Malaysia boleh!!!!

meraboy,

unfortunately my fren, u got the whole point of my post wrong

(before I even clarify my point, lets jus say that I do agree with something in ur post)

anyway, my whole point is not talking abt where is cheaper, I mean if I were to say that I would probably say we live in some poorer countries for cheaper goods. Instead my point is, disposable income, purchasing power and standard of living, while they are different in certain ways they are however closely link, let me elaborate in the following paragraph

let use back the same example, UK. Dispoble income after conversion is alot higher compared to msia, but if you work there, and therefore pay the tax there, and hence pay for all other living expenses there, ask yourself or rather your relative, what is the amount left? I dont think its much more than the disposable income that she will earned if she work locally (of coz like u said, don convert). Therefore eventually, what can u buy with ur remaining income? obviously if you earn in £, branded item such as LV from France isnt much of an issue (for currency exchange reason, which fall nicely to your argument regarding conversion) but if u say less branded stuff, chances is u will probably get same quantity or even quality of goods compared to say living in Msia, therefore is it a better standard of living? I doubt.. (assuming your a relatively new workforce, u will probably earn enuff to stay outskirt in some low rent house, spend most money on commuting, food and communication, phone calls are not cheap in UK btw, and more importantly pay higher tax, eventually leave u not much to spend on ur own).. that is even before we factor in the saving issue

then come to white elepant/mega project, while I do not agree with these project to some extent, it happens.. enron for instance is a good example things could still go wrong in advance country, there are many more less famous examples which I read, but unfortunately dont recall the names of this case

now back to cars, i stated clearly cars are overpriced in Msia in my previous post, therefore showing me examples of car prices in Thai does not exactly prove anything my fren, apart from supporting my statement

now back to progress, of coz if money is spend at the right way things move forward quicker.. then again, whole msia have to be genius and saints for it to work, unfortunately again, we are not and we tend to make mistake for occasionaly stupidity or for some selfish reason

then about opinions, well I did again mention reflecting your thought is not a bad idea (in my previous post) so clearly Im not against speaking out.. but dwelling in it then its kinda waste of time.. so if u LINK it back to my point above, spend these time and energy in the PROPER way (the way u describe) and move on, change something, be it small or big, at least you contribute (and who knows, u might even benefit from it)

p/s: kinda expect your reaction after I direct my previous post to u, but just be objective and not emotional before u comment, jus read my post slower and understand what im trying to say.. not saying u will definately agree but at least we would not then argue on things in a complete irrelevant manner (plus Im actually kinda lazy to reply, did so becoz I believe u kinda twisted my words)

GT3,

since both opinions r diff, no point discuss further , just concentrate on car.

satria,

sometimes WE malaysians do do something stupid (be it because of less experiance, less educated or whatever reason) but if you read Aus paper, British paper, US paper or whatever news, I dont see them performing perfectly, maybe better but they always have funny or stupid things done by government (which alot of time, might be done becoz of own agenda)

anyway my point is, agreeing that Malaysia Bodoh do not only insult yourself, you insulted many others who have work hard in this country to improve things, don u think instead of complaining maybe the energy could be channel into more productive activities? I mean eventually the benefit still fall back to u
Well, the thing is, I ain't entirely comparing it with other countries other than some basic cost of living kinda thing. I roughly know that US have issues with Bush too, like the 9-11 stuff, whereby some says that Bush was the one who planned it and bla bla bla stuff like that. But since I'm living here in Malaysia, hence, I'm mostly mentioning about malaysia, with some slight comparison with other countries. I haven't entirely spend many years over seas but have been to Australia on and off for a few times and so far, I feel more comfortable there during my stay as compared to here in malaysia. Who knows, perhaps if I stayed there for a year or more continuously, my views may then change again. In some areas, we're better than other countries and perhaps in other areas, we're not better than other countries. More like a good here bad there, and bad there good here kinda thing.

As for the malaysia bodoh thing, it is more to targetting the govt. Why so is because there are some things that are very obviously clear on what should be done, yet, the rulers (from here forth, I will use the word "rulers" to refer to the govt and authorities. Easier to write hahaha) are also obviously not doing anything about it. In fact, many of the things which the citizens hope for improvement have been highlighted in the papers many times already. Yet, till today, nothing is done. Look at the crime rates slowly increasing (or is it increasing at a steep uphill rate?). The cops ain't doing anything about it simply because they are plain lazy. Common stories about the police force being lazy includes taking such super-long time to arrive at a crime scene which is just 10 or 15 minutes away buy foot. They have mentioned to us to do our part as there aren't enough manpower for them to fight the crimes alone. I guess if the citizens are given enough rights and protection (in terms of law and such), then the citizens could probably act as neighbourhood watch. Well, that's generally what I think but till that happens, then only we know if it'll work or not.

In all cases, the govt has gained themselves an image of being ignorant towards the citizens and the country, so to speak and to a certain level. We voice out too much, ISA steps in. How then are we supposed to speak constructively free? People already get scared when they think of ISA.

...AGREED AT ALL.

satria_95,

well i agree with your points, I experianced some of it myself as well.. but anyway like i said, if cant depend on them, we have no choice but to depend on ourselves (easy said then done though).. haha

Meraboy,

haha.. well while opinion diff, its nice to hear diff op..

regarding this car however, i would not say it look nice, and technology dont sound impressive, but hell.. at least they try (altought like many of u, i wonder who will purchase if it does come out)

GT3,

i will not discuss further with u since out op r diff, does not mean i can't discuss/agree with others, right ? Y dun u read carefully.?

Michael Backman is an internationally renowned writer and columnist. He specialises in writing about Asia: its economies, politics, business groups and business practices. He has a well-earned reputation for thorough, independent and highly-detailed analysis.

While Malaysia fiddles, its opportunities are running dry
By Michael Backman
The Age
November 15, 2006

MALAYSIA'S been at it again, arguing about what proportion of the economy each of its two main races
— the Malays and the Chinese — owns. It's an argument that's been running for 40 years. That wealth
and race are not synonymous is important for national cohesion, but really it's time Malaysia grew up.

It's a tough world out there and there can be little sympathy for a country that prefers to argue about
how to divide wealth rather than get on with the job of creating it.

The long-held aim is for 30 per cent of corporate equity to be in Malay hands, but the figure that the
Government uses to justify handing over huge swathes of public companies to Malays but not to other
races is absurd. It bases its figure on equity valued, not at market value, but at par value.

Many shares have a par value of say $1 but a market value of $12. And so the Government figure (18.9
per cent is the most recent figure) is a gross underestimate. Last month a paper by a researcher at a
local think-tank came up with a figure of 45 per cent based on actual stock prices. All hell broke loose.
The paper was withdrawn and the researcher resigned in protest. Part of the problem is that he is
Chinese.

"Malaysia boleh!" is Malaysia's national catch cry. It translates to "Malaysia can!" and Malaysia certainly
can. Few countries are as good at wasting money. It is richly endowed with natural resources and the
national obsession seems to be to extract these, sell them off and then collectively spray the proceeds
up against the wall.

This all happens in the context of Malaysia's grossly inflated sense of its place in the world.

Most Malaysians are convinced that the eyes of the world are on their country and that their leaders are
world figures. This is thanks to Malaysia's tame media and the bravado of former prime minister Mahathir
Mohamad. The truth is, few people on the streets of London or New York could point to Malaysia on a
map much less name its prime minister or capital city.

As if to make this point, a recent episode of The Simpsons features a newsreader trying to announce
that a tidal wave had hit some place called Kuala Lumpur. He couldn't pronounce the city's name and so
made up one, as if no-one cared anyway. But the joke was on the script writers — Kuala Lumpur is
inland.

Petronas, the national oil company is well run, particularly when compared to the disaster that passes for
a national oil company in neighbouring Indonesia. But in some respects, this is Malaysia's problem. The
very success of Petronas means that it is used to underwrite all manner of excess.

The KLCC development in central Kuala Lumpur is an example. It includes the Twin Towers, the tallest
buildings in the world when they were built, which was their point. It certainly wasn't that there was an
office shortage in Kuala Lumpur — there wasn't.

Malaysians are very proud of these towers. Goodness knows why. They had little to do with them. The
money for them came out of the ground and the engineering was contracted out to South Korean
companies. They don't even run the shopping centre that's beneath them. That's handled by Australia's
Westfield.

Next year, a Malaysian astronaut will go into space aboard a Russian rocket — the first Malay in space.
And the cost? $RM95 million ($A34.3 million), to be footed by Malaysian taxpayers. The Science and
Technology Minister has said that a moon landing in 2020 is the next target, aboard a US flight. There's
no indication of what the Americans will charge for this, assuming there's even a chance that they will
consider it. But what is Malaysia getting by using the space programs of others as a taxi service? There
are no obvious technical benefits, but no doubt Malaysians will be told once again, that they are "boleh".
The trouble is, they're not. It's not their space program.

Back in July, the Government announced that it would spend $RM490 million on a sports complex near
the London Olympics site so that Malaysian athletes can train there and "get used to cold weather". But
the summer Olympics are held in the summer.

So what is the complex's real purpose? The dozens of goodwill missions by ministers and bureaucrats to
London to check on the centre's construction and then on the athletes while they train might provide a
clue.

Bank bale outs, a formula one racing track, an entire new capital city — Petronas has paid for them all.
It's been an orgy of nonsense that Malaysia can ill afford.

Why? Because Malaysia's oil will run out in about 19 years. As it is, Malaysia will become a net oil
importer in 2011 — that's just five years away.

So it's in this context that the latest debate about race and wealth is so sad.

It is time to move on, time to prepare the economy for life after oil. But, like Nero fiddling while Rome
burned, the Malaysian Government is more interested in stunts like sending a Malaysian into space
when Malaysia's inadequate schools could have done with the cash, and arguing about wealth
distribution using transparently ridiculous statistics.

That's not Malaysia "boleh", that's Malaysia "bodoh" (stupid).

http://www.michaelbackman.com/LatestAgeColumn2.html

meraboy,

nope never said or stated in my post u cant discuss with others.. don get me wrong

by Van Gough

I read some time ago that the founder of this company passed away without completing the project. Hence its KIV at the moment. So we won't be able to see it on the road...

yup, i also heard about this about 1 year+ ago

meraboy,

ah i see.. nah.. i meant even opinion is different, its always nice to hear something diff.. dint meant to say u have to agree with what i said

The article was some time back, but is good to know how far other left us, EVEN A DEVELOPING COMMUNIST COUNTRY. See how Chinese play the game to benefit itself. This is what we call BOLEH. Unlike some other ...

China's Auto Ambitions

By Wieland Wagner

Western car manufacturers -- from Volkswagen to General Motors -- are scrambling for the opportunity to do business with China's most important automobile company. But the Chinese have plans of their own -- including future car exports.

Hu Maoyuan, 53, is fond of parties and celebrations. Only recently, Hu, the head of China's biggest automobile manufacturer, the Shanghai Automotive Industry Corporation (SAIC), celebrated the 20-year anniversary of his company's joint venture with Volkswagen with fireworks and high-ranking dignitaries from VW's hometown of Wolfsburg. Two days later, Hu gave another party, but this time for one of VW's biggest competitors in China, Rick Wagoner, CEO of General Motors (GM). Wagoner was in China to help Hu inaugurate a project for the production of environmentally friendly cars.
Hu is likely to keep on celebrating. The Chinese auto giant just signed a joint venture agreement with British automaker MG Rover. Under this spectacular deal -- which still needs the Chinese government's official blessing -- SAIC will essentially take over the brand. For the first time ever, the Chinese will be able to start exporting cars to a Western automobile market.

In Germany, the only people familiar with the car company's acronym, SAIC, have been industry insiders. Until now, the Chinese state-owned company, a majority of which is held by the city of Shanghai, has been satisfied playing the role of a profitable but unnoticed holding company that enters into joint venture agreements with Western corporations -- thus bringing money and expertise into the country -- whenever it can. People in the auto industry, however, are slowly beginning to wonder whether the Chinese, following the Japanese and Korean lead, are preparing to launch an assault on the European and North American auto manufacturing industries.

It may too be early for such doomsday speculation, but it's obvious that the Chinese have an clear objective in mind: The anticipated takeover of Rover is an important step in China's strategic plan to expand its economy to overseas markets.

Going global

SAIC, especially, is dedicated to global expansion. In South Korea, the company acquired a share of that country's second-largest automaker, Daewoo, and it recently acquired the fourth-largest automaker, Ssangyong. This brand, which has acquired technical licenses from Mercedes-Benz, provides the Chinese with important technologies for producing its own SUVs.

SAIC CEO Hu believes that the current offensive is only the beginning. Next year, the group plans to become a publicly traded company on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange, a move it hopes will raise $1.5 billion in shareholder cash. It plans to use these funds to upgrade car manufacturing plants at home and to pay for its ambitious global shopping spree.

Until now, the auto giant has hardly made an impression with its own models. Most of the cars on display in the lobby of SAIC'S 26-floor headquarters building in downtown Shanghai bear the VW and GM logo. So far, the biggest benefit SAIC has derived from the joint venture companies is financial.

When it comes to talking about the future, Mr. Hu is just as secretive as he is about his private life. Like many Chinese executives, he avoids drawing the ire of the government and party by indulging in too much personal luxury. On the surface, at least, the things that are said about Hu seem statesmanlike. He lives in an exclusive residential complex in Shanghai, alongside government bureaucrats and party functionaries. He supposedly has never taken a vacation. It's all part of the myth of Chinese senior executives. And even though Hu does play golf and likes to bowl, it's all business.

His steep rise to the top of his profession is a product of both his ambition and willingness to make sacrifices. In 1968, in the confusion of the Cultural Revolution, he left high school to work in a factory. It was only in 1983, when he had worked his way up to the job of plant manager, that he was able to obtain a degree in engineering from the University of Shanghai. By now, he is one of the controlling figures in China's most important industry.

Taking on Germany

China will soon replace Germany as the world's third-largest automobile manufacturing country. China produced more than 2 million cars in 2003 alone, an increase of 85 percent. In his position at the helm of SAIC, Hu manages a network of 55 subsidiaries and 63 joint ventures for cars and parts. The group employs more than 60,000 people and produced 800,000 vehicles last year, including more than 600,000 automobiles, generating sales of about $12 billion.

There are few types of vehicles SAIC does not produce, but its biggest seller is still the Santana, VW's indestructible model from the 1980s. The car is produced jointly in Shanghai by the Chinese and the Germans, and it dominates the city's streets in the form of taxicabs and police cars.

A yellowed photo hangs on the wall in SAIC's company museum. It depicts former German Chancellor Helmut Kohl, still relatively slim, together with Chinese Deputy Premier Li Peng at the 1984 ceremony celebrating the signing of the first agreement between SAIC and VW. Although the Santana represented SAIC's big jump forward, the Chinese soon became hungry for more.

To encourage a reluctant VW to speed up its transfer of German technology, Hu also convinced GM to enter into an agreement in the 1990s. The Chinese strategy of playing off Western automakers against each other was successful. Nowadays, VW has its current Passat and Polo models produced in China's high-tech manufacturing plants. In addition, R&D has been upgraded considerably. At the same time, SAIC is benefiting heavily from its simultaneous dealings with VW competitors. In June, GM sold more cars in China than the Germans for the first time.

The dispute between his feuding partners, with their constant new expansion plans in China, can only benefit Hu. Whatever the outcome, his company can only expect to augment its own billion-dollar cash reserves. When two foreign competitors fight, China ends up being the winner.

SAIC needs the money for patriotic purposes; Hu knows what Beijing's industrial planners expect of him. They want him to transform SAIC into one of three globally operating auto giants in the People's Republic. The other two are First Automotive Works, another VW joint venture partner, based in the northern city of Changchun, and Dongfen. If government planners have their way, this trio will one day dominate the Chinese auto industry, which is currently made up of about 120 manufacturers.

Scaling the Fortune 500

SAIC has taken an especially dynamic approach to reaching that objective. The group plans to be selling more than a million vehicles per year by late 2007. The SAIC logo, a curved S, will appear on 50,000 cars. By 2010, Hu plans to move up into the ranks of the world's six largest automobile manufacturers. SAIC has already made it to Fortune Magazine's list of the world's 500 top-selling companies -- at position 461.

VW and GM have been eyeing this expansionary trend with increasing suspicion. Only after its partners objected, for example, did SAIC back off from plans to acquire a stake in Chinese automaker Chery. The growing state-owned company headquartered in Anhui Province had built a car that looked like a copy of a VW Jetta. In addition, the Americans were accusing Chery of having copied parts of a Korean-made GM model.

The company's Western partners are also unlikely to be thrilled by Hu's announcement of his plans to "utilize the joint venture companies to build SAIC brand name products." In the Yizheng plant in Jiangsu Province, a five-hour drive west of Shanghai, SAIC employees are currently producing the first car to be sold under the company's own brand name. The model will be called the Sabre, and will look like a station wagon version of the Opel Corsa.

A tour of the dimly lit plant highlights two things: the tremendous hurdles the Chinese have yet to overcome, and their obsessive approach to overcoming those hurdles. The plant's 1,600 workers earn an average of €180 a month. Most of them assemble the basic version of the Santana for VW Shanghai -- about 200 cars a day. About 20 engineers are busy working out the details of the Sabre model.

90 percent of the vehicle already consists of Chinese parts, explains plant manager Huang Jian Ping, 35, clearly pleased. "Next year we will reach 100 percent," he says.

Last year SAIC produced 2,245 units of the Sabre. That's why the company's own brand-name vehicles are currently only being produced on the plant's assembly lines once a month. But Huang doesn't find this discouraging. "For us," he says, "the Sabre is only the beginning."

To wean SAIC away from its dependence on expensive, imported foreign parts, Hu is trying to convince high-quality suppliers to begin manufacturing in China. German mid-sized companies, which so far have been supplying parts to VW Shanghai from Germany, are being urged to move their production to China. Shanghai is playing a key role as a potential manufacturing site.

In Anting, a Shanghai suburb, Hu and city officials are in the process of developing an automobile manufacturing city. If all goes according to plan, Anting will have been transformed into a sort of Chinese Wolfsburg (VW headquarters in Germany), complete with worker housing, plants, suppliers and research laboratories, by 2010.

One thing Hu knows is that he has to avoid direct confrontation with his Western partners if he wants to achieve his goals. That's why he likes to use an allegory to encourage increased technology transfer. People in hell, says Hu, are forced to slurp their soup, because each person is trying to eat the soup with a spoon that's too long. "But in heaven," he says, "they feed each other."

Translated from the German by Christopher Sultan

Source :
The Coming Competitor: China's Auto Ambitions - International - SPIEGEL ONLINE - News

another Malaysia Bodoh project :

Government give rebate RM5K to scrap old cars (15 @ 20 years old).

"BN apa lan ciau pun boleh, only dun know how to increase the rakyat per capita income

Per capita income : Malaysia compared to others (Figures is better than "talk"):
-->M'sia is even lower than Lithuania, Barbados (dun know where)

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/eanr6qtv/percapitaincomeM.jpg

& of course, Taiwan, South Korea (both once poorer than us) & our jiran, S'pore far far on top of the list
http://www.imagebanana.com/img/wq58306g/percapitaincomeS.jpg
All figures r in US Dollar Source : IMF
South Korea has more population than us (about 49 million).
Comparisons of national wealth are also frequently made on the basis of nominal GDP, which does not reflect differences in the cost of living in different countries.

The advantages of using nominal GDP figures include that less estimation is required, and that they more accurately reflect the participation of the inhabitants of a country in the global economy. Purchasing Power Parity (PPP) per capita figures are estimates rather than hard facts, and should be used with caution.

List of countries by GDP (nominal) per capita - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
List of countries by GDP (PPP) per capita - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

So, WHAT R THE EXCUSES THOSE MONKEYS WILL GIV ????

Another Malaysia Boleh--stupid Never-Ending-Policy causes car price to b expensive.
This news was not published in local newspaper.Y? u know, i know!

EU envoy blasts Malaysia's NEP

By EILEEN NG

Europe's top envoy to Malaysia Thursday urged the government to roll back its affirmative action policy for majority Malays, saying it is discriminatory and amounts to protectionism against foreign companies.

In unusually frank comments that ignored diplomatic niceties, Thierry Rommel openly criticized Malaysia's 37-year-old New Economic Policy, or NEP, that gives a host of privileges in jobs, education, business and other areas to ethnic Malays.

"In a dominant part of the domestic economy, there is no level playing field for foreign companies," Rommel, the ambassador and head of the European Commission Delegation to Malaysia, said in a speech to local and foreign businessmen.

Ethnic Malays and other indigenous groups, known as Bumiputras, comprise more than 60 percent of Malaysia's 26 million people. The government says they have a disproportionately low share of the corporate wealth compared to the minority Chinese, and need the NEP to increase their standard of living.

The government did not immediately respond to Rommel's comments.

Rommel said the government is using the NEP as an excuse to practice "significant protectionism of its own market," including the automotive sector, steel, consumer goods, agricultural products, services and government contracts.

Malaysia claims these are "infant" industries that need to be protected but "in reality .. it is the Malay-centered Bumiputra policy that drives protectionist policies," Rommel said.

As part of the NEP, all public-listed companies are required to allocate 30 percent of their shares to Malays. Companies without Malay directors or employees are excluded from lucrative government contracts. Employers have quotas for hiring Malays.

Eric Reuter, sales and marketing director of freight forwarder ABX Logistics, said the Belgium-based company has a 51 percent Bumiputra partner and is required to work with local companies on government-related projects.

The limitations have eroded his profit margin, he said.

"We cannot be as flexible as we want to be and chances that corruption comes into play is higher. It is an interruption to the free market," Reuter told The Associated Press.

Besides foreigners, minority ethnic Chinese and Indians also see the NEP as a discriminatory tool. Many Malays also have complained the policy has benefited only a few well-connected people.

NEP was started in 1970 when the Malays' corporate ownership was 2 percent. The aim was to raise it to 30 percent by 2010, from 19 percent now. Chinese, who form a quarter of the population, control 40 percent of corporate wealth.

Rommel stopped short of saying the NEP should be scrapped but told reporters separately: "We (in Europe) have bitten the bullet on a number of sensitive issues, why can't you?"

He warned the NEP could "lead to problems" in free trade negotiations between the EU and the 10-member Association of Southeast Asian Nations, of which Malaysia is a key member.

The two groups agreed last month to launch free trade talks, which could raise ASEAN's exports to the EU by up to 20 percent, Rommel said. Senior officials are expected to hold their first meeting in Vietnam next month, he added.

EU envoy blasts Malaysia's NEP-The Associated Press

Buick Riviera Concept 2007

Another example of "Other Boleh, Proton Tak Boleh".

World premiere at Auto Shanghai 2007: Buick Riviera - Stunning Coupe Concept Unveiled in Shanghai

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/bcu81tx/buickriviera01800.jpg

The gullwing Riviera concept coupe was developed with global design input by the Pan Asia Technical Automotive Center (PATAC) in China, a design and engineering joint venture between General Motors and Shanghai Automotive Industry Corporation (SAIC).

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/170rzi73/buickriviera05800.jpg

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/46jnn0vh/buickriviera02800.jpg
The Riviera was introduced by Rick Wagoner, GM Chairman
and CEO, and Hu Maoyuan, SAIC Chairman.

The Riviera has been engineered to accommodate a new hybrid system that will go into production at Shanghai GM, GM's flagship joint venture with SAIC, in 2008.

The fuel-efficient car, which will feature several technological and manufacturing advances, represents the latest achievement of GM and its partners in the promotion and development of alternative propulsion technologies in China.

Complete story & more pics:
http://www.autointell.com/nao_companies/general_motors/buick/buick-riviera-concept-07/buick-riviera-concept-07.htm

Untold Facts

We hv been producing (assemblying ?) vehicles for more than 2 decades, but we r NOT a member of a "BIG FAMILY"-OICA. Let facts to the talking (cos some M'sia-boleh-wannabe still dreamin) !

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/eys7jbrx/OICA.JPG
No wonder we don't want to join -- the bolehland do not need a "watchdog" to legislate and hormonize vehicle regulations.

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/88nh368/OICAmember.jpghttp://www.imagebanana.com/img/s01f05bd/OICAcarproduction2005.jpg
Hareh! Where is M'sia ? ---------------------------------------------2005 Production:M'sia=Taiwan; Thailand=2XM'sia; ---------------------------------------------------------------------------S.Korea=6.5X M'sia. Population M'sia=Taiwan, yet, ---------------------------------------------------------------------------Taiwanese makers r profitable eventhough face fierce ---------------------------------------------------------------------------competition --"Survivor of the fittest" rules.

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/eg4q6mef/OICAemployment.jpghttp://www.imagebanana.com/img/n6btyg4e/OICAinvestturnaround.jpg
If we can double the production, imagine how many jobs r created (eg Thailand)? OICA estimate: For every 1 direct job, it creates 5 indirect jobs.
For Turnover/Investment: M'sia=5X, S.Korea=28X, India=16.8X, China=16X, Brazil=24.5X -- Where is the boleh-ism of Efficiency ?

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/vn04jffg/OICAsafety11.jpghttp://www.imagebanana.com/img/lcmbv0rm/OICAsafety21.jpg
Since there is no harmonisation in vehicles regulations, the result is questionable safety and quality vehicle.

Source:
OICA Web Site

Another Malaysia boleh-Honda Thailand 2nd Plant

Honda to Build Second Auto Plant in Thailand

(Another 2,200 jobs created in Thailand, Malaysia =?)

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/lyewgas2/hothpl.jpg

Thailand, July 18, 2007– Honda Automobile (Thailand) Co., Ltd. (HATC, President: Kenji Otaka), Honda's automobile production and sales subsidiary in Thailand, today announced it has begun construction of its second auto plant, foreseeing further growth in demand for automobiles in Thailand and other markets in the Asia/Oceania region.

The second plant will be located adjacent to the existing plant and is scheduled to begin mass production in the latter half of 2008. Annual production capacity of the new plant will be expandable up to 120,000 units in the future, with employment of approximately 2,200 associates.

Combined with the existing plant’s 120,000 units
in annual production capacity, Honda’s total annual automobile production capacity in Thailand will reach 240,000 units. The investment for the second plant is approximately 6.2 billion baht (approximately 23 billion yen).

The new plant will be an environmentally-responsible facility equipped with a “complete water recycling system” with zero emissions of industrial water, and water based paint with fewer VOC (Volatile Organic Compounds) emissions. It will also be equipped with solar cell panels to contribute to a reduction in CO2 emissions by 10% (vs. 2005).

Honda will continue strengthening the quality of its operations in Thailand and further strengthen the business foundation in other markets in the Asia/Oceania region.

About Honda Automobile (Thailand) Co., Ltd.
Establishment: December 2000

Capital Investment: 5.46 billion baht

Capitalization Ratio: 75.94% Honda Motor Co., Ltd.
13.05% Asian Honda Motor Co., Ltd. , 11.01% Others

Representative: President: Kenji Otaka

Business Areas: Production and sales of automobiles

Source:
Honda to Build Second Auto Plant in Thailand

Re: Malaysia boleh!!!!

Proton can be the first cuntry in the world to hold the record for the "most frequent facelift in car production".

Change signal light - new model
Change front grille -limited edition model
Change seat and gear knob -anniversary model
change bumper - revised model

hehehe...change screw here and there in the car.....sport version model pulak......:biggrin: :biggrin: