and not more that 200mhz....or issit the processor limit or the mobo.....

Step i do for the O/c

Set the DRAM Frequency to 266
Spread Spectrum On(what is a spread spectrum i dunno)
Adjust CPU Bus Clock 118
Adjust AGP/PCi Clock 66.67/33.33
Vcore Adjust On
CPU Voltage 1.525(117)1.600(118 still crashhhhh)
DDR Power Volt = 2.6(standard) O/c 2.7
AGP Power Volt = 1.5(standard) O/c 1.6

anyone can comment on my errors?????thanks guys...

btw way i'm using cooler master jet series for my HS....thermal paste comes wif the cooler.....white colour...(maybe in 2 week getting the Artic Silver 5)

Wah got OC kaki here also. But i retire long already heheh.

Spread spectrum means the speed of the ram affects other components as well. And there is a communication feed to CPU also. If you overclock the ram your CPU OC speed would be affected as well. If you have true 333 ram, then the spread spctrum no need to enable.

1volt increment enuff lor. But there is also a limit.

I got an old P3 550E coppermine or tulatin? Which i succesfully raised the FSB to 133 without using extra voltage. Just a bigger and sink. So i get 733 used for 1 year already. But i didn;t use for games. Just for networking.

Artic silver is very expensive. Last time i'm using just the RM4 per tube grey stuff. Works fine also. Its important to use your fingers to feel the processor heat sink after 2 minutes after boot to see if the sink heats up too fast.

still cannot raise more than 118FSB....arrghhhhhh!!!!why why why....maybe my cele's is condemm aledi meh????heheheheh...
The spread spectrum i dun enable (for no knowledge reason)....hehehehe....
rm4????what brand is that?????my heat sink(JET4) no heat after 2 minutes or 20 minutes....maybe got but so so soooooo little....cannot feel the heat....but the readings in the bios and the MSI program for the O/C stated around 50c....hmmmmm....why ahh????
:huh:

cel 2.4 not a 'great' overclocker.....a cel2.0 does even better....wanna know more overclocking tips?...give danny a PM....he's been selling o/c stuffs for as long as i know.

Hi antonio,

Good attempt for your first try at overclocking but u still can go higher as the average oc for a 2.4 Celeron is around 3ghz.

First of all, what is the temp that you are getting now?

Try running Prime 95 & check your temp at the same time. If it is close to 60c or higher, it means that your cpu cooler or case ventilation is inadequate.

Yes, arctic silver is definately more expensive than the normal grey stuff but works a whole lot better. On average, it can lower down your cpu temps by 5-10 Celcius compared to normal thermal grease. Heck, even comparing Arctic Silver 3 & 5 there is already 5 celcius difference.

The max vcore u can set is 1.8v if u have a good cooler.

Your ram is fine since you are not even running at DDR400 specs eventhough you have a DDR400 memory.

If u really insist, I have one at OP low yat for RM130.

Actually we found that the coolermaster Jet 4 is a poor performer. Only get it if you are in for the looks.

Performance wise, you are far better of with Thermalright series. Any one of their regular heatinks outperform the coolermaster by 5-10 celcius or more.

hmm...how much is the Thermalright?If the price is right,i'll get Leonard to deliver it for me.

Thermalright also costs RM130 for the GLX700 & all the way up to RM290 for the top end SLK948 which can even beat those RM500-600 water coolers.

hi danny,

i was thinkin to get the AS5 but didnt have time yet.......butis it really true about lowering the temp by 10deg??
my god...i really have to buy it alredy..
currently my athlon 1800++ i overclock to 2ghz..the temp is 52 on full load with Xdream heatsink the cheap heatsink....if use as5 dapat around 45deg full load..i puas hati alredy.......

so can as5 lower the temp to 45???

thnx

Originally posted by Danny@Mar 7 2004, 12:24 PM
Hi antonio,

Good attempt for your first try at overclocking but u still can go higher as the average oc for a 2.4 Celeron is around 3ghz.

First of all, what is the temp that you are getting now?

Try running Prime 95 & check your temp at the same time. If it is close to 60c or higher, it means that your cpu cooler or case ventilation is inadequate.

Yes, arctic silver is definately more expensive than the normal grey stuff but works a whole lot better. On average, it can lower down your cpu temps by 5-10 Celcius compared to normal thermal grease. Heck, even comparing Arctic Silver 3 & 5 there is already 5 celcius difference.

The max vcore u can set is 1.8v if u have a good cooler.

Your ram is fine since you are not even running at DDR400 specs eventhough you have a DDR400 memory.
hi danny,

yerp that's what i discovered when i browse the net searching for Cele's o/c...there is one indon site claming that its 2.4 can go as high as the 3 G's.....i'm not aiming that high but around 2.8 is ok aledi lah...considering i only have a CM jet 4 + bundle thermal "cream" to cool my cpu...hihihihi...

my temps are around the 51..(i dunno which wan coz according to MSI core center program my cpu is 49-52 (idle-load) the ambient inside is around 39-40...but in the American Megatrends Bios V3.0 in the CPU health status states that my readings are around 39-42.....)hmmmm...kinda blur which wan to follow....i'm affraid to update my bios due to it doesnt has any prob wif the standard processor's speed and hardware.....

I used a CPU Benchmarking tool wif functions like normal testing and CPU warmer...i can't remember the softwares name since i am rite now typing this at a CC.....

Case ventilation holes i have rite now is three i guess....1x side 2x 1=80+1=40mm/rear....i put on 5x 80mm fans which is 2xfront 1xside and 1xrear...the other one i place it inside the casing to channel air that comes from the front to the ram....ihihihihi i dunno if it works inside....and a CM aero 7+ fan i place it at the rear....i'm using a cheapo casing rm100 wif PSU bundled....hihihih...
maybe upgrading to a chieftec tower Rm400 and thermaltake PSU the butterfly series which has the x on the side and has lights inside the psu....480watss....pure power i guess(what is pure power hahahhaha????)and no PFC(what's a PFC for???)...maybe in two weeks depending on the financial next two weeks)....hihihiii...

1.8v can ahh????dun blow meh?????i raised it up to 1.550v oso aledi scary......standard 1.525v....afraid fry the cpu since just using jet 4 somemore no accurate reading on CPU heat...maybe i get a CM aerogate II if my budget are adequate for the temp reading.....can controll fan somemore...ok or not????

yappp....using a pc3200 kingston 512 DDR....but so eager for the Corsair twinx Pro LED Series the PC4000.....hahahah but no money.....

wish me luck......i'm runnin at 119 FSB rite now wif standard voltage and temp around 51.....but not quiet stable....if 118 ok but crashes sometimes....the only safe FSB adjustments are 117.....that is ok....but maybe i'll try and increase the v to 1.6v for testing.....hope i dun burn my cpu yet....ahhhh not money worrr for new CPU rite now....hihihihih.... :P :D

good luck! if u are nearby KL, u can bring your rig to our showroom ie. Overclockers Paradise, Lot 2.17, 2nd Floor, Low Yat Plaza, off Jlan Bukit Bintang, KL (tel :- 21480799). I can have a look at your system to see what can be done.

Btw we are also the distributors for Thermaltake, Arcticsilver, Danger Den water cooler, Phase Change (-40C active cooler), Globalwin & Thermalright so if you want to view whats new in town you can also drop by to have a look.

here's a glipmpse of whats here this month :-

http://www.opmultimedia.com

will do so...(went there a few times but juz looking around coz no money yet) hahahha....recently spent 1k on psu,sleeving kit,vantec iceberg,cooler master aerogate 2,CM thermal grease,sprays and so on for my modifications....maybe will go there around next month see if Belanjawan is alrite....hihihihii.... :huh: :P

comp freak here too...
my rig:

AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton AQZFA 1833 MHz @ 2420 MHz [220 x 11] (Vcore: 1.9v)
Abit NF7-S V2.0
Corsair XMS TWINX PC-3700 DDR-466 1GB (2 x 512MB) [11,3,3,3] (Vdimm: 2.9v)
Elsa Falcox ATi Radeon 9800SE 128MB Softmod (Core: 355 MHz, RAM: 255 MHz)
Creative Sound Blaster Live!
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA 80GB
Pinnacle PCTV
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM
Lite-On 52x32x52x CD-RW
ThermalTake Aquarius II Water Cooling System
Cooler Master Aerogate II
LG Flatron F700B
Logitech MX500

Originally posted by Danny@Mar 30 2004, 04:11 AM
Metalzone - nice results. Whats your temp on maximum load?
about 52/53 degrees when oc'ed at that speed...

btw, are u DannyOP from Lowyat.NET?? i suppose i recognize me... ;)

haha yea thats me :)

working on a new oc project now... phase change cooler at -40 Celcius on an AMD FX51, dual scsi raid & hand picked Corsair ecc rams.

quite hard to oc the FX51, testing on air cooling first for prelimary testing with the Thermaltake Venus 12.

original speed, 2.2ghz oc to 2.4ghz.

Results with Nvidia FX5950 (graphic card at stock speed)

3DMark2001 - 19,000+
3Dmark2003 - 6300+

Not very impressive... the Nvidia graphic card does not perform that well compared to Radeon 9800xt.

Hey Danny i have seen those 3 musketeer analog monitoring thingys and thought to get 1. Is it necessary to have those for OC? Are they accurate? :P

I plan to use it as diag tools rather than OC tools. Or maybe u have some thing that i could carry around for diag purposes? Last time i went to ur shop, but i find it quite bare. Maybe u just moved in? Maybe i can visit u this Saturday. heheh.

i oso dunno are they really accurate by an inch or a mile...hihihih...but they look cool thats why i bought it....i use the aerogate II from CM to monitor temps....

Mr Danny....1 q's

the sensor do i put between the cpu and heatsink or i stick it around the heatsink to get the readings on CPU heat?????if not which is the most usually ppl stick the temp sensor to monitor??????

aiyoooo...after fixing my brand new acbel PSU...i have problemsssss.....

1.the floppy disk just went crazy-change psu to chicken brand ok change acbel bcomez gile....
2.pc just very hard to on....press on button...on about 1.0987 seconds then padam...have to press banyak kali...or sumtimes on off plug...aiyaaaa tension maaa...

why bcome lit dat......400watts Acbel PSU....cannot operate like i`d expected it to be....hassle free...no i'm on the chicken brand....rugi only 200....uwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa :( :(