Need some help with MITI

A4XRBJ1

OT, but still has something to do with cars at least. Want to import my S2000 for track fun to Malaysia, I do to my understanding have an AP when I do read the Miti rules accordingly:

3. Who is eligible to bring in a personal vehicle?
Answer:

i.
Malaysians studying overseas ( at least diploma level ) for more than a year and
returning home permanently . Accompanying spouse is not eligible.

ii.
Malaysians working legally on a permanent post overseas ( at least a year ) and
returning home permanently. Accompanying spouse is not eligible.

iii.
Government officials posted overseas for more than a year . Accompanying spouse is
eligible for one AP.

iv.
(For more information on (i), (ii) and (iii), please go to Guidelines>Others.
Refer to DOCUMENT 11: Guidelines to Apply for Import License For Personal Motor
Vehicles Of Malaysian Citizens Working Or Studying Overseas)

v.
Expatriates with valid working pass/permit. The importation of the personal vehicle is
subject to re-export condition upon termination of work employment in Malaysia.

vi.
Participants of Malaysia My Second Home Programme (MM2H). (For detail, please go
to http://mm2h.motour.gov.my )

vii.
Malaysian specialists returning home under the Ministry of Human Resource program. (For details, please go to http://www.mohr.gov.my )

I'm applicable under point v., so that means I could import my Honda S2000. Is there anybody who knows someone at Miti or could help myself and Eva to communicate with them?

What I'm not sure about and their documents don't tell anything, is there any costs involved with this AP? Do they still execute an import tax that I do have to get back when I do leave the country?

Help will be appreciated,

Andreas

Hi Andreas,
maybe you can try to ask KHSim bcos he is dealing in re-cond cars sales.

There is no cost to the AP itself, except for a mere RM1.20 to purchase the form. The form itself once taken through the process becomes the AP, which you will pass on to your fowarding agent, who will deal with Customs for you. Its at Customs where all the taxes and duties take place, not at MITI.

On the taxes and stuff for your category, i'm not sure how it works out...

Don't have contacts of anything like that, but when i was applying my AP, went to MITI itself with the relevant forms and submitted it there, 3 days later got the AP, it was pretty straight forward... provided you're already here in Malaysia that is... :biggrin: if not, it can be done from the Malaysian embassy of your country, so i was told....

There is no cost to the AP itself, except for a mere RM1.20 to purchase the form. The form itself once taken through the process becomes the AP, which you will pass on to your fowarding agent, who will deal with Customs for you. Its at Customs where all the taxes and duties take place, not at MITI.

On the taxes and stuff for your category, i'm not sure how it works out...

Don't have contacts of anything like that, but when i was applying my AP, went to MITI itself with the relevant forms and submitted it there, 3 days later got the AP, it was pretty straight forward... provided you're already here in Malaysia that is... :biggrin: if not, it can be done from the Malaysian embassy of your country, so i was told....
Aha, now I do understand a bit better. I thought I'd get around paying any taxes. So the minimum 100% import tax on the actual value of the car still applies and I'm in the hand of the customs agent.

That's bad because the custom agent will evaluate the S2000 probably on a high price, not what a typical 10 year old S2000 will be worth it (it has about 150000 Km on the clock).

BTW, I'm already in KL for 5 1/2 weeks, just go my permit in my passport.

Thanks for the info,

Andreas

Aha, now I do understand a bit better. I thought I'd get around paying any taxes. So the minimum 100% import tax on the actual value of the car still applies and I'm in the hand of the customs agent.

That's bad because the custom agent will evaluate the S2000 probably on a high price, not what a typical 10 year old S2000 will be worth it (it has about 150000 Km on the clock).

BTW, I'm already in KL for 5 1/2 weeks, just go my permit in my passport.

Thanks for the info,

Andreas

Hmmm, that's not what my friend told me. He returned from Japan (overseas posting) and brought back his Merc.

He says that based on the date stated on your car's registration card, the amount of taxation when u bring in to Malaysia will depend on. Basically Andreas, for example if u have a 10 y/o S2000 that's worth RM 150k after de-value in number of years stated on the Registration Card. So the Import duties/tax will be on the RM 150k that is the current value in the market. Also, the CC of the car. Maximum amount of import duties they can impose are 165%.

My friend got the new Merc but got the dealer to declare it as 6 years old on the Registration Card which was in Japanese to save on the tax.

Apply AP from MITI no charge .. except a few ringgit for Form..
No difference if you r a student/profesional..
Live in the country for more than 1 year... own the car for more than 9 months.

10% devalued every for year.... less than 6 years
70% off evaluated value for a 6 year old car..
10% devalued every year after 6 years

Japanese made car get 25% off the initial value too....... then you times the value of the car with engine capacity ... that would be the tax that you need to pay...

U may want to see the discussion board on the following as they have discussed it extensively:
Importing A Vehicle To Malaysia

Use this calculator to estimate how much are the import duties u've got to pay:
http://www.floristhut.com/taxkastam.htm

Hope it helps u decide whether to bring in your car or not.

Hmmm, that's not what my friend told me. He returned from Japan (overseas posting) and brought back his Merc.

He says that based on the date stated on your car's registration card, the amount of taxation when u bring in to Malaysia will depend on. Basically Andreas, for example if u have a 10 y/o S2000 that's worth RM 150k after de-value in number of years stated on the Registration Card. So the Import duties/tax will be on the RM 150k that is the current value in the market. Also, the CC of the car. Maximum amount of import duties they can impose are 165%.

My friend got the new Merc but got the dealer to declare it as 6 years old on the Registration Card which was in Japanese to save on the tax.

Apply AP from MITI no charge .. except a few ringgit for Form..
No difference if you r a student/profesional..
Live in the country for more than 1 year... own the car for more than 9 months.

10% devalued every for year.... less than 6 years
70% off evaluated value for a 6 year old car..
10% devalued every year after 6 years

Japanese made car get 25% off the initial value too....... then you times the value of the car with engine capacity ... that would be the tax that you need to pay...

U may want to see the discussion board on the following as they have discussed it extensively:
Importing A Vehicle To Malaysia

Use this calculator to estimate how much are the import duties u've got to pay:
Auto motor Car Tax calculation custom malaysia

Hope it helps u decide whether to bring in your car or not.
PabloIceman, thanks a lot, now it seems a bit clearer I guess. I used the calculator on this page:
Auto motor Car Tax calculation custom malaysia

This is what I put in there:
Harga docket: 14000 Euro (this is the price I paid two yrs ago for the Recon car). Is this price ok? Don't forget how the car looks like on the outside, nice 18 inch OZ superleggera rims, carbon hood, wing on the back, Sparco Rev5 racing seats inside, not to mention the supercharger when he checks under the hood.

Depreciation 70% (car is older than 9 yrs), another 10% for 7, 8 and 9 yrs.

Discount individu ????? Didn't know what this means, it says usually 20%

Discount rayuan ????? Same here, what does it mean?, it says usually 10%

Duti import - as the car is a Honda it must be ASEAN, right? It's a Kereta Penumpang, right? The S 2000 has 1997 ccm, so it must be 5%

Duti eksais - according to the above it will be 75% (what is this tax about?)

That would come to a total amount of 9251 RM (excluding shipping cost), which is an amount that I'd definetely invest to bring my fun car over here.

Can someone clarify my questions and confirm my calculations are right? I'm not sure how the initial value of the car is calculated, will be customs person look the value of the car in a table which is showing the Malaysian market value or will he accept whatever I paid for the car (I do have the contract only in German, but he can read the numbers).

Once again thanks for your clarification Pablo Iceman,

Andreas

PS: Texted KH Sim, but go no response so far (thx to Lancer7891 for his number)