need sifus' advise on FD

mengxiu

hi sifus there...i've decided to adopt an FD recently..
but not sure bout those "version" thingy...;p
so is there any suggestions?? wat's up with the INFINITI model and is there some
other specs??? my budget is around RM80k ......

Most locally available RX-7s are all very similar as they have been modified, engines replaced with half-cuts etc etc. Therefore the original specification does not matter too much anymore.

One key consideration when buying an FD is to see if it has a sunroof or not....that is to say the factory fitment of a sunroof normally comes with a factory fitted auto transmission. If you find an FD with manual transmission AND sunroof then most likely it is a conversion from auto trans.

If the conversion was done properly then when the car comes to a stop, the revs (idle) should be stable & the engine will not die off. If it does jump around and have a tendency to die off or does then potentially the clutch switch (only in manual versions, but often overlooked in conversions) is not functioning or is missing. This switch informs the ecu that the car is at rest and when it is in neutral gear. It is also best to have the ecu changed over to the manual unit too.

"Infini" applies to all RX-7s that came in from Japan and it was a Mazda branding thing and nothing to get excited about. If the car has a "infini" badge or not it doesn't matter.

Hope that the above answers your questions.

mengxiu said:
hi sifus there...i've decided to adopt an FD recently..
but not sure bout those "version" thingy...;p
so is there any suggestions?? wat's up with the INFINITI model and is there some
other specs??? my budget is around RM80k ......