need help for MR8

skyboy

Hi Guys,

I own a evo8MR this my first time driving a turbo car.. I would like to know a bit n piece of this breed..

1. by adding E manage Blue Wat it does and how it helps the engine?
2. this car is currently boosting at 1.8bar :driver: is this healthy ? coz when i check wit a mechanic he told me to set it to 1.3 bar or else it will sooner or later damage my piston
3. hows does a metal gasket help?
4. should i change to a bigger inter cooler and to koyo radiator
5.should have a boost controller installed and which one is better

Please help me:adore: , im kinda a newbie when comes to turbo engine:biggrin: hehehe

many thanks

dont use any piggy back to con your ecu.i wont be able to con the ecu in a long run
and stock boost for e8mr is 1.6bar
i have reflash both my evo and really run great till now with no probs at all
bigger ic will make your car lag unless u goin for higher hp.stock ic is good enough for daily n track use but if is too old the fin is block or dirty

thanks for ur reply JUN , how much to reflash the ecu? and
1. hows does a metal gasket help?
2. should i change to a bigger inter cooler and to koyo radiator
3.should have a boost controller installed and which one is better

bro.. imho.. assuming everything is stock. but it would be best to know more details if there are any..

1. stock ecu is good enuff.. reflashing you have various options but in malaysia, am not too sure.. or else you can opt for a/market ecu's like fcon/motec/power fc.. not too sure bout e-manage so wont comment..

2. its your tuner u should consult.. as long as he can get it everything right, it should be ok.. but 1.8bar is kinda pushing it on stock internals.. in our cars its the conrod that is the weaklink or so i was told..

3. i believe stock is good enuff unless ur gona do sumthin crazy.. and if your engine head is being taken out u just need to replace a new one and not reuse to be safe it tats all.. and if your planning to sticking to 1.8bar, some arp head studs would be good to hold it down..

4. yeah stock ones are good enuff.. but of coz a/market i/c's are nicer to look at ;p and good reputable one's does actually help but most importantly are your piping..

5. u're referring to electronic one's right? guess, its good to have one.. but its comes hand in hand with getting your car tuned, not sumthin u wana meddle on your own.. common brands are hks evc, greddy profec-b,blitz sbc, apexi avcr n etc..

gd luck with your new found toy buddy..

hi ?nDc?s?ve's i appreciate your post basically i got some idea... well i told the tuner this my first time n i dont want to push my ride for more coz i need to get use to the car b4 i do something crazy like mod for more hp...

But he told me to get few things change like meters(Defi) which's reli a bomb in price .. i got an offer for 450 defi 60mm but not sure if its a ori or replica.I would like to know how much will a good pipping cost me? and where you guys tune your car?

no prob bro..

yeah, a/market stuff aren't cheap at all.. especially brand new one's.. 450 for defi meter should be 2nd hand/replica.. err is there defi replica? i'm not sure myself.. but it cant b new ori one thats for sure :)

i'm not too sure buddy coz for me i got the whole kit myself, u can try by slowly searching in zth and also other forums.. or u can try n meet up w the sifu's here and get poisoned.. ahem* i meant enlightened.. :)

dont change gasket to a thicker ones it will cause lag.if u plan to use a boost controller i would really recommend EVC5 as i used by blitz and evc4 as well.evc can use Hks programme to tune and boost come in much earlier than stock
as for ecu reflash i have done it both on my car by my sg tuner.
as for ic i recommend use hks typeS for stock or mild tune car.koyo radiator really sees the diff when u are inside SIc

i would not recommend to put any defi as u know many break in especially Evo's

i guess i got alot to learn than why this tuner ask me to change tis n that ..marketing i guess dam .. hope some sifu can tell me how to maintain n have necessary upgrades on my ride..

talkin bout meters wat else is good beside than DEFI , currently im using auto-gauge but its not givin me an accurate readyin n for turbo.. wat are the meter i need o monitor my ride?

I tink changin the piping is important .. any1 can recommend some good tuner .. not fake 1ss lol..

Maybe u could try G-Reddy Info Touch.
Simple... look for me... but don't know about the accuracy.
Thinking about it also...

all i can share with you is, know your budget 1st then set a goal.. modding can burn quite a big hole in your pocket if not plan properly thou its a never ending process if u ask me :D.. do a little research and reading yourself about what options are there out there for yourself before taking the leap..

tuner and mechanic/engine builders are different.. but both can be from the same source or otherwise.. BUT what may work for others may not work for u ;) so search wisely..

i've been using defi all my life even during my putra days.. but its true about the theft thingy.. so its really up2u.. there's this defi link display wic u can opt for too.. its not too flashy as compared to the meters if u ask me..

as for the reading of your boost, since you're getting an electronic boost controller (ebc).. that will read more accurately.. but aesthetic wise, a meter would be nice ;) other common meters are, water,oil,exhaust temp, oil n fuel press.. these are all offered by defi.. i somehow sound like a defi promoter, anyways..

yeah.. slowly find a good tuner/mechanic which u trust or at least have faith in and have a chat with him.. from there on u will know wic path to take :)

Hi Guys/Sifu's thanks for sharing your knowledge with me.

Pangyau: The GReddy Info-meter looks cool , does it give me an accurate read-out of all the info? Does comes with the sensors or its applicable ? Most important whats the sweet price of the meter lol

I believe most of you guys are using evo's , when first u guys got your ride.. where you start from ... i mean did u guys when for engine management , or interior or etc...

I'm not to sure where to start n not sure which is reli important for turbo rides.. I'm not looking for hp gain at the moment happy with what i have but just wanna give a Healthy life for this ride hihihihihi

start frm ext from turbo till back then air filter...should give u around 15hp-25hp
change fuel pump and fuel reg.
this should be on a safe side as aged pump cause engine failure most of the time

ok.. let me share what hve been done so far..
1.Walboro fuel pump USA
3.Apex-i RSM
4. Sard Fuel regulator
5.Stainless steel air filter
6.TIAL waste-gate
7.HKS exzos with 3' straight piping
8.Turbo Timer
9.Manual Boost controller

Thats all have been mod in this car...

---------- Post added at 03:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:20 PM ----------

another thing wanna check with you guys .. some1 selling HKS evc5 black edition for 1350 izzit worth it? how to check if its working condition? is they any warranty or life span for this kinda of controller.?

Just wanna make sure .. thats all hihihihi

skyboy,

Hard to check the condition of the unit, unless u install it.
Base on your luck also & from trusted seller.
The new unit quoted by shop in Sunway around Rm2400 (unit only).

Waaa... nice additional gadget u have...

PM me where did you install the exhaust & cost...
Nice sound ka?

ok will try 2 get a new one.. out of budget redy lol... i went to weng heng exhaust .. cost me around rm 1800.. the sound is loud enuf to wake up my neighbors wakakaka...

Write your reply...