Malaysia's Proton approached to sell Lotus

alexz

Malaysia's Proton approached to sell Lotus

Reuters - Thursday, December 27

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 27 - A Malaysian car-maker has approached the country's biggest auto firm, Proton Holdings Bhd, to buy Proton's controlling stake in British sports-car subsidiary, Lotus, the Malaysian Reserve said on Thursday.

Proton bought 63.75 percent of Lotus in 1996 for 40.64 million pounds , the daily said. Lotus make sports cars and also runs an auto engineering consultancy.
The approach followed the collapse last month of a proposed alliance between Proton, a struggling state-controlled firm, and Germany's Volkswagen . Proton shares have lost a quarter of their value since the talks broke down.
"It is believed the interested party...expressed a desire for the controlling stake in the high-performance engine manufacturer after the failure of Proton-Volkswagen partnership talks late this year," the Malaysian Reserve said, quoting unnamed sources.

The financial daily did not name the bidder nor give an offer price.

Proton shares last traded at 3.70 ringgit each.

Malaysia's Proton approached to sell Lotus - paper - Yahoo! Singapore News

Hmm... i wonder what is that company?

Naza?

Perodua?

DRB-HICOM?

Sime Darby (inokom)?

Mofaz?

BTW i dont think proton is going to sell lotus anyway...

"BTW i dont think proton is going to sell lotus anyway..."

if they insist to sell, how much will they get. and, this time they sell it in Ringgit.

i think this 3 posibilities will b higher...DRB-HICOM, Sime Darby (inokom) & mofaz.. :D

Actually... the only other car maker in Malaysia is Perodua lar... I think they meant car assembler.... if its that.. Then my best guess will be Naza lor... they probably wanna do that to counter them loosing the AP advantage they currently have

its NAZA.

but dont buy Lotus la Naza, go and try pinch AM or Jag from Uncle Sam's hands.

its going to be a bit pricier, but in terms of brand and technology, AM and Jag ARE BY FAR BETTER.

if they go and buy any of the two, I myself will record my striptease and will be uploading on YouTube.

aahahahahahahahaah

i think if proton did sell lotus,then their company will die lah...nowadays their only good reasons for consumer to buy their car is the low price and good handling provided by lotus.