Hello forummers and mazda/ford sifus,
I own a lynx 1.6 manual yr 1995. Not really good with technical/ mechanical aspects of a car, but I do know the basics, and I always research on the internet regarding engines and maintenance tips.
The problem with my car is that during diagnostic at a SC, the fault code retrieved was 06 (speed sensor) and 26 (purge solenoid valve). I have been to two SCs (including Federal Hiway SC) but so far their attempts at repairing it are unsuccessful.
Simptoms include loss of power, car jerking, erratic idling and high fuel consumption (around 16sen/km). I have done some research on the internet, and some online tips suggest that the MAF sensor may be faulty.
Q1 : how to diagnose a faulty sensor? What tools does a mechanic need?
Q2 : How about the solenoid valves - which solenoid and which valve? How to check/ diagnose?
Q3: Can anybody recommend a place to do all this? I am sick of going to mechanics who don't know about this, and make up some stupid stories about using semi-syn oils to preserve engine, platinum plugs etc, just because he doesn't understand the nature of this problem I'm having.
Any help no matter how small, is really appreciated.
I own a lynx 1.6 manual yr 1995. Not really good with technical/ mechanical aspects of a car, but I do know the basics, and I always research on the internet regarding engines and maintenance tips.
The problem with my car is that during diagnostic at a SC, the fault code retrieved was 06 (speed sensor) and 26 (purge solenoid valve). I have been to two SCs (including Federal Hiway SC) but so far their attempts at repairing it are unsuccessful.
Simptoms include loss of power, car jerking, erratic idling and high fuel consumption (around 16sen/km). I have done some research on the internet, and some online tips suggest that the MAF sensor may be faulty.
Q1 : how to diagnose a faulty sensor? What tools does a mechanic need?
Q2 : How about the solenoid valves - which solenoid and which valve? How to check/ diagnose?
Q3: Can anybody recommend a place to do all this? I am sick of going to mechanics who don't know about this, and make up some stupid stories about using semi-syn oils to preserve engine, platinum plugs etc, just because he doesn't understand the nature of this problem I'm having.
Any help no matter how small, is really appreciated.