Mounting and Overheating

Hazzim

Gotta ask.... what are the indications of a damage Engine MOunting?? and can anyone tell me the choices for sovling Engine overheat.. D layer raditor extra fans etc..

~Cheers

Mostly car vibrations is an indication...otherwise..just look at the mountings..

Check Radiator..for engine overheating..maybe even the coolant pipes leading to the engine..

What do i need to look for at the mounting?? owh and besides checking the coolant pipes.. is there any other way to overcome the overheat situation??

mountings are partially made of rubber. by being flexible and soft they will absorb excessive viibrations.

but under long period and heat, they tend to hardened and thus cracked. the end result - unable to absorb vibrations and engine torsional move.

tips 1 - visually inspect the mountings for crackes or torn.
tips 2 - set engine idle to standard specification. if vibration is excessive, then any one of the mountings or even all need to change. note if gf's boobs are shaking excessively too.
tips 3 - when accelerating or decelarating/braking note if can hear knocking noise. that may come from torn mounting.
tips 4 - for toyota cars especially in my experience AE101 and SXV10 once the mountings are hardened, engine can produce strange vibrating noise during certain speed.

for the overheating part..if ur car is stock and with minimum mods or upgrades..just leave ur radiator stock..just take care of it..always keep coolant level at a mid level or more or watever makes u happy..and check for leaks..leaks is ur worst enemy.

erms.. ur car water pump oso plays an important role in maintaining de car engine's temperature.. if it is leaking then it wont haf enough power n pressure to pump water into ur engine cooling system.. :regular_smile:

engine overheating can be caused by many factors and this is because the cooling system itself has many supporting components to make it very efficient for modern high speed engines.

follow tips.

1. check engine oil when cool. if too low, add up.
2. check radiator coolant or water level when cool. if too low add up. if top up is needed frequently check for leak. coolant level must be consistent at all time.
3. start engine and let it run idle. once the temparature increase higher than its normal mark, quickly see the cooling fan. is it running?
if not running dont simply assume the motor need to be changed even though its possible. check the cheaper items first like
a) is the fuse blown?
b) is the fan relay blown?
c) then only we can assumpe the fan motor is faulty.

but at times, its the fan switch that is faulty. fan switch is a temperature sensor that activates the fan motor at a specified temperature. when faulty, either the fan wont work or it activated at a higher temperature. fyi the most optimum working temperature for an engine is 82 degrees celcius.

if coolant level is always low, there are possibilities of leak.

you can do visual inspection to find leaks but its best using pressure test method.

i). check radiator hoses - they gets hardened due to heat and may crack though small. if engine is running without coolant, rust can start and when rust circulates and rest in the hose, this too can cause cracks.
ii). for radiator with plastic top casing ie wira, these also can cracks. its unavoidable but changing them is quite cheap i can say. conduct pressure test and see whether water leak out.
iii). water pumps. these may leak water out due to rust. normally leak when engine is cold ie overnight parking. when its hot, metal expands and eliminate chances of leaking. see your garage floor. before u start ur car 1st thing in the morning.

4. engine can also overheat by clogged radiator . slow coolant circulation may actually cause overheat prob. often because of rust. remove radiator for flushing. cost maybe about RM40-60. but doing it once may not be sufficient especially if too dirty inside.

5. other minor items that may cause overheat but has low chances are
a) faulty radiator cap.
b) jammed thermostat
c) trapped air inside cooling system (normally for cars with bleeding screew like hondas, wira 1.6 and perdana E55 for example.
d) burnt cylinder head gasket.

Zan,

if my car is like 30++ years old, and i suspect there are rust deposits in the engine water jacket. How do I remove these rust effectively? (BTW, there is not overheat prob, yet)

I've tried flushing, flushing and more flushing, even tried some flushing chemicals and oso have use coolant with rust inhibitor formula. However, rusty water still develop in 3-4 months time when I check the water in the radiator. How ar?

ken yeang said:
Zan,

if my car is like 30++ years old, and i suspect there are rust deposits in the engine water jacket. How do I remove these rust effectively? (BTW, there is not overheat prob, yet)

I've tried flushing, flushing and more flushing, even tried some flushing chemicals and oso have use coolant with rust inhibitor formula. However, rusty water still develop in 3-4 months time when I check the water in the radiator. How ar?

change water jacket..cheap only....

and u use normal water in ur radiator?

normally thru my experience...flushing it 2 or 3 times would clean out most of the rust deposits..but if its still there...erm...im not too sure how to get em' out..

but if u haf cash...get a recond one..if there's a way to get it out..im not too sure of it

hi guys,

I had some problems with the car over heating a couple of months ago. it was due to a leak (around the engine block if i'm not wrong). now, the coolant level stays around the same area so problem solved.

but i have just another query here and hope a kind sifu can help me.

I'm using a Nissan Sentra 1.6 DOHC. No mod at all. Whenever i am driving, lets say 50-60km/h, and when i want to accelerate further, there will be a noise from the engine compartment. the noise is like a metal part vibrating and knocking against some metal. usually, the sound kicks in at 3rd and 4th gear, 2nd gear sometimes @ 2.5k rpms and above.

Which part of the engine compartment should i check? I hadn't sent to the garage for post-mortem yet, coz i would like to have an idea of what to expect first. hope zth sifus can enlighten this noob. XD

alex,it sounds like ur driveshaft..im not sure..coz i dont know what sound it is actually.

huakenny said:
change water jacket..cheap only....

and u use normal water in ur radiator?

huakenny,

I don't think I can change the water jacket as the water jacket is bulit within the engine block. Water jacket means the water channel running in the engine block to cool the engine.

Well, I have used tap water to flush the radiator/engine. then I used the chemical called "gunk flush". Later when water is cleared, I used cooled down boiled water to fill my radiator. I oso added coolant with anti rust formula....

Still rust water emerges after 3-4 month time.......I hear ppl used presurised water to clear rust/deposits. Wonder would it work or not...

Fluffy said:
alex,it sounds like ur driveshaft..im not sure..coz i dont know what sound it is actually.

the vibration is kinda fast, the sound is quite high pitch.. clink clink type... sounds like it is coming from the engine compartment...

okay...does the speed of the clinking sound increase as u step on the pedal?

or it stays constant?

ken yeang said:
huakenny,

I don't think I can change the water jacket as the water jacket is bulit within the engine block. Water jacket means the water channel running in the engine block to cool the engine.

Well, I have used tap water to flush the radiator/engine. then I used the chemical called "gunk flush". Later when water is cleared, I used cooled down boiled water to fill my radiator. I oso added coolant with anti rust formula....

Still rust water emerges after 3-4 month time.......I hear ppl used presurised water to clear rust/deposits. Wonder would it work or not...

use distilled water o battery water

water jacket is located at engine block...u can change it coz spare parts shop got sell it....but hv to remove the engine block if not mistaken...hehe