NEW SATRIA R3 Topic

• Thread starter shaunchen
  • Start date
  • Replies 243
  • Views 21K
coming from a finance point of view, building that car with 78k will involve a cost allocation nightmare!!

big baller - in all honesty..i think any design by chris bangle needs to be shot. that is not a car i'd design. The only design that i think chris bangle did come up nicely was the fiat coupe. You missed the point of an R3 if you think i'd design that horrid creature. Where's the lightweight in the car? wheres the finese in looks? where's a sledgehammer (or pen) when i need one..that absolutely needs a lighter looking redesign. i think it is you who think that bodykits are the way to go...since i didnt even go look for pics of horrid beemers that arent lightweight in the first place. plus the fact anything by hamann seems outrageous.

regards

my so called design of a bmw would be like the 3.0 csl from the 70s. a beautiful car. however that it'll never pass crashtest regs today.

Originally posted by shaunchen@Dec 14 2004, 18:31
Call me crazy,

But i really love cars. My 1st Coupe was bought secondhand, i loved it so much I bought another New one. The yellow one you see is a 1997 16v Turbo. The pearl white one was year 2000. It's a 20v Turbo Plus. Plus my Subaru is for sale, any buyers?

Sorry if i'm running out of topic...(i can show you m R3 as i've not gone and collected it yet).

Shaun
shaun,

you rich bugger. I'll like to test all your cars one fine day at Sepang. Hahah. I don't care if you say no.

shaunchen: yup...that's a fact about the fiat coupe. The problem with his bmw designs (especially the sedans) is that they look god awful on anything less than 18 inches, the rear end seems like jenifer lopez's rear end...so big and droopy. and the rear wheel arch seems to be two sizes smaller than the front, especially from the 3 quarter angle. This flame surfacing seems to make the car unique, futuristic...i know...but i have the feeling it'll date very quickly. look at the 7 series, i believe soon its gonna look a little old fashion soon. however, the M5 bodykit seems to make the car look better....and tougher...but note its down to the large rims also. look at the stock 520...looks pretty daft.

note that ppl seem to say that with the 1 series the management seemed to tone down the whole thingy. i expect that future releases by bmw to be less radical. I still believe that bmw should have gone the direction that mercedes seem to have taken, a body pulled tightly around the chassis..look at the s-class, its actually as huge as the preceeding model, but looks smaller. Look at the ferraris, it seems to have been clothed tightly, as if a tight piece of cloth has been pulled over a slender body. Look at bmw, it looks like it is a dress with so many creases. But i must add...most beemers drive great. The last bmw i had the chance of trying recently was a 1989 750i. a marvelous machine, super engine the v12, the car felt chuckable like some small japanese saloon coz of the power and handling.

the db5 ranks very high on my list. james bond you know. ...

regards

I call shotgun on the Rex hehehe

Personally, I don't mind the new 5 series either, despite an outlook ruined by the existance of the Vios.

Anyway, like the M5 style or not, it's still got that 507bhp V10 inside...

Go to GT Auto in Sunway and a fibreglass/carbon bonnet will cost you RM1200 and upwards to RM2400 for a full carbon one

just a suggestion... dont wanna talk abt what is now around. lets talk abt the future...

MY WISH VARIANTS
future SRM Gti versions

1) SRM Gti - the main version. similar concept to the existing gti. this is for most of the consumers.

2) SRM Gti Lux - a limited edition added accessorised version. with nice peculiar paint colour finish, brand name alloy wheels, high end audios, higher spec recaro seats than the main version,nice carpets, HID lights etc. etc. sells at a price a little higher than the normal SRM Gti. this would appeal to most of high class drivers (and current R3 buyers too) who wants to look good and sporty (and attract the opposite sex) and will not look out of place when parked beside a BMW 3series (not M3 lar, normal one).

3) SRM Gti R3 - a no holds barred motorsports special. mostly the same as the normal SRM Gti (engines, gears etc.) but with most of the NVH removed, LSD added, braided steel brake lines, beefed up anti roll bars and not forgetting the seam welded shell and painted white :D . with stock low end SRM interior and steel wheels. recaro interior (can be the same as the lux version)and alloys are added cost options. base car (without options) is a little bit cheaper or the same as a normal SRM Gti. would be great if can be bought out of the showroom with a bolt-in rollcage (ala porsche 996 GT3's). can scare the little Civic TR's

if the future SRM Gti can have this kind of spec i think it would cover the need of various kind of consumers.

as of the price for a let say 2.0 engined SRM Gti
main model - RM80K
Lux Model - RM90K
R3 - RM80K (w/o options that is)

that would be resonable i think.

i'll be very proud to own 1 with this kind of specs and prices.

BTW abt the aluminum bonnets? cant they just put an aluminum panel into the existing stamping machines? as for the skeleton structure for the hood, can always use existing the steel one to cut cost. or maybe just too much hassle for such a little weight loss? maybe, but what a hype it can do to the car's cred...

I have seen the SRM and some that saw it on the road say that it has the Audi A3 proportions and design detailing. Which is good, of course.

If your predictions r true, then I will look forward to the R3 version!

not a prediction lor. just my wish... hope the R3 guys are reading it...

Err... hope that you guys won't mind with my intrusion. Read in MT that the R3 Gen2 is going to be launched sometime before the end of the year 2004. Anyone has a piece of news on that? Or perhaps the R3 guys can shine some lights on this. Thanks! ;)

shaunchen: that's not an r3..that as you said ...dtm spec. All i'd ask is that they start developing properly lightweight parts for the car....from the aluminium roof, to the bonnet, boot (if possible) and side fenders...all this parts are screwed in..except the aluminium roof of course, but bonding techniques are around to do just that...but i think cost would be too much. So everything else SHOULD/MUST be developed for the next R3 model, including lightweight glass all round.

As for me i'd not have any wide arch look, if the motorsport team believes in the lotus way to go, they'd agree that the first thing to go is the weight. I dont think lotus design philosophy includes wider arches...if they can fit 18 inch wheels behind stock arches, they would. And i'd honestly be happy if they come up with a 2liter campro engine for the gen2 r3, WITH the variable valve timing, 17 inch wheels, alu parts, and the rest..and not like what they have on a gen2 currently.

in conclusion....motorsport must ensure edequate development time for all these. I think many will pay RM90K-100k for a 2liter gen2 r3. limit its production to 1000 units for proton to be able to get bulk discounts, give some semblance of a 2 yr warranty and yet still keep it exclusive.

regards

Originally posted by shaunchen@Dec 14 2004, 22:30
Hi Crash,

My cars are like sissies, they cannot be tortured to extreme levels. They will throw tantrums. Both the 16v and 20v, are now used for slow drives only. As for the Rex, it's still okla...still got the growl and raw power. But it's stock standard, not even a boost meter or Blow-off valves. I will race with you using the R3. Hehehe. By the way, I'm not rich...it's all hard work and dedication.

Shaun
If I had any of the cars you have, barring the R3, I'd be so, so happy. Hard work + dedication? Yes. Hats off to you bro!

Originally posted by riggy@Dec 15 2004, 08:07
shaunchen: that's not an r3..that as you said ...dtm spec. All i'd ask is that they start developing properly lightweight parts for the car....from the aluminium roof, to the bonnet, boot (if possible) and side fenders...all this parts are screwed in..except the aluminium roof of course, but bonding techniques are around to do just that...but i think cost would be too much. So everything else SHOULD/MUST be developed for the next R3 model, including lightweight glass all round.

As for me i'd not have any wide arch look, if the motorsport team believes in the lotus way to go, they'd agree that the first thing to go is the weight. I dont think lotus design philosophy includes wider arches...if they can fit 18 inch wheels behind stock arches, they would. And i'd honestly be happy if they come up with a 2liter campro engine for the gen2 r3, WITH the variable valve timing, 17 inch wheels, alu parts, and the rest..and not like what they have on a gen2 currently.

in conclusion....motorsport must ensure edequate development time for all these. I think many will pay RM90K-100k for a 2liter gen2 r3. limit its production to 1000 units for proton to be able to get bulk discounts, give some semblance of a 2 yr warranty and yet still keep it exclusive.

regards
for you guys this is a pic of the SRM. for the proton guys... dont get angry and ask tom to remove it coz i got the pics from an open source. the UK patent office website is for all people to browse through :D

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v468/zaydtec/pro_new.jpg

the shape and perportions are nice. the wheelarches too, are large so dont need a bigger wheelarch than standard to shove in 17" wheels.

for others pls give a constructive and attainable wish list for your future SRM Gti. if all ppl wants huge turbo engine and 12 pot brakes (and cant buy the car that he dreamt of then...) then the proton guys wouldnt want to hear anything from us all.

as for lighter parts... only great for a really all out motorsport special. coz lightweight glass is actually 1piece non laminated one. lightweight but if accident... :(

same goes for lightweight body parts. thats why in my wishlist there is 3 types of SRM Gti's. i think lightweight bodyparts are needed just for the motorsport specials (maybe few hundred units) and not for the others. the lightweight bodyparts ( i mean body panels like fenders, bonnet, tailgate... not the whole chassis itself) i think are not too difficult to do. if the bodyshape is the same as the normal cars, cant they just put in a thinner gauge stell plate (but not too thin!) or lighter alloys into the stamping machine and stamp out the lighter parts?

anyway keep up ur (down to earth) wishlists guys !

alexz: i'd assume r3 as the motorsports version..thats why it should have lightweight parts...like if you want to worry about thicker glass...buy the standard gti..want lightweight glass, buy the r3 version as an example.

It is like wearing a gold rolex..if you're afraid of getting mugged, dont wear it. but that defeats the original purpose of you buying it in the first place..which is to wear it.

I also honestly think that the steel they use in a satria is thin enuff. You'd not pass crash testing with thinner steel. Its the automotive standard. Look at any honda or toyota to seem that its as thick as any proton. You need aluminium to reduce weight, but not the strength. You could use CF...but it'll be pricier.

regards

Originally posted by shaunchen@Dec 15 2004, 15:10
Hmm, speaking about watches. A gold rolex is quite outdated. I'd recommend to get a Rolex Submariner instead. Or you can get a Panerai Luminor, i think robber s are not smart enough to notice the value of these babies. But a Rolex Submariner would be standard, it's contemporary...clean, and nice.

I would love to own a IWC Big Watch...or better a Jacob!!!

Shaun
shaunchen: errr...it was an example not what i'd myself buy...the sub you may like is the ref 5513. This is what i'd go for. look it up.

shaunchen: good watch that...currently i'm wearin my omega seamaster...looks like we both are wearing 'james bond' watches...wish we both had a db5 each in the garage.

anyways..back to the R3 topic...www.racerallyresearch.com says that the 4g93 engine's bore and stroke is 82mmx89mm. Can anyone confirm this fact? i keep remembering that that the standard bore is 81mm. Does that mean that the r3 is using the oversized pistons? (it comes in 81mm 81.5mm 82mm)

note that if you overhaul the engine (or bottom end), mechanics usually use one plus size larger than the original so that it sits well (due to wear and tear of the bore). Now if this is the case with the R3. When you send it for an overhaul (god forbid - if suddenly your timing belt snaps and your valves suddenly come in contact with the piston) you'd have to re-sleeve the block (hence some extra cost)? This would explain where the r3 got the extra 7 horses due to having slightly oversized pistons. So what actually is the displacement of the car (i doubt its 1834cc anymore)? or any R3 user willing to open up their block and measure their pistons?

regards.