Magnetised Air flow

Originally posted by fabianyee+Nov 16 2004, 15:15 -->
QUOTE (fabianyee @ Nov 16 2004, 15:15 )
--QuoteBegin-rollakid
@Nov 16 2004, 15:05
the Western digital HDD i open up few hours ago (with a screwdriver and a big hammer) only have 1 pair (2 piece). I've tied and stick it in the engine now, with nylon rope and the HDD's waranty seal i tear open(damn sticky too).

going out now, come back in a few hours (maybe after having dinner) and post the result. Wonder if it works, gonna sit 4 ppl in the car.

get something better to secure the magnets.... I used 2 inch wide aluminum foil tape. can buy from hardware shop, RM16/roll...
and it's useful for other stuff too...

I have another fren tried it in his Wira 1.8 SOHC auto. better pickup too... better throttle response.. [/b][/quote]
how's the tape look like??

Originally posted by Esky@Oct 15 2004, 07:57
Like I said, it's only for cars where the air filter is located AFTER the intake pipe, like those with carbureted engines. Or maybe on the original plastic intake pipe of EFI engines (the one close to the wheel arch or radiator) BEFORE the air filter.

So Fabian,

any diff in fuel consumption?
Thats mean the engine with 'mushroom' air filter will not affect with the magnet??

WAHAHAHAHAHA

i tried it with my old KE70, running 4K engine, very happy with the result.

the result? muahaha.. i wan tell story liau:

Today i go pump petrol again, but everytime after i pump petrol i sure complain engine no power, cuz car get abit heavier (those who drive KE70 with 4K engine should know, one passenger and driving alone is like two different world, lousy engine).

Then i come home, have lunch, and then put in the magnets at the intake, at the tip of the opening of the air intake. Then i go out for a joy ride. AFter the first corner when i start to accelerate, the car feel so light like i haven't pump any fuel yet. 2nd gear lagi syok, really feel good, 3rd gear ok, 4th gear no feel liau, except kinda feel smoother. The petrol i pump RM50, 10 ringgit more than i use to.

woohoo.. can't wait until the fuel run low to see how fast the car got... anybody care to verify what i found with a carb engine? effect might be better cuz the magnet can be placed closer since the intake pipe of the 4K engine is smaller and closer together in diameter

yeah... nowadays i feel my car is like more power when i step on de gas pedal... i'm getting to like my car more n more.... especially when wanto overtake other cars.... de feeling is shiok!! :lol:

never think dat such magnets can do wonders.. :lol: B)

Not sure if only 1 magnet would work... you can try....

Looks like I'm not the only fool who thinks this 'magnetic' upgrade is good.... 1 jug on u guys....

just send another HDD to hell... :lol:

now i got 10 pieces of HDD magnet with me liao...just to share ...not all HDD comes with 2 magnets...some old old wan...ie those 500mb ->1.2gb HDD....have only 1 magnet inside...

..but still figuring how and where to put the magnet...on my wira..

p/s: HDD magnet for sale...rm10 /pc.... :lol: j/k

Originally posted by ksgoh@Nov 18 2004, 08:16
that's a good news......u install only 1pcs of magnet on the air filter hose???
yep.. only one pc magnet.. when i open up de HDD one side is magnet.. another side is metal.. so i just use back de metal as de other side when i tie them at the rampipe..

now using both sides with magnets wan.. results also same... B)

i put both side. and my father say the car suddenly got more power, and i didn't even tell him that i put the magnets...

thats 100% sure prove that its not psycology liau.. really works.. thanks very much to fabian who brought up the topic...

this thing really works ??
hmm... guess i have to try it out later...
but i'm running out of HDD magnets...already put all to my oil filter :(

really work leh.. at 1st i also dun trust such magnet can make ur car more power... but i tried.. really works...

de power can really feel wan.. quite obvious..

MIne i don`t feel anything with my twin surbo in my WiSE, but will try to put 4 hdd magnet to max the result :D