Mivec Club

mivec 1.6 to 1.8 conversion

guys,
i'm planning to convert my MIVEC from 1.6 to 1.8 :biggrin: so i need advice wat i need to do and how much wil it cost me for a basic 1.8 conversion ?
thanks for the kind help n info's
:smile: :smile: :smile: :smile:

guys, i am using 1.8 mivec. thinking of changing the piping size to 2.3",
do the sifus here recommend 2.3 or 2.5? and probably how much will that cost?
thank you.

spyderslr said:
the issue of exhaust sizing is pretty subjective if u ask me.....all depends on wat u want n how u wanna it to b tuned........n oso not forgettin the amount of mods done to ur car.....i'm using 2.3" piping now n i know i'm losing some top end......wat i get instead is a strong push from 3k rpm to about 7.5k.....after tat can feel power drop liao.......enuff lorr, aeroback heavy mah....power needs to come early else to push the car....heheh.....

i see..... no wonder your car can tapau that toyota track car in quanter mile la.... now i know why...

no biggie....ur EK9 can tapau us bak easily lorr.....can gif us 3sec handicap some more.......haihhh....399's vtec so geng....

nichkl: if you have read these past 3 pages, you would have an idea on what piping size to use. For the cost on piping alone, go ask an exhaust shop for stainless steel piping prices

pdguy: depends on your preference. the cheap option would probably cost approx RM2500 to be safe. the more expensive reliable option would be about RM3500 onwards. Im sure you know that a 1.8 mivec is not an easy task to handle with many things to consider.

spyderslr: why so scared of vtec? just whack onli : ) no lar, im sure 399 is a fast vtec. must b only of those ctr/itr/b20b/toda,jun,crowercam/customgearratio/standaloneecu civics.

actually, im damn jealous of them lar, so many delicious aftermarket parts

anybody can help me on tis problem???

y nobody can give me a ans for this problem? please...give me a hand........my engine is mivec 1.6, but i feel not very power....eventhough the mivec open i also cant feel much difference....is it the tuning problem? and where can i tune my mivec?

ZeNeGeR said:
4g93 + mivec head use toyota supra timing belt cost around Rm180

4g93 + mivec head of course is much better than putra head + 4g93 !!! much more improve but make sure u can get a mivec gb as well...

Ur putra can outrun a 4g92 mivec anytime ?? when u said outrun is it = beat ? Wat modify u have in ur putra can beat 4g92 mivec anytime ?? HMMM interesting unless ur putra modify kau kau... if not for sure that 4g92 mivec got problem !!

putra 1.8 really cant beat mivec 1.6? but putra is 1.8 wo...

MonsterTacho said:
guess its a little bit of trial and error.

i was thinking of reducing back to 2.3" to gain a finer balance

but, 1.6's here already using 2.3" it seems, wow.

One way i can think of improving my pick up: lightening flywheel (sacrificaing a little top end)

any other suggestions?

hmmm lighten fly wheel sure will regret when u go up genting u feel like crying no power hahah

unless u buy racing flywheel that will be good wont lost too much power ...

i saw mivec 1.6 can beat gti 1.8 ... so,it is possible to beat putra 1.8 :d

ky2004 said:
i saw mivec 1.6 can beat gti 1.8 ... so,it is possible to beat putra 1.8 :d

ya...i also heard mivec can beat gti, but putra 1.8 performance is much different compare to gti wo..... i try my fren putra 1.8 pick up power like hell o....he just modified throttle body only.

dude trottle body sure pickup like hell la...stock mivec can bear gti anytime dude...and i think gti performance more higher than putra....what i mean stock car kno heart feelings

gti much much better than putra... unless that putra running in diff mods...

pick up yes, mivec1.6 can beat the 1.8(gti/putra), but top end the 1.8 catching up already. believe me, some 1.6 mivecs (standard) dont generate much pull (slow) but other 1.6mivecs (standard) ive sat on are very good in pick up (fast).

1.8 mivec a different story lar, hor Zeneger : )

if im not mistaken, the gti weighs more than the putra, thus the claim that a std putra can outrun a Gti.

MonsterTacho said:
pick up yes, mivec1.6 can beat the 1.8(gti/putra), but top end the 1.8 catching up already. believe me, some 1.6 mivecs (standard) dont generate much pull (slow) but other 1.6mivecs (standard) ive sat on are very good in pick up (fast).

1.8 mivec a different story lar, hor Zeneger : )

if im not mistaken, the gti weighs more than the putra, thus the claim that a std putra can outrun a Gti.

do u mean mivec 1.6 only win on pick up, but top end putra will catch up easily?

ZeNeGeR said:
dun ever go top speed with air con on. i spoil mine last time going at about 190kmh on with air con.. or high rev

I would siad 60% mivec got air con problem

HMMM Valve ? it might cost white smoke from exhaust ?

hi....sorry for asking tis long time ago question... u say the valve will cause white smoke from exhaust? is it mean i adjust back the valve is ok already? hope can ans tis for me....my exhaust smoke will appear when i start the car and leave it there few minutes, after tat if i press minyak,only the smoke come out...