need advice about clutch for B8 in TX3

emale

hi i'm a newb here, i'm driving a TX3 lynx 3 doors, changed to B8 180hp, using the ori gearbox, but the clutch slips everytime i try to apply full pedal, now after increase the boost from 0.6 to 1.0, it become worse, slips like hell! i have advise to change to exedy racing clutch to solve it... or is there any other way or brand to fix the problem? i still haven't feel the full pick up after modify to b8 :( sifu sifu pls help!

Want a cheaper and equally as good alternative...
Call Wong at 012-3922962, he's the guy behind TRINITY clutches...
I have personally used it and it hasn't once failed me...
Do a search on the old topics, clutches has been discussed before...

gearbox change or racing clutch

Change to G25M gearbox as found in 95 or earlier TX3s(Dont forget shafts!!)....or use racing clutch with clamping force rating of >5500N.....B8 clutch have this clamping force whereas BPZE/DE (1.8NA) only have 60% of it......Can go for Exedy racing clutch also...cost around 1.2k i fIm not mistaken....
AM

I would stay away from the exedy clutches. Damn hard to handle on the street, esp in start/stop traffic. And they'll only last about a year.

Get triniti. Triniti gooood.

Having tried EXEDY and TRINITY, personally I prefer TRINITY cause it's not heavy like EXEDY, it's cheaper than EXEDY and it last longer than EXEDY...

No spring = better bite...

Trinity clutch w/o spring??

No vibration when shifting?
How long have u been using and berapa duit??
Can it handle 250WHP?Cover B8 std or mod??

AM

Good topic,

I'm also searching new clucth for my B8 engine. What I'm worry about Trinity is the plate clutch did not have small spring. So,by logic it will push to the flywheel without balance on the surface contact. Actually good for drag but maybe not for street use. What your opinion guys?

izrail77 said:
No vibration when shifting?
How long have u been using and berapa duit??
Can it handle 250WHP?Cover B8 std or mod??

AM

Call Wong at 012-3922962, he's the guy behind TRINITY clutches...
I have personally used it for over 4 years and it hasn't once failed me...
Was running mine hard with rallies and track days, cover is stock with modified springs for a harder bite...

black_protege2 said:
Good topic,

I'm also searching new clucth for my B8 engine. What I'm worry about Trinity is the plate clutch did not have small spring. So,by logic it will push to the flywheel without balance on the surface contact. Actually good for drag but maybe not for street use. What your opinion guys?

Do you guys know what is the purpose for the spring? The small spring is use for shock absorption. It's do not helps to push the clutch to the flywheel surface. The trinity clucth is similar to the ACT clutch system.

I personally use it for almost 2 years, I do not face any problem, talk about whp, my car currently 220whp, the clutch still do his work.
Good luck my friend.

Cheers

yup, simplest way is to change to racing clutch.
last time my friend also facing same problem, after change the clutch then solve already. but another problem coming...........the engine mounting explo............

engine mounting explo because of vibration when shifting?
myself using exedy racing cluth. seriously not for street, especially KL..
very hard and vibration that you can't stand..

i think is the time for me to try Trinity. but how much in the market for Trinity?

M@X
I've already posted Wong's number twice in this thread.
You wanna know the pricing, call him.
Please don't SMS him, that just show's that youre cheapskate.

CHEERS

exedy clutch hard meh?? im using it now on my b6t gb like steeping on standard kancil clutch pedal.. dam soft but no slip... hehehe good ist????

Clutch cover Or pressure plate

laserman said:
Do you guys know what is the purpose for the spring? The small spring is use for shock absorption. It's do not helps to push the clutch to the flywheel surface. The trinity clucth is similar to the ACT clutch system.

I personally use it for almost 2 years, I do not face any problem, talk about whp, my car currently 220whp, the clutch still do his work.
Good luck my friend.

Cheers

Hi laserman.

I have been using the exedy racing clutch set for almost more than a year. Now it starts to slip, is it the 3 puke pressure plate has worn off and need to be replace.
Do i also need to replace the clutch cover . Because i want to use trinity pressure plate with the exedy racing clutch cover.

U mean u r using trinity pressure plate with exedy racing clutch cover OR u buy a trinity racing clutch cover and pressure plate all together.

Another question is when i used the exedy racing clutch, when u release the clutch slowly it will vibrate, the whole car man like the car gonna jump forward ( wat i mean u must really control ur clutch pedal to minimize it. ( is it normal and happen to all racing clutches.

Re: Clutch cover Or pressure plate

Hi laserman.

I have been using the exedy racing clutch set for almost more than a year. Now it starts to slip, is it the 3 puke pressure plate has worn off and need to be replace.
Do i also need to replace the clutch cover . Because i want to use trinity pressure plate with the exedy racing clutch cover.

U mean u r using trinity pressure plate with exedy racing clutch cover OR u buy a trinity racing clutch cover and pressure plate all together.

Another question is when i used the exedy racing clutch, when u release the clutch slowly it will vibrate, the whole car man like the car gonna jump forward ( wat i mean u must really control ur clutch pedal to minimize it. ( is it normal and happen to all racing clutches.

i'm actually currently trying to install trinity clutch + exedy pressure plate to my BPT... having slight problems fitting to the flywheel coz the pressure plate and the clutch is 3mm too thick, have to machine my flywheel down in order to fit well... my car stil in the workshop, will probably be done by next week. anyone here have experience installing exedy pressure plate with trinity clutch for their B8?

bro......better go to Bryan Ipoh Mali..kingz of clutch modification!