Msian Super Series Ultima

gobiz

Thought I'd post here becoz lots more traffic (sory Tom). Does anyone know what engine Aminudin Omar is using in his Ultima in the Msian Super Series?

the "little" ultima can-am is using a 6.3 litre Chevy V8 built by American Speed + a super trick lightweight alternator from a kancil :)

Power - more than 500hp.

See it in action on the SuperGT weekend!

Hey gobiz, so you are now into ultima's eh? if you wanna have a look at the one and only ultima in malaysia (btw its actually still road legal), you can visit the MSS paddock area (you do need to get a paddock pass though) during the SuperGT weekend. i would be glad to show you around the car :)

yeap alexz, very interested in the ultimas now :) relatively affordable.

Here's what I figure, get a used Ultima GTR, I've seen one going for 32k GBP (very nice example), then change the powertrain to a 800hp 800lb/ft 427ci twin turbo with Darton MID (check out www.boostperformance.co.uk) or even the factory recommended American Speed 406ci 720hp lump. Both circa 15+k GBP.

So for around 50k GBP, you'll have the one of the fastest cars on the roads, even surpassing Enzo, Carrera GT and Ford GT. (remember the ultima is only 990kg)

2 issues tho:
1. finding the 50k GBP :(
2. bringing the car back to Msia :(:(:(

the kancil alternator?

its lightweight, cheap and aplenty in malaysia :)

some pics of ultima

http://www.techimo.com/photo/data/500/medium/84194our_ultima.jpg

WRC motorsports Ultima can-am

DSC03374a.jpg

alexz, thanks.
unfortunately, won't be able to make it to sepang, maybe in the near future i'll have a chance to see Aminudin Omar's little can-am.

check out http://www.ultimacars.com

check out the record-breaking runs:

0-60mph 2.8
0-100mph 5.5
0-125mph 8.5
0-150mph 11.8
0-100-0mph 9.8

Awesome considering these were done on a dusty, slippery aircraft runway on road tyres (Goodyear F1 Fioranos), NOT drag radials or slicks or even cheater slicks. Driven to and back to the runway.

Of course, lots of drag-setup cars/race cars can go quicker but this is a bona fide
road legal daily drivable car, on road tyres on a relatively slippery surface, NOT the specialised grippy surface of a drag strip.